$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Magic Express Hotel

2 stars
Carretera Cancun - Chetumal Km 291, Esquina calle 54 Norte, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
31 reviews
budget friendly,family,couples,business

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 16, 2008
budget friendly,family,couples,business

MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED HERE ON NOV. 9TH-15TH AND WAS HAPPILY SURPRISED HOW NICE IT WAS. WE WERE... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 16, 2008
Relaxed business-family friendly hotel with continental breakfast included & beach club. Because of its central location in Playa del Carmen, the hotel welcomes a mix of business travellers and budget-minded families who enjoy proximity to business, shopping, restaurants and entertainment in the surrounding area.

Wireless internet in all the hotel areas.

This business-family friendly property includes amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, ice cream machine, swimming pool and fitness room, roofed parking lot, transportation to our beach club and to 5th avenue. The following services at an extra cost: laundry, babysitting, meeting rooms for up to 80 persons, business center.

During the day visit our Beach Club, umbrellas, towels, lounge chairs included and special discounts on food and beverages. You can also book ecological tours (Selvatica, Crococun, etc,) or visit cultural archaeological sites like Xcaret, Tulum, Xel-Ha, Chichen-Itza, Coba.

Hotel Map

20.6402 -87.074
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International airport.
Area description
Magic Express offers an unmatchable meeting location; the hotel is situated only 45 minutes south of Cancun International airport, just a 45 minutes ferry ride away from the world famous island of Cozumel.

Magic Express Hotel Rooms

Standard
This room offers one king or two double beds with 20 inches plasma TV, amenities, air conditioning, voice mail and telephone, private bathroom with shower, telephone with direct accesss to long distances calls, alarm clock, iron & ironing board (on request), safety deposit box (surcharge), comlpimentary continental breakfast

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Brailled elevators

Dining

Ipanema Grill
Brazilian Rodizio & international buffet Restaurant for lunch and dinner, located at Magic Blue Hotel at 10th Avenue, just a few minutes form the property. Special discount for the guests.
Coba
Contemporary lobby bar with unique atmosphere, cocktails and wide selection of International and national premium brands. Serving complimentary Continental Breakfast from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 am, snacks, sandwiches during the day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel have all the necessary equipment for meetings like work meetings, training courses or conferences. Maximum capacity for 80 pax at 104 m2.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Magic Express Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3
Value:
4.1

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chill
chicago
Jul 17, 2009

My Stay At ME

My stay at Magic Express was ok. I am use to sleeping on a soft pillow top mattress. I do understand if hotels do not come equipped with pillow top but, at least have soft to medium mattresses. I also was suprised that there wasn't a restaurant on the premises. The pool and exercise room where very smal as well. There was a bike, treadmill, and an eliptical machine that did not work in a very small room. However, there was a TV present and I was able to have a nice workout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

mile and a half

Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kitty mama
Calgary Ab
May 3, 2009

Good Enough

Magic Express is a simple hotel with few amenities. Quiet, with helpful front end clerk, but it s on the opposite side of the highway from the main area in Playa and not in a neighborhood that l would feel comfortable walking around in. But all in all not bad for a budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El oasis in is restaurant down the highway towards Tulum that serves only seafood, full of locals and very good food and reasonable prices. Check out the sink outside of the bathrooms.

Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kitty mama
Calgary Ab
May 3, 2009

Good Enough

Magic Express is a simple hotel with few amenities. Quiet, with helpful front end clerk, but it s on the opposite side of the highway from the main area in Playa and not in a neighborhood that l would feel comfortable walking around in. But all in all not bad for a budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El oasis in is restaurant down the highway towards Tulum that serves only seafood, full of locals and very good food and reasonable prices. Check out the sink outside of the bathrooms.

Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
May 2, 2009

Good alternative

Positive experience. Well worth what they charge. Want to enjoy Playa del Carmen without breaking the bank? Stay here and take a taxi to the beach. Beach is 5 mins away by car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
May 2, 2009

Good alternative

Positive experience. Well worth what they charge. Want to enjoy Playa del Carmen without breaking the bank? Stay here and take a taxi to the beach. Beach is 5 mins away by car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Love to Fish
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2009

For the Price Cant be beat Clean

For the money Good Deal not a resort, Greta for business Fishing ect if your only need a place to shower and sleep Good staff, clean Would stay again. Not very far from Beach district a 2 minute taxi ride

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Love to Fish
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2009

For the Price Cant be beat Clean

For the money Good Deal not a resort, Greta for business Fishing ect if your only need a place to shower and sleep Good staff, clean Would stay again. Not very far from Beach district a 2 minute taxi ride

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Apr 22, 2009

Terrible location, pathetic service

We had the phone number reported by ORBITZ. As we could not find it straight away, we called several times, but we never received an answer. When we got to the hotel after one hour driving around town, the reception staff were very unfriendly, I told about the phone number and the fact they never answered to give me directions to the hotel and they told me off and then gave me a brochure with the same phone number as Orbitz. The folowing day I complained and demanded to see the Manager, but I was denied this privilege twice and finally found out that the phone number was indeed wrong. I would not go back to this hotel, even if I got a room for free. The location is terrible, one block from the highway, hidden from view at night and the staff are terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not pay the price for Xel Ha. It is a rip off. Go instead to Tul Ha, just north of Akumal, which costs only 110.00 Mexican pesos and is very similar to Xel Ha. Most fish come out towards dusk.

Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Apr 22, 2009

Terrible location, pathetic service

We had the phone number reported by ORBITZ. As we could not find it straight away, we called several times, but we never received an answer. When we got to the hotel after one hour driving around town, the reception staff were very unfriendly, I told about the phone number and the fact they never answered to give me directions to the hotel and they told me off and then gave me a brochure with the same phone number as Orbitz. The folowing day I complained and demanded to see the Manager, but I was denied this privilege twice and finally found out that the phone number was indeed wrong. I would not go back to this hotel, even if I got a room for free. The location is terrible, one block from the highway, hidden from view at night and the staff are terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not pay the price for Xel Ha. It is a rip off. Go instead to Tul Ha, just north of Akumal, which costs only 110.00 Mexican pesos and is very similar to Xel Ha. Most fish come out towards dusk.

Review of Magic Express Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Okemos
Dec 27, 2008

Very basic rooms

No amenities, poor continental breakfast, postage stamp pool. Staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown is a short cab ride away

Back to menu Return to top