$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 17, 2015 Check-out: Feb 18, 2015

Magic Express Hotel

2 stars
Carretera Cancun - Chetumal Km 291, Esquina calle 54 Norte, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
19 reviews
budget friendly,family,couples,business

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 16, 2008
Great Value

Magic Express Hotel was a great value. It really is not near the beach AT ALL, however they do have... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 25, 2008
Magic Express is a relaxed business-family friendly hotel.

Because of its central location in Playa del Carmen, the hotel welcomes a mix of business travellers and budget-minded families who enjoy proximity to business, shopping, restaurants and entertainment in the surrounding area.

Highlights

  • FREE Wireless Internet.
  • FREE Parking.
  • Accesss to Beach Club.
  • FREE Transportation to Beach Club & 5th Avenue

  • This business-family friendly property includes amenities such as ice cream machine, swimming pool and fitness room, roofed parking lot. The following services at an extra cost: laundry, babysitting, meeting rooms for up to 80 persons, business center.

    During the day visit our Beach Club, umbrellas, towels, lounge chairs included and special discounts on food and beverages. You can also book ecological tours (Selvatica, Crococun, etc,) or visit cultural archaeological sites like Xcaret, Tulum, Xel-Ha, Chichen-Itza, Coba.

    Magic Express Hotel Rooms

    STANDARD ROOM
    Maximum Capacity: 4 People.
    Bedding: One King or Two Double Beds.

    In Room Amenities:

  • 20" Plasma TV.
  • Air Conditioning.
  • Voice Mail and Telephone.
  • Private Bathroom with shower.
  • Telephone with Direct Access to long distances calls.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & ironing Board (on request).
  • Safety Deposit Box (surcharge).
  • Amenities

    • Free continental breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Solarium
    Dining
    Free continental breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Brailled elevators

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel have all the necessary equipment for meetings like work meetings, training courses or conferences. Maximum capacity for 80 pax at 104 m2.

    Dining

    IPANEMA GRILL

    Brazilian Rodizio & international buffet Restaurant for lunch and dinner, located at Magic Blue Hotel at 10th Avenue, just a few minutes form the property. Special discount for the guests.
    COBA

    Contemporary lobby bar with unique atmosphere, cocktails and wide selection of International and national premium brands. Serving Continental Breakfast from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 am, snacks, sandwiches during the day.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (19)

    Ratings and reviews for Magic Express Hotel

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    19 out of 19
    Amenities:
    3.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    2.9
    Value:
    4.1

    74% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    NY, NY
    May 2, 2009

    Good alternative

    Positive experience. Well worth what they charge. Want to enjoy Playa del Carmen without breaking the bank? Stay here and take a taxi to the beach. Beach is 5 mins away by car.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
    Apr 22, 2009

    Terrible location, pathetic service

    We had the phone number reported by ORBITZ. As we could not find it straight away, we called several times, but we never received an answer. When we got to the hotel after one hour driving around town, the reception staff were very unfriendly, I told about the phone number and the fact they never answered to give me directions to the hotel and they told me off and then gave me a brochure with the same phone number as Orbitz. The folowing day I complained and demanded to see the Manager, but I was denied this privilege twice and finally found out that the phone number was indeed wrong. I would not go back to this hotel, even if I got a room for free. The location is terrible, one block from the highway, hidden from view at night and the staff are terrible.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Do not pay the price for Xel Ha. It is a rip off. Go instead to Tul Ha, just north of Akumal, which costs only 110.00 Mexican pesos and is very similar to Xel Ha. Most fish come out towards dusk.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    I Love to Fish
    Business
    Texas
    Apr 22, 2009

    For the Price Cant be beat Clean

    For the money Good Deal not a resort, Greta for business Fishing ect if your only need a place to shower and sleep Good staff, clean Would stay again. Not very far from Beach district a 2 minute taxi ride

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Okemos
    Dec 27, 2008

    Very basic rooms

    No amenities, poor continental breakfast, postage stamp pool. Staff was friendly

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Downtown is a short cab ride away

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Quincy
    Nov 16, 2008

    budget friendly,family,couples,business

    MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE GREETED AT THE FRONT DESK VERY NICE PLEASANT (ENGLISH SPEAKING WAS VERY GOOD) AND IF WE NEEDED SOMETHING HE WAS ALWAYS THERE TO HELP. ALSO THE BAR GUY WHO WORKED 4-12 EVENINGS WAS VERY NICE. THE HALLWAYS TO THE ROOMS WERE VERY DARK NOT WELL LIT. THE ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN NOT TOO BIG, THOUGH THE SHOWER WAS GREATE BATHROOM WAS NICE,AIR CONDITIONING WAS GOOD, I NEVER SAW ONE BUG!! OVERALL THIS PLACE WAS REALLY GREATE. WE RENT A CAR AND HAVE BEEN TO PLAYA PLENTY OF TIMES SO WE JUST GET UP AND GO EACH DAY. PLUS THEY HAVE A NICE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EACH MORNING. WHICH WAS REALLY NICE,WE ONLY WENT OUT FOR BREAKFAST ONCE SINCE WE ATE THERE IN THE MORNING. WE WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK. LOCATION WAS ONLY 5MIN DOWN THE ROAD FROM 5TH AVE. THERE ARE BUSES ALSO THAT TAKES YOU TO PLAYA. THER WAS ENOUGH SPACE FOR YOUR CLOTHS TO HANG AND PUT INTO DRAWS TOO. COULD USE A LITTLE MORE LIGHT THOUGH.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    GREATE SHOPPING, DINNING, ON 5TH AVE ALSO OFF OF 5TH AVE. BEACHES ARE BEAUTIFULL, MAMITAS BEACH VERY NICE. FOR 2 CHAIRS AND PALAPA IT WAS ONLY $6.00 US FOR THE WHOLE DAY.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Bridgeport
    Sep 25, 2008

    Great Value

    Magic Express Hotel was a great value. It really is not near the beach AT ALL, however they do have a shuttle van (which isn't always available) to take you there. Taking a taxi to and from the beach/clubs is not a problem and only costs a couple of bucks. There is a nice small continental breakfast. I'd watch the news on the flat screen tv and have my breakfast and read a few complimentary newspapers, incl. an english language one. The room itself was really nice in a lower end W hotel sort of way. Very nice small flat screen tv with cable and cool modern fixtures. I liked the electronic safe in the room which is always a neccessity when travelling. There was a small little gym with a treadmill and elliptical machine. Going along with how far away it is from the beach, the hotel seems to be a businessman's hotel with groups of shirt-wearing people in small conference rooms. To sum up I'd definitely stay there again. Magic Express a nice place!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    A couple of cool, bars to hang out down near Avenida Qunita are The Bar Ranita and The Beer Bucket. Both are on 10th street, between 5th avenue and 10th avenue. At Ranita ask Mariposa for a Thed Special! Head down the street to the bucket where you'll meet a great group of guys and Ale will serve you an cold cerveza!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chevy Chase
    Jul 6, 2008

    Comfortable hotel for short stay

    The hotel is close to the highway. When we checked in we had to wait about 20-25 min. The staff is very helpful. Internet is available but we had to pay additionally $2.50 per hour. The room was big enough, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was the same every morning, lack of variety. The cups, the dishes and the forks were plastic. There are not many restaurants around - you have to drive to get to Playa del Carmen restaurant area. Overall, the hotel is ok for staying a couple of days.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    1. The beaches are wonderful! You can enjoy the sunny days there! 2. Make sure you have a rental car or other reliable transportation. 3. Nice place to have a vacation.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Sylvan Lake, *
    May 8, 2008

    Very comfortable hotel

    The Magic Express was a very nice hotel for the cost. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were good size and the beds were comfortable.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is a really good shopping mall just a few blocks from the hotel

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Magic Express Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    St Louis, MO
    Apr 6, 2008

    Excellent family friendly hotel

    Magic Express Hotel was extremely comfortable, the room was a reasonable size, the beds were larger

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    This hotel provides a free shuttle service to the plaza's, downtown, 5th Avenue which is right on the beach and has about a mile worth of shops etc. & this area has places to eat, dance, and drink the night away, Well recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top