$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 19, 2015

Magic Express Hotel

2 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun - Chetumal Km 291, Esquina calle 54 Norte, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
19 reviews
budget friendly,family,couples,business

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 16, 2008
Great Value

Magic Express Hotel was a great value. It really is not near the beach AT ALL, however they do have... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 25, 2008
Magic Express is a relaxed business-family friendly hotel.

Because of its central location in Playa del Carmen, the hotel welcomes a mix of business travellers and budget-minded families who enjoy proximity to business, shopping, restaurants and entertainment in the surrounding area.

Highlights

  • FREE Wireless Internet.
  • FREE Parking.
  • Accesss to Beach Club.
  • FREE Transportation to Beach Club & 5th Avenue

  • This business-family friendly property includes amenities such as ice cream machine, swimming pool and fitness room, roofed parking lot. The following services at an extra cost: laundry, babysitting, meeting rooms for up to 80 persons, business center.

    During the day visit our Beach Club, umbrellas, towels, lounge chairs included and special discounts on food and beverages. You can also book ecological tours (Selvatica, Crococun, etc,) or visit cultural archaeological sites like Xcaret, Tulum, Xel-Ha, Chichen-Itza, Coba.

    Magic Express Hotel Rooms

    STANDARD ROOM
    Maximum Capacity: 4 People.
    Bedding: One King or Two Double Beds.

    In Room Amenities:

  • 20" Plasma TV.
  • Air Conditioning.
  • Voice Mail and Telephone.
  • Private Bathroom with shower.
  • Telephone with Direct Access to long distances calls.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & ironing Board (on request).
  • Safety Deposit Box (surcharge).
  • Amenities

    • Free continental breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Solarium
    Dining
    Free continental breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Brailled elevators

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel have all the necessary equipment for meetings like work meetings, training courses or conferences. Maximum capacity for 80 pax at 104 m2.

    Dining

    IPANEMA GRILL

    Brazilian Rodizio & international buffet Restaurant for lunch and dinner, located at Magic Blue Hotel at 10th Avenue, just a few minutes form the property. Special discount for the guests.
    COBA

    Contemporary lobby bar with unique atmosphere, cocktails and wide selection of International and national premium brands. Serving Continental Breakfast from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 am, snacks, sandwiches during the day.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (19)

    Ratings and reviews for Magic Express Hotel

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    19 out of 19
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    2.9
    Value:
    4.1

    74% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Traveling DanCo
    Business
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Dec 20, 2012

    Great for the price

    This was a great hotel to stay at for the price. We had a car which made it better with the parking, but clean rooms, decent beds and great water pressure. Had some notable problems with the front desk not taking the online reservation we had to push through which took an hour, but once we were in it was great.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Coolwoman
    Business
    Portland, OR
    Mar 24, 2011

    Nice hotel but far, far, away

    Playa del Carmen was next on my list as it was close to Chichen Itza and Tulum. On previous hotels stays in Cancun and Vallalodid, I was able to walk into a hotel and get a room for the night. These hotels were in walking distance to shopping, restaurants, etc. Not the case with Magic Express. It's very new with nice rooms, bedding, showers, and complimentary breakfast but it is too far from anything. Literally on the outskirts of town. Was a 50-70 peso cab ride everytime we wanted to go to the main strip. I would recommend staying here if it is just for one night. Otherwise, try your luck at hotels that are closer to "el centro".

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    Decent breakfast of toast, cereal, yogurt, and coffee in the hotel lobby every morning from 7:30-10:30am.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    kitty mama
    Business
    Calgary Ab
    May 3, 2009

    Good Enough

    Magic Express is a simple hotel with few amenities. Quiet, with helpful front end clerk, but it s on the opposite side of the highway from the main area in Playa and not in a neighborhood that l would feel comfortable walking around in. But all in all not bad for a budget hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    El oasis in is restaurant down the highway towards Tulum that serves only seafood, full of locals and very good food and reasonable prices. Check out the sink outside of the bathrooms.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    NY, NY
    May 2, 2009

    Good alternative

    Positive experience. Well worth what they charge. Want to enjoy Playa del Carmen without breaking the bank? Stay here and take a taxi to the beach. Beach is 5 mins away by car.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    chill
    Business
    chicago
    Jul 17, 2009

    My Stay At ME

    My stay at Magic Express was ok. I am use to sleeping on a soft pillow top mattress. I do understand if hotels do not come equipped with pillow top but, at least have soft to medium mattresses. I also was suprised that there wasn't a restaurant on the premises. The pool and exercise room where very smal as well. There was a bike, treadmill, and an eliptical machine that did not work in a very small room. However, there was a TV present and I was able to have a nice workout.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    mile and a half

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Manuela
    Business
    Indiana, USA
    Jan 17, 2012

    Chose another hotel if you are on a vacation

    This hotel is very far from the beach. If you are on vacation and would like to enjoy the ocean shore than pick a different hotel. This is really a hotel for visitors who are just passing through and need a nice place to lay your head down.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Okemos
    Dec 27, 2008

    Very basic rooms

    No amenities, poor continental breakfast, postage stamp pool. Staff was friendly

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Downtown is a short cab ride away

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Don't drink the water either
    Business
    Virginia
    Aug 23, 2010

    You get what you pay fo

    One positive thing I can say is that the staff were all very nice. They even brought bandaids and ointment to my room when I cut my finger (not on anything hotel-related). It was quite noisy inside the hotel. This wasn't so much the hotels fault as it was the noisy customers. However, the hotel didn't do anything to encourage them keep the noise down. As for the free breakfast, well all I can say is, "you get what you pay for." If you're from the US, don't expect cold milk for your cereal. The pics make the pool look rather nice, but it's super small and it could use a good power wash and some new chairs. When we got to the room, the AC had been completely off. It was over 80*F and it reeked of mildew (likely due to excessive moisture that is inherent in Mexico and no AC). The AC said it could go as low as 18*C, but never managed to make it below 23*C). Playa del Carmen has so much to off, as do the surrounding offers. I would just highly suggest staying somewhere else if you have allergies or asthma.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Visit Tulum, Coba, and Isla Mujeres. Cozumel is also only a short ferry ride away.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
    Apr 22, 2009

    Terrible location, pathetic service

    We had the phone number reported by ORBITZ. As we could not find it straight away, we called several times, but we never received an answer. When we got to the hotel after one hour driving around town, the reception staff were very unfriendly, I told about the phone number and the fact they never answered to give me directions to the hotel and they told me off and then gave me a brochure with the same phone number as Orbitz. The folowing day I complained and demanded to see the Manager, but I was denied this privilege twice and finally found out that the phone number was indeed wrong. I would not go back to this hotel, even if I got a room for free. The location is terrible, one block from the highway, hidden from view at night and the staff are terrible.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Do not pay the price for Xel Ha. It is a rip off. Go instead to Tul Ha, just north of Akumal, which costs only 110.00 Mexican pesos and is very similar to Xel Ha. Most fish come out towards dusk.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top