$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Magic Express Hotel

2 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun - Chetumal Km 291, Esquina calle 54 Norte, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Magic Express Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
2.9
Value:
4.1

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
May 2, 2009

Good alternative

Positive experience. Well worth what they charge. Want to enjoy Playa del Carmen without breaking the bank? Stay here and take a taxi to the beach. Beach is 5 mins away by car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Apr 22, 2009

Terrible location, pathetic service

We had the phone number reported by ORBITZ. As we could not find it straight away, we called several times, but we never received an answer. When we got to the hotel after one hour driving around town, the reception staff were very unfriendly, I told about the phone number and the fact they never answered to give me directions to the hotel and they told me off and then gave me a brochure with the same phone number as Orbitz. The folowing day I complained and demanded to see the Manager, but I was denied this privilege twice and finally found out that the phone number was indeed wrong. I would not go back to this hotel, even if I got a room for free. The location is terrible, one block from the highway, hidden from view at night and the staff are terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not pay the price for Xel Ha. It is a rip off. Go instead to Tul Ha, just north of Akumal, which costs only 110.00 Mexican pesos and is very similar to Xel Ha. Most fish come out towards dusk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Love to Fish
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2009

For the Price Cant be beat Clean

For the money Good Deal not a resort, Greta for business Fishing ect if your only need a place to shower and sleep Good staff, clean Would stay again. Not very far from Beach district a 2 minute taxi ride

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Okemos
Dec 27, 2008

Very basic rooms

No amenities, poor continental breakfast, postage stamp pool. Staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown is a short cab ride away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy
Nov 16, 2008

budget friendly,family,couples,business

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE GREETED AT THE FRONT DESK VERY NICE PLEASANT (ENGLISH SPEAKING WAS VERY GOOD) AND IF WE NEEDED SOMETHING HE WAS ALWAYS THERE TO HELP. ALSO THE BAR GUY WHO WORKED 4-12 EVENINGS WAS VERY NICE. THE HALLWAYS TO THE ROOMS WERE VERY DARK NOT WELL LIT. THE ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN NOT TOO BIG, THOUGH THE SHOWER WAS GREATE BATHROOM WAS NICE,AIR CONDITIONING WAS GOOD, I NEVER SAW ONE BUG!! OVERALL THIS PLACE WAS REALLY GREATE. WE RENT A CAR AND HAVE BEEN TO PLAYA PLENTY OF TIMES SO WE JUST GET UP AND GO EACH DAY. PLUS THEY HAVE A NICE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EACH MORNING. WHICH WAS REALLY NICE,WE ONLY WENT OUT FOR BREAKFAST ONCE SINCE WE ATE THERE IN THE MORNING. WE WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK. LOCATION WAS ONLY 5MIN DOWN THE ROAD FROM 5TH AVE. THERE ARE BUSES ALSO THAT TAKES YOU TO PLAYA. THER WAS ENOUGH SPACE FOR YOUR CLOTHS TO HANG AND PUT INTO DRAWS TOO. COULD USE A LITTLE MORE LIGHT THOUGH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

GREATE SHOPPING, DINNING, ON 5TH AVE ALSO OFF OF 5TH AVE. BEACHES ARE BEAUTIFULL, MAMITAS BEACH VERY NICE. FOR 2 CHAIRS AND PALAPA IT WAS ONLY $6.00 US FOR THE WHOLE DAY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bridgeport
Sep 25, 2008

Great Value

Magic Express Hotel was a great value. It really is not near the beach AT ALL, however they do have a shuttle van (which isn't always available) to take you there. Taking a taxi to and from the beach/clubs is not a problem and only costs a couple of bucks. There is a nice small continental breakfast. I'd watch the news on the flat screen tv and have my breakfast and read a few complimentary newspapers, incl. an english language one. The room itself was really nice in a lower end W hotel sort of way. Very nice small flat screen tv with cable and cool modern fixtures. I liked the electronic safe in the room which is always a neccessity when travelling. There was a small little gym with a treadmill and elliptical machine. Going along with how far away it is from the beach, the hotel seems to be a businessman's hotel with groups of shirt-wearing people in small conference rooms. To sum up I'd definitely stay there again. Magic Express a nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

A couple of cool, bars to hang out down near Avenida Qunita are The Bar Ranita and The Beer Bucket. Both are on 10th street, between 5th avenue and 10th avenue. At Ranita ask Mariposa for a Thed Special! Head down the street to the bucket where you'll meet a great group of guys and Ale will serve you an cold cerveza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chevy Chase
Jul 6, 2008

Comfortable hotel for short stay

The hotel is close to the highway. When we checked in we had to wait about 20-25 min. The staff is very helpful. Internet is available but we had to pay additionally $2.50 per hour. The room was big enough, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was the same every morning, lack of variety. The cups, the dishes and the forks were plastic. There are not many restaurants around - you have to drive to get to Playa del Carmen restaurant area. Overall, the hotel is ok for staying a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

1. The beaches are wonderful! You can enjoy the sunny days there! 2. Make sure you have a rental car or other reliable transportation. 3. Nice place to have a vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylvan Lake, *
May 8, 2008

Very comfortable hotel

The Magic Express was a very nice hotel for the cost. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were good size and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a really good shopping mall just a few blocks from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Apr 6, 2008

Excellent family friendly hotel

Magic Express Hotel was extremely comfortable, the room was a reasonable size, the beds were larger

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel provides a free shuttle service to the plaza's, downtown, 5th Avenue which is right on the beach and has about a mile worth of shops etc. & this area has places to eat, dance, and drink the night away, Well recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top