$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort destination, formerly Shangri-La Caribe, located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. Mahekal's beach village concept offers 121 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of the famous 5th Avenue.
Our thousands of loyal repeat guests describe Mahekal Beach Resort as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed; an authentic Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy what the critics repeatedly acclaim as the best beach in Playa.
The Resort has oversized rooms, all with ceiling fans and air conditioning, located in either individual bungalows or individual rooms in two-unit or three-unit casitas and brings to mind a quaint Mayan village.
In keeping with our style, our rooms do not offer televisions, radios or telephones and feature authentic, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, a private terrace with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally crafted Mexican wood furniture in the outdoor seating area to enjoy our magical sanctuary.
Mahekal Beach Resort has two swimming pools, one with a heated Jacuzzi; two bars; a dive shop and water sports center; and two open air restaurants: La Loma and Aventura, which is ocean front and offers one of the best views of Playa del Carmen.
Resort room rates include breakfast and dinner, or lunch under a Modified American Plan (MAP); alcohol and some beverages are additional. Meals are served in our of our two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch, while La Loma is open only for dinner.
A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries ('pan de dulce"), seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
REPEAT CLIENTS - Receive a personalized Mexican craft with their name on it.

HONEYMOONERS - Complimentary bottle of wine, a fruit basket and special dcor in their room upon arrival.

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Los Springs
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts
May 5, 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay at Mahekal. The staff are welcoming, knowledgable and eager to help. Highlights include the outstanding breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, waffles, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. plus a choice of eggs (e.g., huevos rancheros). Lunch was also amazing (three course meal), and several of the dinners were excellent (a few were just so-so). Our room was clean and comfortable, and the AC worked well. The best part though is the beach. The beach near Mahekal is absolutely perfect and not overcrowded or loud. In addition, we enjoyed the outdoor pools, happy hour at the bar and the rustic/natural look of the hotel. It's gorgeous at night! The only down side is that the WiFi is slow and only available in select locations. We didn't mind overall since our goal was to get away. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone---especially couples and families. It's one of our favorite places and we will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We recommend that you select breakfast and lunch as your 2 included meals for most days...these are both excellent. The dinners varied from so-so to excellent, and occasionally included live music, so check the menu ahead of time since you won't want to miss certain dinners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Plaza
Business
Chicago
Apr 29, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

Great location with wonderful beach, all staff are very friendly, sure we will back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guadalupe WJ
Business
Washington
Apr 28, 2014

Relaxing vacations

We really enjoy the hotel, we stay in the suite 3c is on the beach, very nice and relax. I really recommend this hotel good ubication walking to 5th avenue and it is very clean and good service. We would like to come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IraG
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 23, 2014

Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think this is the best place to stay there - right on the beach, great rooms, the resort is close to so many interesting places. I will definitely stay there again for the next trip to that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum, Akumal, Cenotes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DK2014
Business
LA
Apr 9, 2014

Sucks

Room smells like rott and humidity They refused to change it saying its the only one available Food is mediocre at best and lousy at times They charged us for lunch durig our last day although we paid for breakfast and dinner or lunch package and never used it Cocktails are overpriced and are not good Internet is super slow and only available at the reception lobby area Basically - it sucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SM Princeton
Business
Princeton, New Jersey
Mar 30, 2014

Good place for a family vacation

It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals do not know how to get there. It has a very nice beach. Food (2 meals per day) was excellent and everyday we were pleasantly surprised by different animal shapes of towels made for us. There's no TV in the room, which we liked. Wifi is available only in the lobby, and it was sometimes very slow. Location is very good. Convenient to visit Xcaret, Tulum, and Chicen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many supermarkets for locals nearby if you'd like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timothy H.
Business
LA, California
Feb 6, 2014

Awesome room IN the Caribbean

Great hotel, wonderful time. Our room was the only situated ON the ocean. The waves literally lapped up against our suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kootenay Traveller
Business
Kaslo , British Columbia
Feb 1, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort - We All Loved It!

I have to say I picked this Resort by the photos and reviews I had read and I was not disappointed at all. Happily my partner and grandson agreed that is was a better choice then an all inclusive for us. The staff were very helpful pre-vacation when I contacted them with a couple of questions about the area, things to do etc. I had let them know that we would be arriving late at night and they thought to hold our dinner for us, which was greatly appreciated since we hadn't stopped for any. The resort was quiet, and clean. The complimentary coffee was available at the bar by 5am, most mornings, (and very good) we would wonder off to the beach and watch the sun rise. The main touristy street in Playa Del Carmen, 5th Ave, was just a couple of blocks up from us, so when we wanted to shop, or dine out, or immerse ourselves in the banter and bartering, appreciate the artists and their work, it was close and easy and available anytime of day...and more entertaining this way, then just visiting from and all-inclusive for a day like we had done before. The resort was a partial inclusive, so we had breakfast every morning and then the choice of lunch or dinner. There were some fabulous meals served... If we choose to go back to the same area, we would definitely choose the Mahekal Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoopDee
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 10, 2013

Mahekal Beach resort

I really enjoyed the Mahekal Beach resort. Great location and staff. The rooms are small but who wants to stay in your room all the time when you are in paradise? Be prepared, the rooms do not have TV or wi-fi but they have free wi-fi in the lobby area. They have two pools that are ok, but the beach is AMAZING!!! Two meals are included with the room. The food was good for the most part. I enjoyed the buffet days the most. Jose and Marcos, who are some of the servers are excellent!!!! Of course find out what type of weather it is typically like when you plan your trip. Unfortunately it rained 3-4 of the 7 days I was there. Use the bug spray they provide for free. Do NOT be like me thinking the bugs won't get you. It is literally "a jungle out there" and with jungles come bugs!! A few blocks away it La Pirata a local seafood spot. Make sure to visit. I would say probably the BEST place I ate in all of playa del carmen. The bottom line,,, I would definitely return to this location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two things,, 1. taxi's are double if you get them outside your hotel. Save the money and walk to 5th avenue which is a block away and get a cab there. 2. If you want really good food, eat where the locals eat. Do NOT waste your money at places on 5th avenue. Its all touristy and the food is just ok.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy from Alaska
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Nov 7, 2013

The best of Playa del Carmen!

The staff! The locale! The Mexican experience! The food! Can't get any better! Breakfast on patio over Caribbean Ocean unforgettable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Spend morning swimming in the Caribbean ocean. Best way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top