$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gascramps
Freehold, NJ
Sep 1, 2012

Great family vacation at Mahekal

Our family loved it here. Rooms do not have phones, TV, internet, etc. and we did not miss it. Resort is clean and all rooms are within a short walk to the beach. The beach is beautiful. Security patrols the beach so guests are not bothered by anyone trying to sell or rent anything. Food was good. Fifth Ave is a 5 min walk if anyone wants to buy or sample the restaurants. We tried that a couple times and can barely walk without someone approaching us and trying to shop their store. Remember to haggle / negotiate your price here. Most retail shops do not have fixed price. We eventually got tired of this after we bought what we wanted and just went back to hotel. Hotel is not very fancy, but clean and staff is great. Grounds are beautifully maintained. The good reviews about this place are well earned and truthful. If you want the all inclusive experience, this is not the place. If you want to get away and unplug from the world, I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to negotiate your price at 5th Ave or surrounding area when buying retail!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Klee570
Business
Mpls, MN
Mar 11, 2013

Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall very happy with our experience. Pros -Great Location -Amazing beach (not crowded and able to find chairs) -loved the meal breakfast/lunch meal option -Good service -Hammocks Cons - Not able to sleep in due to the birds and hotel maintenance -Aventura side smells like sulfur. Luckily we did not stay on that side -Pool not great but again beach was amazing so not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nynyny
Business
new york
Jan 17, 2013

mahekal is great

great beach,great location,good hotel everything is walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt22
Business
New York
Jan 4, 2013

Noisy

Noisy at night due to loud, booming techno music from Mamitas nightclub down the beach. Music would go as late as 4am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark the DE PT
Business
Milton, DE
Dec 4, 2012

Great for us

Perfect for those looking to unplug and avoid the all-inclusive resorts when visiting Playa del Carmen. Not very heavy on the amenities, but very relaxing and beautiful. The staff isn't in your face trying to get you involved in activities, but are there for you when needed. The food varied in it's quality from very good to mediocre with dinner. Breakfasts were same menu all week which suited me - especially the fresh juices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Wi-Fi was only available in bar and main entrance and spotty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
comfortzone
Business
Forest Hills, NY
Sep 19, 2012

throughly relaxing

location is wonderful if you:re looking for a quieter area of Playa del Carmen, yet walking distance to 5th Ave - the major strip of eats, clubs, stores. breakfasts unbeatable with flavorful frest fruit as well as Mexican and American standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a Walmarts on 30th Ave where prices of tequila were 40% cheaper than at duty free shop at airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gascramps
Business
Freehold, NJ
Sep 1, 2012

Great family vacation at Mahekal

Our family loved it here. Rooms do not have phones, TV, internet, etc. and we did not miss it. Resort is clean and all rooms are within a short walk to the beach. The beach is beautiful. Security patrols the beach so guests are not bothered by anyone trying to sell or rent anything. Food was good. Fifth Ave is a 5 min walk if anyone wants to buy or sample the restaurants. We tried that a couple times and can barely walk without someone approaching us and trying to shop their store. Remember to haggle / negotiate your price here. Most retail shops do not have fixed price. We eventually got tired of this after we bought what we wanted and just went back to hotel. Hotel is not very fancy, but clean and staff is great. Grounds are beautifully maintained. The good reviews about this place are well earned and truthful. If you want the all inclusive experience, this is not the place. If you want to get away and unplug from the world, I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to negotiate your price at 5th Ave or surrounding area when buying retail!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNAS
Business
Lancashire, England
Aug 11, 2012

Great Family Holiday

Dinner at the hotel was generally really good, with a couple of exceptions where it was 'OK'. We started in a beach-front room in the Caribe section, which was nice but quite small with not much storage. After a problem with ants on a couple of occasions, we asked to be moved and were given a 'penthouse' in the Aventura section across the road; these rooms are much bigger, with more storage and bigger bathrooms. The staff were friendly and helpful and did all they could to make this a great holiday. All-in-all this is a really nice hotel close enough to the lively 5th Avenue, but far enough away to be quiet at night. If we were to come back to Mexico, we'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're not away from the hotel for lunch, check the dinner menu at reception before 12:00 and, if you don't fancy what's on offer, let them know that you'll take lunch in the hotel instead, then have dinner at one of the excellent local restaurants; we'd recommed GiGi's which is a 10 minute walk down 5th Avenue. La Cueva del Chango is only a couple of hundred yards from the hotel and is a really nice spot for lunch, with good food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don from Philly
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jun 9, 2012

Perfect Quiet Get Away

The Mahekal Beach Resort is a quiet, well landscaped and near perfect get away vacation spot. It is located on the beach at the northern end of 5th Avenue where most of the stores and restaurants are located. Initially it seemed like a hardship with no TV or telephone in the room, but it was not missed! This was an excellent place to catch up on rest, reading, sun bathing, and swimming. The centrally located bar/gathering place had pool tables, table tennis, and internet access available. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The beach was clean with plenty of palapas available. Overall, I would rate this a great vacation and will definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to convert US dollars to Pesos. Many Merchants give good discounts if you use US dollars. Even if no discount offered, they all provide the current conversion rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrjuju
Business
Oakland, CA
May 29, 2012

Very Relaxing Vacation

Resort is in a perfect location, beautiful beach and very close to Playa. Cheaper rooms face the air conditioning motors of the rooms in front, so relaxing on the hammock was not really an option - I recommend an ocean view room (although there is no fridge to store needed beer for a true hammock relax experience...) Food and music was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dwaine
Business
Denver CO
May 25, 2012

Loved it all!

My wife and I just got back. It was a great place. Loved the location, great beach access and close enough to 5th Ave to walk there easily and miss the noisy night life. The room was cute and clean. The staff was very attentive and the food was fine. Don't tell others how good this place is, let them all stay at huge all inclusive resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top