Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
81 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: The hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • NOTE: The hotel charges compulsory gala dinner fee of $70 USD on 24 and 31 December 2014 per person, for guests 12 years old and above.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timothy H.
LA, California
Feb 6, 2014

Awesome room IN the Caribbean

Great hotel, wonderful time. Our room was the only situated ON the ocean. The waves literally lapped up against our suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Plaza
Chicago
Apr 21, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

Excellent hotel location with beautiful beach, the staff at the beach and reception was very friendly. Great food at the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Plaza
Chicago
Apr 29, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

Great location with wonderful beach, all staff are very friendly, sure we will back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, TX
Apr 10, 2011

Plain and sincere

Food was delicious, resort was really nice with beautiful beach view, service was great. The only bad thing about this resort is that once you leave the resort the city is ugly. There is only one long tourist street called Calle 5. Overall staying at this hotel was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK11231
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Great, non-AI hotel, right on the beach

Wonderful experience. Wonderful location if you're staying in Playa Del Carmen. Food was fantastic. Prices for drinks were great. Beach was beautiful. Plentiful palapa's and chairs. Helpful staff. Quick Service. Nice and quiet as opposed to loud and annoying. Cute little bungalows with hammocks at every room. No TVs, Phone's or WIFI in rooms made for a great escape. Could there be a few improvements? Sure. But all in all a great place at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garrett P.
Birmingham, MI, USA
Mar 19, 2012

The 1st resort I will definitely return to.

Mahekal is the phonetic spelling of magical in Spanish, an appropriate name for this very special, intimate Caribbean getaway. It felt like "Fantasy Island" - a village of one and 2 story thatched roof palapas. It has the look and feel of a south Pacific or Hawaiian fantasy resort. Our room was on the small side but big enough - you don't spend much time in the room itself. Each unit, or caseta, has a porch with 2 hammocks, table and chairs. That's where you spend much time, along with walking thru this magical village, at the outside bar, at the beach or pool. The breakfast buffet was very good, lunch was also very good. Their dinner -- not so much. So we traded dinner for lunch, preferring to sample the numerous restaurants in the area, many within a very short walk of Mahekal. For us, this was a perfect retreat. It is not a big, glitzy, palace with lots of pools and restaurants - we don't like that type of place. So this resort won't be the place if you want that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants within a short walk are excellent, and among the better ones in all of Playa. They don't have the barkers out front hailing "amigos" to come in. The north end of 5th Avenue, right by the Mahekal, is low key compared to the carnival atmosphere some blocks to the south.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Hagen
Barron, Wisconsin
Apr 16, 2012

Magical

This was our third stay at Mahekal in four years. Once again it was truley "Magical" as the name states. My wife and I like typically like to go to different locations in the Caribbean. However, since we went to Mahekal 4 years ago, we have struggled to steer away from it to try something new. Mahekal feels so much like a second home during the long cold winters of Wisconsin, we can hardly imagine wanting to go anywhere else. The only other time we've ever stayed at a resort more than once is Sandals in Antigua. Accommodations are very simple, which is just the way we want it. No TV, no radio, no clock. It may be low on frills but that is what makes it so quiet and relaxing. The rooms do have air conditioning, which is totally unnecessary because there was always a perfect breeze. Although we typically stay in an ocean view room and I can see how rooms farther from the beach, where the breeze may be blocked, may need to use the A/C. Otherwise the A/C only drowns out the rhythm of the waves at night, and the songs of the birds in the morning as the sun rises. I can’t understand why you would ever want to do that. The location is really what you pay for at Mahekal. You will not find a better stretch of beach with rooms in such close proximity to the ocean for a better price. It is on the best stretch of beach in Playa Del Carmen, and is literally a 10 minute walk to the heart of 5th Ave shopping and eating. The staff was very professional and friendly as always. By the third day the wait staff recognizes you and knows what you like. They were always more than eager to make you happy. Meals there are delicious, especially breakfast. We typically like to go out to town for dinner to people watch. In our past stays the dinners left a lot to be desired. However during this most recent stay the dinners were much improved - so much so that we stayed at the resort for dinner more nights than we typically do. The landscaping is meticulous. The pair of hammocks on your balcony are a perfect touch, making a late afternoon nap before happy hour almost ritual. My only complaint is that happy hour could be extended from one hour to two. This is not an all-inclusive mega resort, so you will not have to get up before dawn to reserve a chair by the pool or ocean. You will never feel pressure to get up and dance to some cheesy 90's one hit wonder blasting at the pool, and there are no time share salesmen or beach vendors hounding or harassing you. This resort has such a quaint and peaceful vibe that you can't help but succumb to it charm. It has a very private and intimate ambience. As your vacation comes to an end you will feel totally rested and rejuvenated; and probably a little depressed because you’re not all that ready to leave. Jason and Jen Hagen - Wisconsin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a cooler from Gabriel, the bellboy. They have plug in mini fridges or styrofoam coolers. Then walk to the convenience store a few blocks away, or to 5th Ave to get some snacks and refreshments to keep in your room. Remember this is not an all inclusive resort. Drinking at the bar is fun for the socializing aspect, but buying drinks from the bar all day long can get expensive.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSSH
Denver, CO
Apr 25, 2012

Well Run Resort.

1. Very good food and attentive waitstaff. Manuel went out his way to accommodate my dietary requirements. 2. Medical help provided very quickly for partner (not related to resor stay). 3. Excellent value for accomodations and meals. 4. Wonderful environment - 2 pools, great grounds. 5. North end of Playa - great location -quiet. 6. Not a party resort - good for young couples with or without children and older adults - vollyball, table tennis, pool tables great grounds to walk. 7. 1- 3 story bungalows - very clean and spacious with large shower and bathroom area. 8. Nice linens, beach towels and plenty of chairs and shade in beach area. 9. Bikes with helmets - 10 minute ride to other end of 5th Avenue Michael and Sheryl 60+ and fit. Suggestion: 1. Add a dressor to the rooms and a refrigerator (limited no. avail.) Drink plenty of water to avoid dehydration. 2. Post sign about dangerous rocks in ocean in front of Aventura Restaruant (Breakfast Rest) There is plenty of other beach frontage to accomodate entire resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main dining room - evething you need and a great atmosphere - buffet and menu items - good quality food you will not go away hungry -We are thin and trim and ate more than we should have.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaRM
Orinda, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Low-key all inclusive resort, good for families

It was a VERY relaxing vacation, with our biggest decision all day being "should we go to the beach or the pool?" The food at the resort was really good! Wish they had more Mexican nights, they switch up the type of cuisine every night. The location was great, it felt very secluded, but was a couple blocks from the main drag of town, which was very chic and cool, this was surprising for Mexico! Great architecture, clubs and restaurants along the main avenue. The rooms were very unassuming, not fancy, which is fine for us, but it was expensive for what you got I thought, especially in Mexico. I would go again though, it was a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A fun Cuban restaurant on 5th Ave (the main street through Playa) for a big group was La Bodeguita del Medio. Great food, music and dancing lessons too!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrjuju
Oakland, CA
May 29, 2012

Very Relaxing Vacation

Resort is in a perfect location, beautiful beach and very close to Playa. Cheaper rooms face the air conditioning motors of the rooms in front, so relaxing on the hammock was not really an option - I recommend an ocean view room (although there is no fridge to store needed beer for a true hammock relax experience...) Food and music was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search