$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

3 stars
View map of 10th Avenida between 10st. and 12st., Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
19 reviews
Awesome Stay!

The staff is so friendly! The bartender at the hotel made the best Margaritas in Playa! The pool is... See full review

  • i Am Kat
  • Mar 3, 2014
Nice for a short trip, good value!

The location of this hotel is great for those who want to stay in playa and explore the town. It is... See full review

  • Liz B.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Romantic property located at the heart of Playa del Carmen.

A romantic ambiance, in a cozy space, contemporary service and a relaxing pool area.

This romantic property offers a Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant and an open air lounge terrace. It also has a beautifully designed pool bar surrounded by lush tropical landscaping.

During the day visit our Beach Club, umbrellas, towel, lounge chairs included and a special discount in food and beverages. At night enjoy the most popular clubs such as Bali, El Cielo, Santanera, Blue Parrot only a few steps from the Hotel.

Escape to true comfort. Discover our contemporary rooms with semi-private entrance & seductive ambiance.

Magic Blue Boutique hotel is located only 2 miles from Xcaret and 39 miles from Tulum, one block from 5th Avenue, the famous street in Playa del Carmen that boasts fashionable bars, lounges, restaurants, discotheques and shops.

FACILITIES AND SERVICES

  • Car rental
  • Laundry service by supplier
  • Money Exchange
  • Medical services available 24 hours a day on call
  • Spa services: Massages: Relaxing & anti-stress, Swedish, sports, reflexology & shiatsu by supplier
  • Transfer to and from the Cancun International Airport.

    Top hotels

    Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge Rooms

    Superior Room
    Superior rooms comprise all but one of the 45 rooms that surround the garden or pool courtyard. Each has a fresh modern interior with deluxe amenities.

    Amenities:
  • One king bed or two queen beds
  • Air conditioning
  • Flat screen 28 inches TV with satellite
  • Cable service
  • Service bar
  • Private bathroom with shower
  • Vanity mirror
  • Coffe and tea maker
  • Iron & ironing board on request
  • Portable fan
  • Wireless internet
  • Hair dryer
  • Digital security safe


  • Exterior terrace only upper levels or patio only lower level, that overlooks the swimming pool and garden courtyard.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Pool
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking

    Dining

    Ipanema's Grill
    Brazilian Rodizio & International buffet Cuisine. Buffet Breakfast from 07:00 am to10:30 am Special discount for our guest Reservation required for lunch and dinner.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    19 out of 19
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Comfort:
    3.9
    Location:
    4.5
    Value:
    4.1

    84% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Liz B.
    Business
    Chicago
    Mar 10, 2015

    Nice for a short trip, good value!

    The location of this hotel is great for those who want to stay in playa and explore the town. It is centrally located, therefore you can practically walk anywhere. We enjoyed the breakfast that was included with the stay. This was perfect because for lunch and dinner we were able to eat at local restaurants which offered awesome, authentic Mexican food! We rented a car which was also perfect because we easily got around and did excursions on our own. This proved to be economical and again gave us the opportunity to explore other parts of the Riviera Maya. Overall this hotel offers a perfect stay when you go with a plan in mind and stick to an itinerary.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Briankcmo
    Business
    Missouri
    Oct 19, 2014

    Mexican Getaway

    Overall the hotel was pretty good. It was quiet and relaxing at any given time of the day. Pool was a nice getaway from the beach. Great location close to everything including the beach. For a non-inclusive it was worth the stay and the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Congo Bongo was right across the street.

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    i Am Kat
    Business
    New York, New York
    Mar 3, 2014

    Awesome Stay!

    The staff is so friendly! The bartender at the hotel made the best Margaritas in Playa! The pool is so clean and nice. We have stayed at Playa before but by far the best hotel we have stood at so far :-) would recommend and go back again! Everything was perfect from the rooms to the service.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    If you are going to the Tulum Ruins you should use ADO transportation for like 16 dollars round trip. Do not buy the tickets from outside vendors this can run you up to 235 dollars. You can even get a tour guide over there for an extra couple of dollars. But its cheaper to go to the bus station and buy the fare and go on your own.

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    JJ Friday
    Business
    Maryland
    Sep 10, 2012

    Convenient, little gem!

    This is a great, little retreat right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen - two blocks from the beach and dive shops, one block from the main drag, two blocks from Walmart and surrounded by lots of places to eat. It also included free beach lounge chairs at two beach clubs that also offered a free appetizer. They also have a pretty good, free Mexican style breakfast buffet that beats most free American breakfast buffets any day. The only negative for some might be that it's across the street from Coco Bongo and you can hear the music at night but it's pretty faint. We were there during the low season so I can imagine that the area might be louder during peak times but this probably comes with the territory of any downtown location. If you have a car, parking might be tough during peak times too. We had to park two blocks away which wasn't bad. In all, great deal!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

    If you're a light sleeper, this may not be the place for you because of its proximity to night clubs and popular hang outs especially during the high season.

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Mexicat
    Business
    Memphis, TN, USA
    Sep 14, 2011

    Third Stay at This Hotel, but Won't Go Back

    We used to LOVE this hotel, due to the friendly staff and great amenities. HOWEVER, this stay was totally different from anything we had known in the past. We did not have: hot water, a working hairdryer, and a telephone. They did fix the satellite dish, so we did have a TV. The water is not potable, but they did provide an 8 oz. bottle of water for the day. The reception staff that I remember is long gone. The reception clerk and the doorman laughed and talked most of the time. It seemed that it was an imposition to interrupt them. We won't be interrupting them again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    My Parents
    Business
    New York, New York
    Jan 10, 2011

    Vacation Paradise

    -Sight See -They were very cheap with the Shampoo and Bodywash. - Very good. We enjoyed the peaceful place of Magic Blue. Very Tranquil.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Make sure to try EasyTour. They are excellent and affordable.

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Craig, CO
    Jul 29, 2010

    Small hotel- ok stay

    The hotel was ok. It was quiet but the room could have been cleaner. Also there was no hot water. We had to take freezing cold showers.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    connecticut
    Jun 9, 2010

    beautiful, relaxing and simple

    located just off the beaten path,it's like stepping into a different world when you enter the hotel. the courtyard was exotic, quiet and gorgeous!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    no need for a rental car lots of beach, shopping and people watching within a few blocks walk.

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Durango, CO
    Apr 18, 2010

    Excellent Hotel

    Hotel was very quiet, clean, and an oasis. Every time we walked into the courtyard, we were amazed how quiet and peaceful it was. At least 1/2 the street noise if not 1/4. And the grounds are absolutely perfectly kept.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Magic Blue Hotel and Lounge

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Windy Lindy
    Business
    Lake Jackson, TX
    Jan 2, 2010

    Playing with Magic

    This was a very friendly hotel with beautiful landscaping and clean accommodations. We were always greeted warmly and given great service. The restaurant next door that served breakfast also did a wonderful job.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    From Cancun, this destination would not require a rental car if one just wanted to relax and enjoy a few excursions.

    Back to menu Return to top