$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

3 stars
View map of 10th Avenida between 10st. and 12st., Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My Parents
Business
New York, New York
Jan 10, 2011

Vacation Paradise

-Sight See -They were very cheap with the Shampoo and Bodywash. - Very good. We enjoyed the peaceful place of Magic Blue. Very Tranquil.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to try EasyTour. They are excellent and affordable.

Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
connecticut
Jun 9, 2010

beautiful, relaxing and simple

located just off the beaten path,it's like stepping into a different world when you enter the hotel. the courtyard was exotic, quiet and gorgeous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

no need for a rental car lots of beach, shopping and people watching within a few blocks walk.

Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 26, 2009

Great affordable hotel

Great location, one block from 5th ave. Local noise didn't bother much, great pool and bar. I'd come back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good combination quality/price for dinner in El-Bistro (go out of the reception and take left. It's on 10th ave.

Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Windy Lindy
Business
Lake Jackson, TX
Jan 2, 2010

Playing with Magic

This was a very friendly hotel with beautiful landscaping and clean accommodations. We were always greeted warmly and given great service. The restaurant next door that served breakfast also did a wonderful job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From Cancun, this destination would not require a rental car if one just wanted to relax and enjoy a few excursions.

Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Briankcmo
Business
Missouri
Oct 19, 2014

Mexican Getaway

Overall the hotel was pretty good. It was quiet and relaxing at any given time of the day. Pool was a nice getaway from the beach. Great location close to everything including the beach. For a non-inclusive it was worth the stay and the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Congo Bongo was right across the street.

Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz B.
Business
Chicago
Mar 10, 2015

Nice for a short trip, good value!

The location of this hotel is great for those who want to stay in playa and explore the town. It is centrally located, therefore you can practically walk anywhere. We enjoyed the breakfast that was included with the stay. This was perfect because for lunch and dinner we were able to eat at local restaurants which offered awesome, authentic Mexican food! We rented a car which was also perfect because we easily got around and did excursions on our own. This proved to be economical and again gave us the opportunity to explore other parts of the Riviera Maya. Overall this hotel offers a perfect stay when you go with a plan in mind and stick to an itinerary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Craig, CO
Jul 29, 2010

Small hotel- ok stay

The hotel was ok. It was quiet but the room could have been cleaner. Also there was no hot water. We had to take freezing cold showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 14, 2009

Find another place

The very LOUD and OBNOXIOUS night club Coco Bongos was right across the street, You are not allowed any visitors! Felt more like a prison than a vacation. Would NEVER go back again. There are so many other quiet spots with less obtrusive employees!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexicat
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Third Stay at This Hotel, but Won't Go Back

We used to LOVE this hotel, due to the friendly staff and great amenities. HOWEVER, this stay was totally different from anything we had known in the past. We did not have: hot water, a working hairdryer, and a telephone. They did fix the satellite dish, so we did have a TV. The water is not potable, but they did provide an 8 oz. bottle of water for the day. The reception staff that I remember is long gone. The reception clerk and the doorman laughed and talked most of the time. It seemed that it was an imposition to interrupt them. We won't be interrupting them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top