$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Magic Express Hotel

2 stars
Carretera Cancun - Chetumal Km 291, Esquina calle 54 Norte, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
19 reviews
budget friendly,family,couples,business

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 16, 2008
Great Value

Magic Express Hotel was a great value. It really is not near the beach AT ALL, however they do have... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 25, 2008
Relaxed business-family friendly hotel with continental breakfast included & beach club. Because of its central location in Playa del Carmen, the hotel welcomes a mix of business travellers and budget-minded families who enjoy proximity to business, shopping, restaurants and entertainment in the surrounding area.

Wireless internet in all the hotel areas.

This business-family friendly property includes amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, ice cream machine, swimming pool and fitness room, roofed parking lot, transportation to our beach club and to 5th avenue. The following services at an extra cost: laundry, babysitting, meeting rooms for up to 80 persons, business center.

During the day visit our Beach Club, umbrellas, towels, lounge chairs included and special discounts on food and beverages. You can also book ecological tours (Selvatica, Crococun, etc,) or visit cultural archaeological sites like Xcaret, Tulum, Xel-Ha, Chichen-Itza, Coba.

Magic Express Hotel Rooms

Standard
This room offers one king or two double beds with 20 inches plasma TV, amenities, air conditioning, voice mail and telephone, private bathroom with shower, telephone with direct accesss to long distances calls, alarm clock, iron & ironing board (on request), safety deposit box (surcharge), comlpimentary continental breakfast

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Brailled elevators

Dining

Ipanema Grill
Brazilian Rodizio & international buffet Restaurant for lunch and dinner, located at Magic Blue Hotel at 10th Avenue, just a few minutes form the property. Special discount for the guests.
Coba
Contemporary lobby bar with unique atmosphere, cocktails and wide selection of International and national premium brands. Serving complimentary Continental Breakfast from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 am, snacks, sandwiches during the day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel have all the necessary equipment for meetings like work meetings, training courses or conferences. Maximum capacity for 80 pax at 104 m2.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Magic Express Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 19
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
2.5
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling DanCo
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Dec 20, 2012

Great for the price

This was a great hotel to stay at for the price. We had a car which made it better with the parking, but clean rooms, decent beds and great water pressure. Had some notable problems with the front desk not taking the online reservation we had to push through which took an hour, but once we were in it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coolwoman
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 24, 2011

Nice hotel but far, far, away

Playa del Carmen was next on my list as it was close to Chichen Itza and Tulum. On previous hotels stays in Cancun and Vallalodid, I was able to walk into a hotel and get a room for the night. These hotels were in walking distance to shopping, restaurants, etc. Not the case with Magic Express. It's very new with nice rooms, bedding, showers, and complimentary breakfast but it is too far from anything. Literally on the outskirts of town. Was a 50-70 peso cab ride everytime we wanted to go to the main strip. I would recommend staying here if it is just for one night. Otherwise, try your luck at hotels that are closer to "el centro".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Decent breakfast of toast, cereal, yogurt, and coffee in the hotel lobby every morning from 7:30-10:30am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Excellent personalized friendly service

Super clean. Close to almost everything: beach, downtown; fair distance from main road which meant less noise. Everyone in the staff was friedly and took the time to orient clients for trips, better deals, attractions, etc. Very affordable prices. Continental BKT was good beginning for each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen Beach 10 minutes drive or 30 mins walking. Ruins of Tulum about 40 mins drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don't drink the water either
Business
Virginia
Aug 23, 2010

You get what you pay fo

One positive thing I can say is that the staff were all very nice. They even brought bandaids and ointment to my room when I cut my finger (not on anything hotel-related). It was quite noisy inside the hotel. This wasn't so much the hotels fault as it was the noisy customers. However, the hotel didn't do anything to encourage them keep the noise down. As for the free breakfast, well all I can say is, "you get what you pay for." If you're from the US, don't expect cold milk for your cereal. The pics make the pool look rather nice, but it's super small and it could use a good power wash and some new chairs. When we got to the room, the AC had been completely off. It was over 80*F and it reeked of mildew (likely due to excessive moisture that is inherent in Mexico and no AC). The AC said it could go as low as 18*C, but never managed to make it below 23*C). Playa del Carmen has so much to off, as do the surrounding offers. I would just highly suggest staying somewhere else if you have allergies or asthma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit Tulum, Coba, and Isla Mujeres. Cozumel is also only a short ferry ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top