$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SM Princeton
Business
Princeton, New Jersey
Mar 30, 2014

Good place for a family vacation

It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals do not know how to get there. It has a very nice beach. Food (2 meals per day) was excellent and everyday we were pleasantly surprised by different animal shapes of towels made for us. There's no TV in the room, which we liked. Wifi is available only in the lobby, and it was sometimes very slow. Location is very good. Convenient to visit Xcaret, Tulum, and Chicen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many supermarkets for locals nearby if you'd like.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timothy H.
Business
LA, California
Feb 6, 2014

Awesome room IN the Caribbean

Great hotel, wonderful time. Our room was the only situated ON the ocean. The waves literally lapped up against our suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kootenay Traveller
Business
Kaslo , British Columbia
Feb 1, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort - We All Loved It!

I have to say I picked this Resort by the photos and reviews I had read and I was not disappointed at all. Happily my partner and grandson agreed that is was a better choice then an all inclusive for us. The staff were very helpful pre-vacation when I contacted them with a couple of questions about the area, things to do etc. I had let them know that we would be arriving late at night and they thought to hold our dinner for us, which was greatly appreciated since we hadn't stopped for any. The resort was quiet, and clean. The complimentary coffee was available at the bar by 5am, most mornings, (and very good) we would wonder off to the beach and watch the sun rise. The main touristy street in Playa Del Carmen, 5th Ave, was just a couple of blocks up from us, so when we wanted to shop, or dine out, or immerse ourselves in the banter and bartering, appreciate the artists and their work, it was close and easy and available anytime of day...and more entertaining this way, then just visiting from and all-inclusive for a day like we had done before. The resort was a partial inclusive, so we had breakfast every morning and then the choice of lunch or dinner. There were some fabulous meals served... If we choose to go back to the same area, we would definitely choose the Mahekal Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
molly and paul
Business
Harleysville, Pa
Sep 1, 2013

Favorite resort

This has been a return visit to this hotel for my husband and myself. The hotel's decor is tropical w/ Mexican flare. The beach is beautiful and clean. Never any problem getting a spot on the beach or for that matter at the pools.The food is good and the waitstaff is exceptional from the dining room, the bar and beach/pool area. Boli the conceirge is the best. We had requested our old room but it was not available so he gave us the same type of room but with even a better view. We had an unfortunate situation occur the first night with the room so they moved us to a beautiful beachfront room the next morning. It had been 2 yrs since we had been to the hotel and everyone still remembered us by name. They go out of their way to accomadate every need you have.We still had our same waiter Jose and he is still the best. We tried another hotel last yr and it was such a disappointment that we knew we could never find another hotel as good as Mahekal Beach. We will be going back there every year without a doubt. We love mahekal Beach Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave is just a few minutes walk from the hotel if you want to do some shopping. You can pick up a few snacks or cold beverages at the corner store too.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiki and J
Business
Trumbull connecticut
Jul 6, 2013

An authentic boutique experience

We likes the palapa ceilings and cozy balcony. The atmosphere is more quaint than a large hotel. The hotel is family friendly and/or great for couples. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jowy
Business
Texas
Jul 3, 2013

Great Hotel

This was our second stay at Mahekal and like the first time it was great. Staff is super friendly and will go out there way to help you with anything you need. Will definitely come back for a third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisandBud
Business
Windsor, Ontario
Mar 14, 2013

Excellent Vacation

Had an amazing week, I was very happy we stayed at this resort and would definitely return. Stayed in an ocean view room which was more like oceanfront. The view was amazing and we were only 32 steps to the water’s edge! The room was simple but quaint, clean, comfortable and provided almost everything we needed. No fridge but rented one for $10 per day. The beach was clean and wide and there were few rocks in the water. Best beach in Playa Del Carmen in my opinion. The breakfasts on the sea-side patio and the lunches served to you on the beach were excellent. We had two dinners, they were good not great. Drink prices were reasonable. Most evenings we would walk down to 5th Avenue which was a pleasant 5 minute walk and have dinner or appetizers, drinks and listen to live music. Loved that we weren't tied to the resort and could experience different restaurants. Location was ideal. The resort grounds are meticulously maintained. It’s an older resort but that adds to its charm and authentic feel. It’s small but intimate. The staff are friendly and the service is exceptional. Strong security presence. We always felt safe. The resort has many repeat guests, which tells you something. Hope to go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Klee570
Business
Mpls, MN
Mar 11, 2013

Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall very happy with our experience. Pros -Great Location -Amazing beach (not crowded and able to find chairs) -loved the meal breakfast/lunch meal option -Good service -Hammocks Cons - Not able to sleep in due to the birds and hotel maintenance -Aventura side smells like sulfur. Luckily we did not stay on that side -Pool not great but again beach was amazing so not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nynyny
Business
new york
Jan 17, 2013

mahekal is great

great beach,great location,good hotel everything is walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt22
Business
New York
Jan 4, 2013

Noisy

Noisy at night due to loud, booming techno music from Mamitas nightclub down the beach. Music would go as late as 4am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top