$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

3 stars
View map of 10th Avenida between 10st. and 12st., Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
19 reviews
Awesome Stay!

The staff is so friendly! The bartender at the hotel made the best Margaritas in Playa! The pool is... See full review

  • i Am Kat
  • Mar 3, 2014
Nice for a short trip, good value!

The location of this hotel is great for those who want to stay in playa and explore the town. It is... See full review

  • Liz B.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Romantic property located at the heart of Playa del Carmen.

A romantic ambiance, in a cozy space, contemporary service and a relaxing pool area.

This romantic property offers a Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant and an open air lounge terrace. It also has a beautifully designed pool bar surrounded by lush tropical landscaping.

During the day visit our Beach Club, umbrellas, towel, lounge chairs included and a special discount in food and beverages. At night enjoy the most popular clubs such as Bali, El Cielo, Santanera, Blue Parrot only a few steps from the Hotel.

Escape to true comfort. Discover our contemporary rooms with semi-private entrance & seductive ambiance.

Magic Blue Boutique hotel is located only 2 miles from Xcaret and 39 miles from Tulum, one block from 5th Avenue, the famous street in Playa del Carmen that boasts fashionable bars, lounges, restaurants, discotheques and shops.

FACILITIES AND SERVICES

  • Car rental
  • Laundry service by supplier
  • Money Exchange
  • Medical services available 24 hours a day on call
  • Spa services: Massages: Relaxing & anti-stress, Swedish, sports, reflexology & shiatsu by supplier
  • Transfer to and from the Cancun International Airport.

    Top hotels

    Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge Rooms

    Superior Room
    Superior rooms comprise all but one of the 45 rooms that surround the garden or pool courtyard. Each has a fresh modern interior with deluxe amenities.

    Amenities:
  • One king bed or two queen beds
  • Air conditioning
  • Flat screen 28 inches TV with satellite
  • Cable service
  • Service bar
  • Private bathroom with shower
  • Vanity mirror
  • Coffe and tea maker
  • Iron & ironing board on request
  • Portable fan
  • Wireless internet
  • Hair dryer
  • Digital security safe


  • Exterior terrace only upper levels or patio only lower level, that overlooks the swimming pool and garden courtyard.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Pool
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking

    Dining

    Ipanema's Grill
    Brazilian Rodizio & International buffet Cuisine. Buffet Breakfast from 07:00 am to10:30 am Special discount for our guest Reservation required for lunch and dinner.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    19 out of 19
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Comfort:
    3.9
    Location:
    4.5
    Value:
    4.1

    84% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Mexicat
    Business
    Memphis, TN, USA
    Sep 14, 2011

    Third Stay at This Hotel, but Won't Go Back

    We used to LOVE this hotel, due to the friendly staff and great amenities. HOWEVER, this stay was totally different from anything we had known in the past. We did not have: hot water, a working hairdryer, and a telephone. They did fix the satellite dish, so we did have a TV. The water is not potable, but they did provide an 8 oz. bottle of water for the day. The reception staff that I remember is long gone. The reception clerk and the doorman laughed and talked most of the time. It seemed that it was an imposition to interrupt them. We won't be interrupting them again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Craig, CO
    Jul 29, 2010

    Small hotel- ok stay

    The hotel was ok. It was quiet but the room could have been cleaner. Also there was no hot water. We had to take freezing cold showers.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chicago
    May 14, 2009

    Find another place

    The very LOUD and OBNOXIOUS night club Coco Bongos was right across the street, You are not allowed any visitors! Felt more like a prison than a vacation. Would NEVER go back again. There are so many other quiet spots with less obtrusive employees!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    JJ Friday
    Business
    Maryland
    Sep 10, 2012

    Convenient, little gem!

    This is a great, little retreat right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen - two blocks from the beach and dive shops, one block from the main drag, two blocks from Walmart and surrounded by lots of places to eat. It also included free beach lounge chairs at two beach clubs that also offered a free appetizer. They also have a pretty good, free Mexican style breakfast buffet that beats most free American breakfast buffets any day. The only negative for some might be that it's across the street from Coco Bongo and you can hear the music at night but it's pretty faint. We were there during the low season so I can imagine that the area might be louder during peak times but this probably comes with the territory of any downtown location. If you have a car, parking might be tough during peak times too. We had to park two blocks away which wasn't bad. In all, great deal!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

    If you're a light sleeper, this may not be the place for you because of its proximity to night clubs and popular hang outs especially during the high season.

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    stylishme23
    Business
    Durham, NC
    Apr 14, 2009

    Fabulous Time

    My boyfriend and I loved Magic Blue. It was a great little oasis in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We were a little concerned when we were given a top floor room after reading other reviews about it being loud but we didn't have a problem with it at all. However, if you are a light sleeper you might want to go ahead and ask for a lower level room (the thatched roof while cool is not very sound resistant). Also one tip is always start out the night with a Margarita from the Hotel Bar as they are delicious, strong and cheap! Plus you will get great friendly service ([...] was fantastic!). The beach club is super convenient and the breakfast at the next door restaurant was delicious (don't miss the french toast). This was a great hotel at a great value. We would def come back!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Burleson, TX
    Aug 17, 2009

    Great place to stay.

    This is a great hotel to stay at while in Playa. The rooms are very clean, the staff is very professional and helpful as well. The pool area one of the best we have found. The only down side to the hotel is that it can be noisy at night due to the clubs around it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Texboy
    Business
    Austin, TX
    Apr 22, 2009

    Great Getaway!

    This small, quiet place is an oasis. Just walk out the door and you're in the middle of the action. Don't ask the desk for restaurant suggestions, as they will point you to the tourist traps. Be adventurous and discover your own cool places.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Eat at the small, family-run restaurants. Great food!

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    My Parents
    Business
    New York, New York
    Jan 10, 2011

    Vacation Paradise

    -Sight See -They were very cheap with the Shampoo and Bodywash. - Very good. We enjoyed the peaceful place of Magic Blue. Very Tranquil.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Make sure to try EasyTour. They are excellent and affordable.

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    connecticut
    Jun 9, 2010

    beautiful, relaxing and simple

    located just off the beaten path,it's like stepping into a different world when you enter the hotel. the courtyard was exotic, quiet and gorgeous!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    no need for a rental car lots of beach, shopping and people watching within a few blocks walk.

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    NYC
    May 26, 2009

    Great affordable hotel

    Great location, one block from 5th ave. Local noise didn't bother much, great pool and bar. I'd come back there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Good combination quality/price for dinner in El-Bistro (go out of the reception and take left. It's on 10th ave.

    Back to menu Return to top