$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 19, 2015

Magic Express Hotel

2 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun - Chetumal Km 291, Esquina calle 54 Norte, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
19 reviews
budget friendly,family,couples,business

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 16, 2008
Great Value

Magic Express Hotel was a great value. It really is not near the beach AT ALL, however they do have... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 25, 2008
Magic Express is a relaxed business-family friendly hotel.

Because of its central location in Playa del Carmen, the hotel welcomes a mix of business travellers and budget-minded families who enjoy proximity to business, shopping, restaurants and entertainment in the surrounding area.

Highlights

  • FREE Wireless Internet.
  • FREE Parking.
  • Accesss to Beach Club.
  • FREE Transportation to Beach Club & 5th Avenue

  • This business-family friendly property includes amenities such as ice cream machine, swimming pool and fitness room, roofed parking lot. The following services at an extra cost: laundry, babysitting, meeting rooms for up to 80 persons, business center.

    During the day visit our Beach Club, umbrellas, towels, lounge chairs included and special discounts on food and beverages. You can also book ecological tours (Selvatica, Crococun, etc,) or visit cultural archaeological sites like Xcaret, Tulum, Xel-Ha, Chichen-Itza, Coba.

    Magic Express Hotel Rooms

    STANDARD ROOM
    Maximum Capacity: 4 People.
    Bedding: One King or Two Double Beds.

    In Room Amenities:

  • 20" Plasma TV.
  • Air Conditioning.
  • Voice Mail and Telephone.
  • Private Bathroom with shower.
  • Telephone with Direct Access to long distances calls.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & ironing Board (on request).
  • Safety Deposit Box (surcharge).
  • Amenities

    • Free continental breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Solarium
    Dining
    Free continental breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Brailled elevators

    Dining

    IPANEMA GRILL

    Brazilian Rodizio & international buffet Restaurant for lunch and dinner, located at Magic Blue Hotel at 10th Avenue, just a few minutes form the property. Special discount for the guests.
    COBA

    Contemporary lobby bar with unique atmosphere, cocktails and wide selection of International and national premium brands. Serving Continental Breakfast from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 am, snacks, sandwiches during the day.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel have all the necessary equipment for meetings like work meetings, training courses or conferences. Maximum capacity for 80 pax at 104 m2.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (19)

    Ratings and reviews for Magic Express Hotel

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    19 out of 19
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    2.9
    Value:
    4.1

    74% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Quincy
    Nov 16, 2008

    budget friendly,family,couples,business

    MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE GREETED AT THE FRONT DESK VERY NICE PLEASANT (ENGLISH SPEAKING WAS VERY GOOD) AND IF WE NEEDED SOMETHING HE WAS ALWAYS THERE TO HELP. ALSO THE BAR GUY WHO WORKED 4-12 EVENINGS WAS VERY NICE. THE HALLWAYS TO THE ROOMS WERE VERY DARK NOT WELL LIT. THE ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN NOT TOO BIG, THOUGH THE SHOWER WAS GREATE BATHROOM WAS NICE,AIR CONDITIONING WAS GOOD, I NEVER SAW ONE BUG!! OVERALL THIS PLACE WAS REALLY GREATE. WE RENT A CAR AND HAVE BEEN TO PLAYA PLENTY OF TIMES SO WE JUST GET UP AND GO EACH DAY. PLUS THEY HAVE A NICE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EACH MORNING. WHICH WAS REALLY NICE,WE ONLY WENT OUT FOR BREAKFAST ONCE SINCE WE ATE THERE IN THE MORNING. WE WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK. LOCATION WAS ONLY 5MIN DOWN THE ROAD FROM 5TH AVE. THERE ARE BUSES ALSO THAT TAKES YOU TO PLAYA. THER WAS ENOUGH SPACE FOR YOUR CLOTHS TO HANG AND PUT INTO DRAWS TOO. COULD USE A LITTLE MORE LIGHT THOUGH.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    GREATE SHOPPING, DINNING, ON 5TH AVE ALSO OFF OF 5TH AVE. BEACHES ARE BEAUTIFULL, MAMITAS BEACH VERY NICE. FOR 2 CHAIRS AND PALAPA IT WAS ONLY $6.00 US FOR THE WHOLE DAY.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    St Louis, MO
    Apr 6, 2008

    Excellent family friendly hotel

    Magic Express Hotel was extremely comfortable, the room was a reasonable size, the beds were larger

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    This hotel provides a free shuttle service to the plaza's, downtown, 5th Avenue which is right on the beach and has about a mile worth of shops etc. & this area has places to eat, dance, and drink the night away, Well recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Sylvan Lake, *
    May 8, 2008

    Very comfortable hotel

    The Magic Express was a very nice hotel for the cost. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were good size and the beds were comfortable.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is a really good shopping mall just a few blocks from the hotel

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Bridgeport
    Sep 25, 2008

    Great Value

    Magic Express Hotel was a great value. It really is not near the beach AT ALL, however they do have a shuttle van (which isn't always available) to take you there. Taking a taxi to and from the beach/clubs is not a problem and only costs a couple of bucks. There is a nice small continental breakfast. I'd watch the news on the flat screen tv and have my breakfast and read a few complimentary newspapers, incl. an english language one. The room itself was really nice in a lower end W hotel sort of way. Very nice small flat screen tv with cable and cool modern fixtures. I liked the electronic safe in the room which is always a neccessity when travelling. There was a small little gym with a treadmill and elliptical machine. Going along with how far away it is from the beach, the hotel seems to be a businessman's hotel with groups of shirt-wearing people in small conference rooms. To sum up I'd definitely stay there again. Magic Express a nice place!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    A couple of cool, bars to hang out down near Avenida Qunita are The Bar Ranita and The Beer Bucket. Both are on 10th street, between 5th avenue and 10th avenue. At Ranita ask Mariposa for a Thed Special! Head down the street to the bucket where you'll meet a great group of guys and Ale will serve you an cold cerveza!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Quincy
    Nov 16, 2008

    budget friendly,family,couples,business

    MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE GREETED AT THE FRONT DESK VERY NICE PLEASANT (ENGLISH SPEAKING WAS VERY GOOD) AND IF WE NEEDED SOMETHING HE WAS ALWAYS THERE TO HELP. ALSO THE BAR GUY WHO WORKED 4-12 EVENINGS WAS VERY NICE. THE HALLWAYS TO THE ROOMS WERE VERY DARK NOT WELL LIT. THE ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN NOT TOO BIG, THOUGH THE SHOWER WAS GREATE BATHROOM WAS NICE,AIR CONDITIONING WAS GOOD, I NEVER SAW ONE BUG!! OVERALL THIS PLACE WAS REALLY GREATE. WE RENT A CAR AND HAVE BEEN TO PLAYA PLENTY OF TIMES SO WE JUST GET UP AND GO EACH DAY. PLUS THEY HAVE A NICE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EACH MORNING. WHICH WAS REALLY NICE,WE ONLY WENT OUT FOR BREAKFAST ONCE SINCE WE ATE THERE IN THE MORNING. WE WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK. LOCATION WAS ONLY 5MIN DOWN THE ROAD FROM 5TH AVE. THERE ARE BUSES ALSO THAT TAKES YOU TO PLAYA. THER WAS ENOUGH SPACE FOR YOUR CLOTHS TO HANG AND PUT INTO DRAWS TOO. COULD USE A LITTLE MORE LIGHT THOUGH.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    GREATE SHOPPING, DINNING, ON 5TH AVE ALSO OFF OF 5TH AVE. BEACHES ARE BEAUTIFULL, MAMITAS BEACH VERY NICE. FOR 2 CHAIRS AND PALAPA IT WAS ONLY $6.00 US FOR THE WHOLE DAY.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Camarillo, CA
    Feb 22, 2011

    Excellent personalized friendly service

    Super clean. Close to almost everything: beach, downtown; fair distance from main road which meant less noise. Everyone in the staff was friedly and took the time to orient clients for trips, better deals, attractions, etc. Very affordable prices. Continental BKT was good beginning for each day.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Playa del Carmen Beach 10 minutes drive or 30 mins walking. Ruins of Tulum about 40 mins drive.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    yogidocta
    Business
    Raleigh NC
    Jan 7, 2012

    Magic Express

    Nice place, nice people. Toilet worked variably, depending on water pressure. Staff very helpful and prompt, including the repairman. 5 blocks from the beach. No local restaurants in walking distance, but there are two that deliver. It's about 45 minutes from the airport.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chevy Chase
    Jul 6, 2008

    Comfortable hotel for short stay

    The hotel is close to the highway. When we checked in we had to wait about 20-25 min. The staff is very helpful. Internet is available but we had to pay additionally $2.50 per hour. The room was big enough, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was the same every morning, lack of variety. The cups, the dishes and the forks were plastic. There are not many restaurants around - you have to drive to get to Playa del Carmen restaurant area. Overall, the hotel is ok for staying a couple of days.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    1. The beaches are wonderful! You can enjoy the sunny days there! 2. Make sure you have a rental car or other reliable transportation. 3. Nice place to have a vacation.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    I Love to Fish
    Business
    Texas
    Apr 22, 2009

    For the Price Cant be beat Clean

    For the money Good Deal not a resort, Greta for business Fishing ect if your only need a place to shower and sleep Good staff, clean Would stay again. Not very far from Beach district a 2 minute taxi ride

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Latina Wannabe
    Business
    Charlotte, NC
    Jan 5, 2010

    Magic Express - Jan 2010

    Good value hotel. Not the place to go for superior service or a resort-type feel. But clean and nice for the price! Would suggest only staying here if you had a rental car.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Chabella
    Business
    Indiana
    Jun 29, 2011

    I'll tell you everything you need to kno

    It's a long walk to the beach and you have to go through 2 blocks of ghetto neighborhood to get there. The hotel does not offer any water to drink and the breakfast consists of toast, fruit, and coffee. The pool is very tiny and none of the exercise equipment work in the fitness center. There is no concierge at the hotel and the closest restaurant is a 15 min walk. Now with that all being said, the staff is the friendliest staff I have ever known. Every employee there knew me by name and greeted me with a smile everyday!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top