$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
70 reviews
Best trip ever....so far

We arrived at 10:30 am Aug 6. Check in like most hotels are at 3pm, but they quickly got us (my son... See full review

  • Pete
  • Aug 14, 2015
Great Getaway

This lovely, somewhat secluded resort is a wonderful destination for family and couples. The layout... See full review

  • SMPEDSNURSE
  • Aug 13, 2015
Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort destination, formerly Shangri-La Caribe,located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. Mahekal's beach village concept offers 21 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of the famous 5th Avenue.

Our thousands of loyal repeat guests describe Mahekal Beach Resort as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan.Our style is friendly and relaxed; an authentic Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy what the critics repeatedly acclaim as the best beach in Playa.

Rooms

Located in either individual bungalows or individual rooms in two-unit or three-unit casitas and brings to mind a quaint Mayan village.
In keeping with our style, our rooms do not offer televisions, radios or telephones and feature:

  • Authentic, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms
  • Private terrace with hammocks for siestas
  • Star gazing
  • Locally crafted Mexican wood furniture in the outdoor seating area to enjoy our magical sanctuary
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fans

  • Mahekal Beach Resort has:

  • Two swimming pools
  • One with a heated Jacuzzi
  • Two bars
  • A dive shop and water sports center
  • Two open air restaurants: La Loma and Aventura, both with ocean view


  • Resort room rates include breakfast and dinner, or lunch under a Modified American Plan (MAP); alcohol and some beverages are additional. Meals are served in our of our two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch, while La Loma is open only for dinner.

    HONEYMOONERS
  • Complimentary bottle of wine, a fruit basket and special dcor in their room upon arrival.

  • Important Notes:
  • The Hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • Please notice that from the 9th to the 17th of January 2016, Playa del Carmen will be hosting the BPM Music Festival and the main events will be held on the Beach Clubs Mamita`s and Canibal Royal, that are located next to our property. The BPM is recognized as one of the most important events in the world of Techno Music.

  • If you like to know more about these events, please visit: https://www.facebook.com/thebpmfestival or www.bpmfestival.com

    Top hotels

    Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

    Deluxe Ocean View
    Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers:

  • Open spaces accomplishing harmony and relax
  • Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail
  • Silk shawls from Michoacan state
  • Two queen size or a king-size bed
  • Pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room
  • Private balcony or terrace with hammocks
  • Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
    The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa:

  • Located closer to the ocean
  • With partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms

  • Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or blue sea as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.
    Deluxe Garden View
    The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms.
    These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool.
    Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa
    These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Game room
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

    Dining

    Casa Club and Aventura
    Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    Restaurant
    Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
    "La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
    Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
    Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    70 out of 70
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.7
    Comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    4.4

    94% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Super Grandma Marcia
    Single
    Mequon, Wisconsin
    May 5, 2012

    Beautiful family-friendly resort

    I joined my son and his wife from Walnut Creek, California, who have two small children, at the Mahekal Beach Resort. We made the most of this opportunity for family conversation and play with our children at this restful, relaxing place with such beautiful landscaping and beach and pools and restaurants for all ages and comfortable individual huts. We loved the hammocks on the deck and patio. The only thing we would do differently is to opt for the restaurant lunch as a 7 p.m. dinner was late for the small children.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Single

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Pete
    Family
    N/A
    Aug 14, 2015

    Best trip ever....so far

    We arrived at 10:30 am Aug 6. Check in like most hotels are at 3pm, but they quickly got us (my son and wife) a room by noon. Awesome! But, I booked 2 queen beds, we got a king. We would have been ok with that, would have been a little uncomfortable especially as our son is big 12 year old. They resolved this by rolling in a twin. We were fine with this. They offered us an apology with a letter and a plate of chocolate strawberries. The resort is a smaller one with lush tropical plants and lots of coconut trees. Beautiful! We prefer this to the mega resorts. There currently is no gym, but they are expanding. The beach was beautiful. The location of the hotel could not have been any better as it was far enough from 5th ave with all the shops and restaurants, but close enough to walk, about 10 minutes. The all inclusive is really by definition not all inclusive. You get breakfast and either lunch or dinner each day, but you have to pay for any drinks. We didn't mind the choice of either lunch or dinner, kinda forces you to discover the area, which we liked. (This is our 15th time in the cancun to playa del carmen area.) Although, I wish at least, non alcoholic drinks were included in the all inclusive. They do give you 2 bottles of water everyday in your room. The food they served was delicious to us. We paid an extra 2500 pesos for the drinks and tips, roughly 150 us dollars.We are non drinkers. The resort doesn't have much to do, very relaxing. There are no televisions in the rooms (great idea!) 2 billiard tables and a ping pong table at the bar along with 2 televisions All in all, we loved our experience at Mahekal Beach Resort. We will come back! ps....buy mosquito repellent...you will get them when you have lush tropical life if you like the mega concrete resorts..this hotel is not it. if you like a lush tropical small resort...this is paradise!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    SMPEDSNURSE
    Family
    Sierra Madre
    Aug 13, 2015

    Great Getaway

    This lovely, somewhat secluded resort is a wonderful destination for family and couples. The layout is wonderful, the beach is swimmable and clean. We arrived just after a storm so there was quite a bit of seaweed, but it was still nice. The rooms are spacious and clean. The units are airconditioned. Hammocks on each patio. The resort is quiet and never feels crowded even though they were at maximum capacity. 5th Avenue is withing walking distance and a pleasure to stop by for a drink or dinner when not at the resort. Tulum is approx 45 min away, as is the airport. We rented a car, not really sure it was necessary. I would go back to this resort again, for sure.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    April L.
    Couples
    Lockport
    Jul 28, 2015

    WONDERFUL resort! WILL visit again!

    Staff was SO accommodating and helpful! Resort is beautiful and perfect location!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    ad517
    Single
    Seattle
    Apr 26, 2015

    Great Location

    Great location. Wonderful friendly staff. No wifi or TV in room. Waves very loud.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Single

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Sarab
    Family
    N/A
    Feb 4, 2015

    Great trip for relaxation

    The hotel has a very private feel to it. The view from the dinning room is beautiful!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    tw.566
    Couples
    N/A
    Jan 15, 2015

    Great vacation

    We loved staying at Mahekal Beach Resort. Being so close to the water was a plus. The staff was very helpful at making arrangements for us to go on different day trips. The food was good as well. We had a great time at Mahekal!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    david h.
    Friends
    gainesville
    Jan 12, 2015

    Fun time with friends

    We had a wonderful vacation with friends. The Mahekal resort was an excellent choice for our small group. Plenty to do and an extremely pleasant staff. I would recommend this location for anyone looking to relax and unplug.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Los Springs
    Couples
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    May 5, 2014

    Fantastic boutique hotel

    My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay at Mahekal. The staff are welcoming, knowledgable and eager to help. Highlights include the outstanding breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, waffles, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. plus a choice of eggs (e.g., huevos rancheros). Lunch was also amazing (three course meal), and several of the dinners were excellent (a few were just so-so). Our room was clean and comfortable, and the AC worked well. The best part though is the beach. The beach near Mahekal is absolutely perfect and not overcrowded or loud. In addition, we enjoyed the outdoor pools, happy hour at the bar and the rustic/natural look of the hotel. It's gorgeous at night! The only down side is that the WiFi is slow and only available in select locations. We didn't mind overall since our goal was to get away. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone---especially couples and families. It's one of our favorite places and we will definitely return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    We recommend that you select breakfast and lunch as your 2 included meals for most days...these are both excellent. The dinners varied from so-so to excellent, and occasionally included live music, so check the menu ahead of time since you won't want to miss certain dinners.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Ms Plaza
    Family
    Chicago
    Apr 29, 2014

    Fantastic Family Getaway

    Great location with wonderful beach, all staff are very friendly, sure we will back soon!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Guadalupe WJ
    Family
    Washington
    Apr 28, 2014

    Relaxing vacations

    We really enjoy the hotel, we stay in the suite 3c is on the beach, very nice and relax. I really recommend this hotel good ubication walking to 5th avenue and it is very clean and good service. We would like to come again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Back to menu Return to top