$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timothy H.
Business
LA, California
Feb 6, 2014

Awesome room IN the Caribbean

Great hotel, wonderful time. Our room was the only situated ON the ocean. The waves literally lapped up against our suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kootenay Traveller
Business
Kaslo , British Columbia
Feb 1, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort - We All Loved It!

I have to say I picked this Resort by the photos and reviews I had read and I was not disappointed at all. Happily my partner and grandson agreed that is was a better choice then an all inclusive for us. The staff were very helpful pre-vacation when I contacted them with a couple of questions about the area, things to do etc. I had let them know that we would be arriving late at night and they thought to hold our dinner for us, which was greatly appreciated since we hadn't stopped for any. The resort was quiet, and clean. The complimentary coffee was available at the bar by 5am, most mornings, (and very good) we would wonder off to the beach and watch the sun rise. The main touristy street in Playa Del Carmen, 5th Ave, was just a couple of blocks up from us, so when we wanted to shop, or dine out, or immerse ourselves in the banter and bartering, appreciate the artists and their work, it was close and easy and available anytime of day...and more entertaining this way, then just visiting from and all-inclusive for a day like we had done before. The resort was a partial inclusive, so we had breakfast every morning and then the choice of lunch or dinner. There were some fabulous meals served... If we choose to go back to the same area, we would definitely choose the Mahekal Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoopDee
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 10, 2013

Mahekal Beach resort

I really enjoyed the Mahekal Beach resort. Great location and staff. The rooms are small but who wants to stay in your room all the time when you are in paradise? Be prepared, the rooms do not have TV or wi-fi but they have free wi-fi in the lobby area. They have two pools that are ok, but the beach is AMAZING!!! Two meals are included with the room. The food was good for the most part. I enjoyed the buffet days the most. Jose and Marcos, who are some of the servers are excellent!!!! Of course find out what type of weather it is typically like when you plan your trip. Unfortunately it rained 3-4 of the 7 days I was there. Use the bug spray they provide for free. Do NOT be like me thinking the bugs won't get you. It is literally "a jungle out there" and with jungles come bugs!! A few blocks away it La Pirata a local seafood spot. Make sure to visit. I would say probably the BEST place I ate in all of playa del carmen. The bottom line,,, I would definitely return to this location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two things,, 1. taxi's are double if you get them outside your hotel. Save the money and walk to 5th avenue which is a block away and get a cab there. 2. If you want really good food, eat where the locals eat. Do NOT waste your money at places on 5th avenue. Its all touristy and the food is just ok.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy from Alaska
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Nov 7, 2013

The best of Playa del Carmen!

The staff! The locale! The Mexican experience! The food! Can't get any better! Breakfast on patio over Caribbean Ocean unforgettable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Spend morning swimming in the Caribbean ocean. Best way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
molly and paul
Business
Harleysville, Pa
Sep 1, 2013

Favorite resort

This has been a return visit to this hotel for my husband and myself. The hotel's decor is tropical w/ Mexican flare. The beach is beautiful and clean. Never any problem getting a spot on the beach or for that matter at the pools.The food is good and the waitstaff is exceptional from the dining room, the bar and beach/pool area. Boli the conceirge is the best. We had requested our old room but it was not available so he gave us the same type of room but with even a better view. We had an unfortunate situation occur the first night with the room so they moved us to a beautiful beachfront room the next morning. It had been 2 yrs since we had been to the hotel and everyone still remembered us by name. They go out of their way to accomadate every need you have.We still had our same waiter Jose and he is still the best. We tried another hotel last yr and it was such a disappointment that we knew we could never find another hotel as good as Mahekal Beach. We will be going back there every year without a doubt. We love mahekal Beach Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave is just a few minutes walk from the hotel if you want to do some shopping. You can pick up a few snacks or cold beverages at the corner store too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiki and J
Business
Trumbull connecticut
Jul 6, 2013

An authentic boutique experience

We likes the palapa ceilings and cozy balcony. The atmosphere is more quaint than a large hotel. The hotel is family friendly and/or great for couples. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jowy
Business
Texas
Jul 3, 2013

Great Hotel

This was our second stay at Mahekal and like the first time it was great. Staff is super friendly and will go out there way to help you with anything you need. Will definitely come back for a third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wife2one mom2three
Business
West Monroe, LA
Jun 19, 2013

Perfect anniversary stay!!

The Mahekal was perfect for reconnecting and relaxing!! As soon as you arrive they make you feel welcome and by giving you beach towels and hanging hammocks on your porch you know you are ready to unwind. The food included in your board far exceeded our expectations and we left dinner stuffed every night and breakfast was just as filling and beautiful with all the wonderful local fruits and juices available. This place is SO SO well taken care of and kept up on. As we walked up and down the beach it became quickly obvious that we happened upon the most beautiful resort and beach area in Playa. Seriously!! And don't pay any attention to others saying they smelled sewer.....its NOT sewer....its H2S (all natural# that comes out of the sea from under ground cenotes and local mangrove plants decomposing. No worries though.....it's barely noticable at The Mahekal. If you are wanting to get out and explore I highly recommend renting a car on this site and include it in your package. You will end up saving lots of money on taxis and you'll be FREE to do what you want when you want. If you snorkel....AKUMAL BAY in the place to go!!! Swimming with the turtles is awesome and its FREE!!!! Also we highly advise you to exchange several hundred dollars right away and it will make paying for varies things MUCH MUCH easier! One last thing......can't end without recommending you visit Poerto Morales and eat the fresh fish #yes, it was caught that morning!!) at Las Palmeras restaurant. It was awesome and so so cheap!! We both ate for $10!!!! Ordered a whole grilled red snapper and we shared and it was perfect. Enjoy your trip......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luke N Amanda
Business
Tampa, FL
May 29, 2013

Destination wedding

We had such a wonderful time at the Mahekal Beach Resort. The Mahekal Beach Resort is a hidden gem and we cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisandBud
Business
Windsor, Ontario
Mar 14, 2013

Excellent Vacation

Had an amazing week, I was very happy we stayed at this resort and would definitely return. Stayed in an ocean view room which was more like oceanfront. The view was amazing and we were only 32 steps to the water’s edge! The room was simple but quaint, clean, comfortable and provided almost everything we needed. No fridge but rented one for $10 per day. The beach was clean and wide and there were few rocks in the water. Best beach in Playa Del Carmen in my opinion. The breakfasts on the sea-side patio and the lunches served to you on the beach were excellent. We had two dinners, they were good not great. Drink prices were reasonable. Most evenings we would walk down to 5th Avenue which was a pleasant 5 minute walk and have dinner or appetizers, drinks and listen to live music. Loved that we weren't tied to the resort and could experience different restaurants. Location was ideal. The resort grounds are meticulously maintained. It’s an older resort but that adds to its charm and authentic feel. It’s small but intimate. The staff are friendly and the service is exceptional. Strong security presence. We always felt safe. The resort has many repeat guests, which tells you something. Hope to go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top