$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
51 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

Hotel Map

20.637 -87.066
Area served
Playa Del Carmen.
Nearby airports
International Airport:CANCUN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT -65 Kms, 45 MIN Domestic Airport:PLAYA DEL CARMEN -1 KM
Area description
La Tortuga, Hotel & Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, the perfect place to set up base for your visit to the Riviera Maya. 45 minutes from Cancun Intl. Airport. Two blocks from the most beautiful stretch of white sandy beach, just around the corner from the famous 5th Avenue with its myriad of cafes, restaurants and colorful Mexican handicrafts. The open design is a reflection of the warm Caribbean weather, with attention to details, the hotel has created a charming personal ambiance, which makes you feel comfortable and relaxed, yet refined.

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Coronaplease
USA
May 8, 2012

Very Disappointed

This hotel is way overpriced for the quality that is delivered. The rooms smell musty, the sheets and towels are old and have stains. They give you exactly one towel per person and one hand towel. Also no shower gel, only bars of soap and they never replenish shampoo or conditioner unless you ask. Very loud noise coming from club next door and hotel management was not accommodating, as the other reviews will lead you to believe- management and staff will totally ignore you once you've paid. Finally there is absolutely no one at the front dest past 11pm which is pretty concerning- not even anyone to answer the phone if you have a problem!! Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Oct 14, 2008

Great romantic hotel for couples

LaTortuga is overall a great hotel. The only drawback was that the room was very small. The hotel manger told us that we had a queen-sized bed in our standard room, but to me it was more the size of a double. I am used to a king at home so this was an adjustment. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Small, cramped, and the shower was inadequate (very weak water pressure and shower head sprayed water kind of everywhere). The hotel grounds are amazing, the free breakfast every morning was delicous, and the hotel staff were top notch. So this made up for the few inconveniences we had with the room. My fiance and I are going back next year but this time we will stay in the honeymoon suite. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, convenient to all the shops and dining in Playa.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YYLM
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Good hotel, but be careful for the room description

I think this is the issue of both of website and the hotel. I picked Standard plan which description was '2 twin beds, 2 queens beds, or one king bed'. It looks I can choose 2 beds, however, I was told 2 beds room needs more $20/night. Additionally, this room had no balcony. I think this kind of hotel should have a balcony (and, again, I was told 2 beds room had a balcony), otherwise, it should be mentioned. If I knew no 2 beds room and no balcony, I would not pick this hotel. The hotel itself was not bad at all. It's located center of the tourist area and staff was all friendly. The restaurant, Le Bistro was much much better than the restaurants along 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Isalnd, NY
Mar 9, 2009

Best in Playa

Great restaraunts, boutiques, cafes & shopping right around the corner. Beaches are beautiful, although they aren't right in back of the hotels. Just get to them early so you can get chairs & umbrellas otherwise the heat will become uncomfortable. This was an amazing trip for just myself and my girlfriend, but we both felt that going with another couple or 2 would have been really fun as well..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to Tulum and see some of the ancient ruins, quiet beaches, and awesome cenotes.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katrina paul
birmingham UK
Oct 11, 2012

great stay

Very friendly staff and whilst its not beach front, excellent location and close to beach and other local amenities. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed California
Huntington Beach
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable experience

I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco, ca
Nov 27, 2010

nice botique

hotel was nice, staff is friendly. rooms are clean. ac is cold. only complaint is the hot tub was barely luke warm and the pool is pretty chilly and in the shade pretty much all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie & Bob
Colorado Springs, CO
Dec 12, 2010

7 Day Escape to Playa Del Carmen

La Tortuga was a lovely hotel sort of hidden on the streets of Playa del Carmen. The hotel was beautiful and centers around a pool and lush tropical garden area. Our room was not large, but suited us fine since we were out almost every day. Service was very attentive. The hotel was always clean inside and out. The hotel's restaurant located on site, "El Bistro", was great - probably one of the best restaurants in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely spend at least one day at Xel-Ha. It is about a 30 mile drive south of Playa del Carmen - but it is well worth it!

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Mom of 2
Denver, CO
Mar 3, 2010

Gem in the heart of town

Lovely setting. Junior suite was luxurious, with rooftop jacuzzi. We were able to easily access all the nightlife and dining from our location. Relaxing came easily. Easy to venture out on tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try skipping the whole ferry to Cozumel experience (intensely touristy). We had a great solo snorkeling experience in Puerta Morales. Hotel staff helped us rent a car for a short drive to this picturesque fishing village to the north, where the reef snorkeling was uncrowded and fantastic!

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicpilou
Morristown, NJ, USA
Mar 24, 2012

gem of a place for Playa del Carmen

We are 2 adults in our 60th and the beauty and calm of the hotel was just what we needed for our week vacation in Playa. The upgraded room with balcony was fine for us, good king size bed, flat screen TV that we barely watched, very good restaurant for food and service, staff was really nice and the experience was a daily enjoyment. every room gets a safe for valuable, the maid decorated our bed with Towels's arrangment every evening, and we fell at home with the computer for all at the Bar and the sitting arrangement all around the pool. We loved our massage too, charming staff and Spa. The location is great, one block from Avenida 5, where all the action was, but far enough to remain quiet for us on the side of the hotel we were at (room 309) and the walk to the beach club was enjoyable looking at stores and vendors. Las Mamitas Beach Cllub was too noisy for us with loud music and lots of teen agers, we enjoyed the beach club next to hotel Mosquito Beach, way more civilized, large comfortable beach beds, brazilian soft jazz music and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

have dinner at the tiny but nevertheless so ldelicious new restaurant in town calle OHLALA! we went twice it was so good! way above what you get in any other place in Playa

Back to menu Return to top

Change search