$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Magic Express Hotel

2 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun - Chetumal Km 291, Esquina calle 54 Norte, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
23 reviews
budget friendly,family,couples,business

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 16, 2008
Great Value

Magic Express Hotel was a great value. It really is not near the beach AT ALL, however they do have... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 25, 2008

Top hotels

Magic Express Hotel Rooms

STANDARD ROOM
Maximum Capacity: 4 People.
Bedding: One King or Two Double Beds.

In Room Amenities:

  • 20" Plasma TV.
  • Air Conditioning.
  • Voice Mail and Telephone.
  • Private Bathroom with shower.
  • Telephone with Direct Access to long distances calls.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & ironing Board (on request).
  • Safety Deposit Box (surcharge).
  • Amenities

    • Free continental breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Solarium
    Dining
    Free continental breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Brailled elevators

    Dining

    IPANEMA GRILL

    Brazilian Rodizio & international buffet Restaurant for lunch and dinner, located at Magic Blue Hotel at 10th Avenue, just a few minutes form the property. Special discount for the guests.
    COBA

    Contemporary lobby bar with unique atmosphere, cocktails and wide selection of International and national premium brands. Serving Continental Breakfast from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 am, snacks, sandwiches during the day.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel have all the necessary equipment for meetings like work meetings, training courses or conferences. Maximum capacity for 80 pax at 104 m2.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Magic Express Hotel

    Overall score

    2.5 / 5
    5.01.0
    6 out of 23
    Amenities:
    2.5
    Cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2.5
    Location:
    2.5
    Value:
    3.3

    33% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    chill
    Business
    chicago
    Jul 17, 2009

    My Stay At ME

    My stay at Magic Express was ok. I am use to sleeping on a soft pillow top mattress. I do understand if hotels do not come equipped with pillow top but, at least have soft to medium mattresses. I also was suprised that there wasn't a restaurant on the premises. The pool and exercise room where very smal as well. There was a bike, treadmill, and an eliptical machine that did not work in a very small room. However, there was a TV present and I was able to have a nice workout.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    mile and a half

    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    chill
    Business
    chicago
    Jul 17, 2009

    My Stay At ME

    My stay at Magic Express was ok. I am use to sleeping on a soft pillow top mattress. I do understand if hotels do not come equipped with pillow top but, at least have soft to medium mattresses. I also was suprised that there wasn't a restaurant on the premises. The pool and exercise room where very smal as well. There was a bike, treadmill, and an eliptical machine that did not work in a very small room. However, there was a TV present and I was able to have a nice workout.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    mile and a half

    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    kitty mama
    Business
    Calgary Ab
    May 3, 2009

    Good Enough

    Magic Express is a simple hotel with few amenities. Quiet, with helpful front end clerk, but it s on the opposite side of the highway from the main area in Playa and not in a neighborhood that l would feel comfortable walking around in. But all in all not bad for a budget hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    El oasis in is restaurant down the highway towards Tulum that serves only seafood, full of locals and very good food and reasonable prices. Check out the sink outside of the bathrooms.

    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
    Apr 22, 2009

    Terrible location, pathetic service

    We had the phone number reported by ORBITZ. As we could not find it straight away, we called several times, but we never received an answer. When we got to the hotel after one hour driving around town, the reception staff were very unfriendly, I told about the phone number and the fact they never answered to give me directions to the hotel and they told me off and then gave me a brochure with the same phone number as Orbitz. The folowing day I complained and demanded to see the Manager, but I was denied this privilege twice and finally found out that the phone number was indeed wrong. I would not go back to this hotel, even if I got a room for free. The location is terrible, one block from the highway, hidden from view at night and the staff are terrible.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Do not pay the price for Xel Ha. It is a rip off. Go instead to Tul Ha, just north of Akumal, which costs only 110.00 Mexican pesos and is very similar to Xel Ha. Most fish come out towards dusk.

    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Okemos
    Dec 27, 2008

    Very basic rooms

    No amenities, poor continental breakfast, postage stamp pool. Staff was friendly

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Downtown is a short cab ride away

    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    St Louis, MO
    Apr 6, 2008

    Excellent family friendly hotel

    Magic Express Hotel was extremely comfortable, the room was a reasonable size, the beds were larger

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    This hotel provides a free shuttle service to the plaza's, downtown, 5th Avenue which is right on the beach and has about a mile worth of shops etc. & this area has places to eat, dance, and drink the night away, Well recommended!

    Back to menu Return to top