$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
68 reviews
WONDERFUL resort! WILL visit again!

Staff was SO accommodating and helpful! Resort is beautiful and perfect location! See full review

  • April L.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Great trip for relaxation

The hotel has a very private feel to it. The view from the dinning room is beautiful!!! See full review

  • Sarab
  • Feb 4, 2015
Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort destination, formerly Shangri-La Caribe,located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. Mahekal's beach village concept offers 21 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of the famous 5th Avenue.

Our thousands of loyal repeat guests describe Mahekal Beach Resort as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan.Our style is friendly and relaxed; an authentic Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy what the critics repeatedly acclaim as the best beach in Playa.

Rooms

Located in either individual bungalows or individual rooms in two-unit or three-unit casitas and brings to mind a quaint Mayan village.
In keeping with our style, our rooms do not offer televisions, radios or telephones and feature:

  • Authentic, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms
  • Private terrace with hammocks for siestas
  • Star gazing
  • Locally crafted Mexican wood furniture in the outdoor seating area to enjoy our magical sanctuary
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fans

  • Mahekal Beach Resort has:

  • Two swimming pools
  • One with a heated Jacuzzi
  • Two bars
  • A dive shop and water sports center
  • Two open air restaurants: La Loma and Aventura, both with ocean view


  • Resort room rates include breakfast and dinner, or lunch under a Modified American Plan (MAP); alcohol and some beverages are additional. Meals are served in our of our two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch, while La Loma is open only for dinner.

    HONEYMOONERS
  • Complimentary bottle of wine, a fruit basket and special dcor in their room upon arrival.

  • Important Notes:
  • The Hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • Please notice that from the 9th to the 17th of January 2016, Playa del Carmen will be hosting the BPM Music Festival and the main events will be held on the Beach Clubs Mamita`s and Canibal Royal, that are located next to our property. The BPM is recognized as one of the most important events in the world of Techno Music.

  • If you like to know more about these events, please visit: https://www.facebook.com/thebpmfestival or www.bpmfestival.com

    Top hotels

    Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

    Deluxe Ocean View
    Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers:

  • Open spaces accomplishing harmony and relax
  • Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail
  • Silk shawls from Michoacan state
  • Two queen size or a king-size bed
  • Pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room
  • Private balcony or terrace with hammocks
  • Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
    The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa:

  • Located closer to the ocean
  • With partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms

  • Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or blue sea as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.
    Deluxe Garden View
    The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms.
    These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool.
    Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa
    These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Game room
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Casa Club and Aventura
    Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    Restaurant
    Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
    "La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
    Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
    Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    68 out of 68
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.7
    Comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    4.4

    94% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    April L.
    Business
    Lockport
    Jul 28, 2015

    WONDERFUL resort! WILL visit again!

    Staff was SO accommodating and helpful! Resort is beautiful and perfect location!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    ad517
    Business
    Seattle
    Apr 26, 2015

    Great Location

    Great location. Wonderful friendly staff. No wifi or TV in room. Waves very loud.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Sarab
    Business
    N/A
    Feb 4, 2015

    Great trip for relaxation

    The hotel has a very private feel to it. The view from the dinning room is beautiful!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    tw.566
    Business
    N/A
    Jan 15, 2015

    Great vacation

    We loved staying at Mahekal Beach Resort. Being so close to the water was a plus. The staff was very helpful at making arrangements for us to go on different day trips. The food was good as well. We had a great time at Mahekal!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    david h.
    Business
    gainesville
    Jan 12, 2015

    Fun time with friends

    We had a wonderful vacation with friends. The Mahekal resort was an excellent choice for our small group. Plenty to do and an extremely pleasant staff. I would recommend this location for anyone looking to relax and unplug.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Los Springs
    Business
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    May 5, 2014

    Fantastic boutique hotel

    My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay at Mahekal. The staff are welcoming, knowledgable and eager to help. Highlights include the outstanding breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, waffles, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. plus a choice of eggs (e.g., huevos rancheros). Lunch was also amazing (three course meal), and several of the dinners were excellent (a few were just so-so). Our room was clean and comfortable, and the AC worked well. The best part though is the beach. The beach near Mahekal is absolutely perfect and not overcrowded or loud. In addition, we enjoyed the outdoor pools, happy hour at the bar and the rustic/natural look of the hotel. It's gorgeous at night! The only down side is that the WiFi is slow and only available in select locations. We didn't mind overall since our goal was to get away. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone---especially couples and families. It's one of our favorite places and we will definitely return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    We recommend that you select breakfast and lunch as your 2 included meals for most days...these are both excellent. The dinners varied from so-so to excellent, and occasionally included live music, so check the menu ahead of time since you won't want to miss certain dinners.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Ms Plaza
    Business
    Chicago
    Apr 29, 2014

    Fantastic Family Getaway

    Great location with wonderful beach, all staff are very friendly, sure we will back soon!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Guadalupe WJ
    Business
    Washington
    Apr 28, 2014

    Relaxing vacations

    We really enjoy the hotel, we stay in the suite 3c is on the beach, very nice and relax. I really recommend this hotel good ubication walking to 5th avenue and it is very clean and good service. We would like to come again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    IraG
    Business
    San Jose, California
    Apr 23, 2014

    Amazing place!

    We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think this is the best place to stay there - right on the beach, great rooms, the resort is close to so many interesting places. I will definitely stay there again for the next trip to that area.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Tulum, Akumal, Cenotes.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    DK2014
    Business
    LA
    Apr 9, 2014

    Sucks

    Room smells like rott and humidity They refused to change it saying its the only one available Food is mediocre at best and lousy at times They charged us for lunch durig our last day although we paid for breakfast and dinner or lunch package and never used it Cocktails are overpriced and are not good Internet is super slow and only available at the reception lobby area Basically - it sucks

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top