$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
86 reviews
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
La Tortuga was exactly what I was looking for!

We went to Playa Del Carmen to spend 8 days celebrating my birthday the week of March18.... See full review

  • Uniqny
  • Mar 28, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

Hotel Map

20.637 -87.066
Area served
Playa Del Carmen.
Nearby airports
International Airport:CANCUN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT -65 Kms, 45 MIN Domestic Airport:PLAYA DEL CARMEN -1 KM
Area description
La Tortuga, Hotel & Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, the perfect place to set up base for your visit to the Riviera Maya. 45 minutes from Cancun Intl. Airport. Two blocks from the most beautiful stretch of white sandy beach, just around the corner from the famous 5th Avenue with its myriad of cafes, restaurants and colorful Mexican handicrafts. The open design is a reflection of the warm Caribbean weather, with attention to details, the hotel has created a charming personal ambiance, which makes you feel comfortable and relaxed, yet refined.

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.7

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Coronaplease
USA
May 8, 2012

Very Disappointed

This hotel is way overpriced for the quality that is delivered. The rooms smell musty, the sheets and towels are old and have stains. They give you exactly one towel per person and one hand towel. Also no shower gel, only bars of soap and they never replenish shampoo or conditioner unless you ask. Very loud noise coming from club next door and hotel management was not accommodating, as the other reviews will lead you to believe- management and staff will totally ignore you once you've paid. Finally there is absolutely no one at the front dest past 11pm which is pretty concerning- not even anyone to answer the phone if you have a problem!! Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Oct 14, 2008

Great romantic hotel for couples

LaTortuga is overall a great hotel. The only drawback was that the room was very small. The hotel manger told us that we had a queen-sized bed in our standard room, but to me it was more the size of a double. I am used to a king at home so this was an adjustment. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Small, cramped, and the shower was inadequate (very weak water pressure and shower head sprayed water kind of everywhere). The hotel grounds are amazing, the free breakfast every morning was delicous, and the hotel staff were top notch. So this made up for the few inconveniences we had with the room. My fiance and I are going back next year but this time we will stay in the honeymoon suite. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, convenient to all the shops and dining in Playa.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Oct 14, 2008

Great romantic hotel for couples

LaTortuga is overall a great hotel. The only drawback was that the room was very small. The hotel manger told us that we had a queen-sized bed in our standard room, but to me it was more the size of a double. I am used to a king at home so this was an adjustment. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Small, cramped, and the shower was inadequate (very weak water pressure and shower head sprayed water kind of everywhere). The hotel grounds are amazing, the free breakfast every morning was delicous, and the hotel staff were top notch. So this made up for the few inconveniences we had with the room. My fiance and I are going back next year but this time we will stay in the honeymoon suite. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, convenient to all the shops and dining in Playa.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YYLM
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Good hotel, but be careful for the room description

I think this is the issue of both of website and the hotel. I picked Standard plan which description was '2 twin beds, 2 queens beds, or one king bed'. It looks I can choose 2 beds, however, I was told 2 beds room needs more $20/night. Additionally, this room had no balcony. I think this kind of hotel should have a balcony (and, again, I was told 2 beds room had a balcony), otherwise, it should be mentioned. If I knew no 2 beds room and no balcony, I would not pick this hotel. The hotel itself was not bad at all. It's located center of the tourist area and staff was all friendly. The restaurant, Le Bistro was much much better than the restaurants along 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summers off
Ohio
Jul 14, 2010

Beautiful hotel with convenient location

About us: We are quiet people. We didn't come for the party. We ate good food, took tours of the area and appreciated the ruins and the beach. This was our first time traveling to Mexico, but we are experienced travelers.Our experience: We took a Hertz van from the airport to La Tortuga because we couldn't find the buses. Take the ADO bus from the airport to Playa Del Carmen. Ask where to pick it up and buy tickets. We didn't know the name of the bus company and didn't know what to ask for.Upon arrival we were welcomed with a drink while we checked in! This was a great way to begin our trip after waiting in a long immigration/customs line.The grounds were very well maintained and even though we were near a busy street (10th Ave) the courtyard with the bar, pool and restaurant were very quiet. Every night was very quiet and peaceful, except Saturday. I'm a light sleeper and couldn't hear the bass from nearby Coco Bongo, but my husband said he occationally he heard it. It was nothing that kept us up by any means. On Saturday night of our stay there were some noisy (read: drunk) guests who came back from the clubs waiting for the hotel's breakfast to start at about 5am (they start breakfast at 7am). We had to get up early anyway for a tour so we didn't complian. I'm not sure that management or hotel staff did anything to curb the noise (If any staff was there at that hour, I don't know.)Speaking of breakfast...it's free and awesome! A hot meal of your choice served to you at your table over looking the beautiful courtyard or the street (10th Ave), depending on where you choose to sit.The room we were in (room 33) was excessively small. If you can afford it (we are always on a tight budget so we didn't), upgrade to a bigger room with a balcony. It seems worth it, if you can afford it. Room 33 and 34 are small like this and there might be more of them. There was about 2 feet around the bed and a very small bathroom. That being said the room was well decorated and clean.Bartender [...] and our usual breakfast waiter [...] were both awesome. They were so friendly and always asked how we were doing and what we were up to. It was great to see their smiling faces every day. Negative: On our first night there, a hotel staff member walked into the room unannounced when we were not dressed. We had the door locked, but did not have the red privacy card on the door handle. He was appologetic, but I was very careful to put the red privacy card up at all times after that and it didn't happen again. I didn't complain to management. He seemed like he might have been there for a turn down service and he seemed sorry. I didn't want him to get in trouble.The front desk personel seemed to recommend the most expensive way to do tours. They didn't want to recommend the colectivos even though they are very cheap and reliable. The guide book and walking around looking for tour deals seemed more helpful. RECOMMENDATION: THE SNORKEL SHOP gives the most amazing cenote and ocean snorkeling tour. It's a little more expensive, but absolutely amazing. [...], the only guide and owner, is amazing. He knows everything and is a wonderful educator. He also takes pictures so you don't have to. You will get a CD full of them. I can't say enough about how great the experience was.See "helpful hints" for more info on tours we took.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We did the typical trips for the area: Tulum: take the "colectivos" (like an urban bus service, but no schedules and a van is used) the front desk will tell you where they pick up for Tulum. The ruins are a little small, but still worthwhile. The beach is AMAZING there, but small and a little crowded when we went. Chichen Itza: we took one of the "Hey, Amigo we have a great price for you..." trips offered on 5th Ave. It was cheap, but in hindsight I wished we took the ADO bus on Juarez (1st St.) and 5th Ave. It would have been a bit more expensive, but more efficient. The tour company "XE tours" was not organized, late and the air conditioning in the van rarely produced cold air. It was over 95 degrees that day. We took an ADO bus back to the airport and it was great. Do Chichen Itza on your own and take the ADO bus. You'll enjoy the experience more.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Isalnd, NY
Mar 9, 2009

Best in Playa

Great restaraunts, boutiques, cafes & shopping right around the corner. Beaches are beautiful, although they aren't right in back of the hotels. Just get to them early so you can get chairs & umbrellas otherwise the heat will become uncomfortable. This was an amazing trip for just myself and my girlfriend, but we both felt that going with another couple or 2 would have been really fun as well..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to Tulum and see some of the ancient ruins, quiet beaches, and awesome cenotes.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Mom of 2
Denver, CO
Mar 3, 2010

Gem in the heart of town

Lovely setting. Junior suite was luxurious, with rooftop jacuzzi. We were able to easily access all the nightlife and dining from our location. Relaxing came easily. Easy to venture out on tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try skipping the whole ferry to Cozumel experience (intensely touristy). We had a great solo snorkeling experience in Puerta Morales. Hotel staff helped us rent a car for a short drive to this picturesque fishing village to the north, where the reef snorkeling was uncrowded and fantastic!

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChiYFG
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2009

La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Review

It was great! We are a gay couple and the entire staff treated us like any other couple enjoying the hotel and area in general. The hotel was perfect for us--everyone was very accomodating and gracious. La Tortuga has top knotch staff who are friendly and very knowledgable--ESPECIALLY THE RECEPTION/CHECK-IN AREA. They gave us incredible suggestions that we took advantage of. We will stay there everytime we go to Playa del Carmen!! Our standard plus room was on the small side, but we weren't looking for a big room in the first place. We only used it to freshen up and sleep. Being in Playa, the last thing you want to do is be in your hotel room anyway. Oh, and our cozy private balcony looking onto the hotel pool was so so so nice. ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure to take advantage of the included breakfast. Some of the best food we've had! And don't think they simply offer bagels, muffins, juice, and coffee...I'm talking about a full service, hot food, sit-down experience! Good stuff!

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katrina paul
birmingham UK
Oct 11, 2012

great stay

Very friendly staff and whilst its not beach front, excellent location and close to beach and other local amenities. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Dec 7, 2009

Beautiful!

Great relaxing vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top