$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark the DE PT
Milton, DE
Dec 4, 2012

Great for us

Perfect for those looking to unplug and avoid the all-inclusive resorts when visiting Playa del Carmen. Not very heavy on the amenities, but very relaxing and beautiful. The staff isn't in your face trying to get you involved in activities, but are there for you when needed. The food varied in it's quality from very good to mediocre with dinner. Breakfasts were same menu all week which suited me - especially the fresh juices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Wi-Fi was only available in bar and main entrance and spotty.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
comfortzone
Forest Hills, NY
Sep 19, 2012

throughly relaxing

location is wonderful if you:re looking for a quieter area of Playa del Carmen, yet walking distance to 5th Ave - the major strip of eats, clubs, stores. breakfasts unbeatable with flavorful frest fruit as well as Mexican and American standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a Walmarts on 30th Ave where prices of tequila were 40% cheaper than at duty free shop at airport.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gascramps
Freehold, NJ
Sep 1, 2012

Great family vacation at Mahekal

Our family loved it here. Rooms do not have phones, TV, internet, etc. and we did not miss it. Resort is clean and all rooms are within a short walk to the beach. The beach is beautiful. Security patrols the beach so guests are not bothered by anyone trying to sell or rent anything. Food was good. Fifth Ave is a 5 min walk if anyone wants to buy or sample the restaurants. We tried that a couple times and can barely walk without someone approaching us and trying to shop their store. Remember to haggle / negotiate your price here. Most retail shops do not have fixed price. We eventually got tired of this after we bought what we wanted and just went back to hotel. Hotel is not very fancy, but clean and staff is great. Grounds are beautifully maintained. The good reviews about this place are well earned and truthful. If you want the all inclusive experience, this is not the place. If you want to get away and unplug from the world, I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to negotiate your price at 5th Ave or surrounding area when buying retail!!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNAS
Lancashire, England
Aug 11, 2012

Great Family Holiday

Dinner at the hotel was generally really good, with a couple of exceptions where it was 'OK'. We started in a beach-front room in the Caribe section, which was nice but quite small with not much storage. After a problem with ants on a couple of occasions, we asked to be moved and were given a 'penthouse' in the Aventura section across the road; these rooms are much bigger, with more storage and bigger bathrooms. The staff were friendly and helpful and did all they could to make this a great holiday. All-in-all this is a really nice hotel close enough to the lively 5th Avenue, but far enough away to be quiet at night. If we were to come back to Mexico, we'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're not away from the hotel for lunch, check the dinner menu at reception before 12:00 and, if you don't fancy what's on offer, let them know that you'll take lunch in the hotel instead, then have dinner at one of the excellent local restaurants; we'd recommed GiGi's which is a 10 minute walk down 5th Avenue. La Cueva del Chango is only a couple of hundred yards from the hotel and is a really nice spot for lunch, with good food and service.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don from Philly
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jun 9, 2012

Perfect Quiet Get Away

The Mahekal Beach Resort is a quiet, well landscaped and near perfect get away vacation spot. It is located on the beach at the northern end of 5th Avenue where most of the stores and restaurants are located. Initially it seemed like a hardship with no TV or telephone in the room, but it was not missed! This was an excellent place to catch up on rest, reading, sun bathing, and swimming. The centrally located bar/gathering place had pool tables, table tennis, and internet access available. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The beach was clean with plenty of palapas available. Overall, I would rate this a great vacation and will definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to convert US dollars to Pesos. Many Merchants give good discounts if you use US dollars. Even if no discount offered, they all provide the current conversion rate.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrjuju
Oakland, CA
May 29, 2012

Very Relaxing Vacation

Resort is in a perfect location, beautiful beach and very close to Playa. Cheaper rooms face the air conditioning motors of the rooms in front, so relaxing on the hammock was not really an option - I recommend an ocean view room (although there is no fridge to store needed beer for a true hammock relax experience...) Food and music was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dwaine
Denver CO
May 25, 2012

Loved it all!

My wife and I just got back. It was a great place. Loved the location, great beach access and close enough to 5th Ave to walk there easily and miss the noisy night life. The room was cute and clean. The staff was very attentive and the food was fine. Don't tell others how good this place is, let them all stay at huge all inclusive resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moivali
Washington DC
May 7, 2012

Good location and view aged facilities

Experience started bad - got our rooms and while we paid for sea view - the 2nd row ground floor cabanas had nothing like that. Eventually got first floor rooms with nice view but someone had to bargain to get them. Beach is nice but not really private - in front of the the hotel's chairs was a public beach. Overall good experience and decent value but rooms are quite dated and bathrooms are in bad need of refurbishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Grandma Marcia
Mequon, Wisconsin
May 5, 2012

Beautiful family-friendly resort

I joined my son and his wife from Walnut Creek, California, who have two small children, at the Mahekal Beach Resort. We made the most of this opportunity for family conversation and play with our children at this restful, relaxing place with such beautiful landscaping and beach and pools and restaurants for all ages and comfortable individual huts. We loved the hammocks on the deck and patio. The only thing we would do differently is to opt for the restaurant lunch as a 7 p.m. dinner was late for the small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSSH
Denver, CO
Apr 25, 2012

Well Run Resort.

1. Very good food and attentive waitstaff. Manuel went out his way to accommodate my dietary requirements. 2. Medical help provided very quickly for partner (not related to resor stay). 3. Excellent value for accomodations and meals. 4. Wonderful environment - 2 pools, great grounds. 5. North end of Playa - great location -quiet. 6. Not a party resort - good for young couples with or without children and older adults - vollyball, table tennis, pool tables great grounds to walk. 7. 1- 3 story bungalows - very clean and spacious with large shower and bathroom area. 8. Nice linens, beach towels and plenty of chairs and shade in beach area. 9. Bikes with helmets - 10 minute ride to other end of 5th Avenue Michael and Sheryl 60+ and fit. Suggestion: 1. Add a dressor to the rooms and a refrigerator (limited no. avail.) Drink plenty of water to avoid dehydration. 2. Post sign about dangerous rocks in ocean in front of Aventura Restaruant (Breakfast Rest) There is plenty of other beach frontage to accomodate entire resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main dining room - evething you need and a great atmosphere - buffet and menu items - good quality food you will not go away hungry -We are thin and trim and ate more than we should have.

Back to menu Return to top