La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
86 reviews
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
La Tortuga was exactly what I was looking for!

We went to Playa Del Carmen to spend 8 days celebrating my birthday the week of March18.... See full review

  • Uniqny
  • Mar 28, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

Hotel Map

20.637 -87.066
Area served
Playa Del Carmen.
Nearby airports
International Airport:CANCUN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT -65 Kms, 45 MIN Domestic Airport:PLAYA DEL CARMEN -1 KM
Area description
La Tortuga, Hotel & Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, the perfect place to set up base for your visit to the Riviera Maya. 45 minutes from Cancun Intl. Airport. Two blocks from the most beautiful stretch of white sandy beach, just around the corner from the famous 5th Avenue with its myriad of cafes, restaurants and colorful Mexican handicrafts. The open design is a reflection of the warm Caribbean weather, with attention to details, the hotel has created a charming personal ambiance, which makes you feel comfortable and relaxed, yet refined.

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 86
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayan Culture Lovers
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 16, 2010

Mayan Adventures

Breakfast choices were plentiful and all delicious. Our waiter [...] was friendly and gave us great service and was informative on places to visit and eat. The bartender [...] made excellent drinks especially the mojitos and the tamarindo margarita and was very friendly. The pool was to die for and a great place to hang out at the end of very adventurous and hot days of shopping and AWESOME sightseeing of Mayan ruins. GREAT hotel wonderful location and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Oasis restaurant had excellent mariscos.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom L
Denver, CO
Dec 14, 2009

Great Place, Great People

I normally just want nice people to answer my questions at a hotel and not demand excellence in service. La Tortuga was exceptional in the service department and it made a big difference in our vacation. The hotel is an oasis in the heart of town, walking distance to everything. The courtyard made you think you were nowhere near civilization. One of the best values I have ever had in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It seems like a cheesy nightclub for the 20's crowd but we (in our 40's) had an absolute blast at Coco Bongo. The shows and other guests were a treat. KISS, Madonna, U2 all performed (OK, not the real ones) but the fun was non-stop.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super happy in da bridge..!!
Milan ( Italy )
Sep 13, 2013

Nice stay

The hotel is quite ok... The pool will be nice but in my opinion the water was too cold... The sea near the hotel is quite bad... You need to walk on the otherside of the port to find a nice sea... ( like 15/20 minutes walking ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler jess
new york city, ny
Jul 26, 2010

unbelievable find

[...] what i finally decided on - to upgrade and pay the difference for a swim up(standard plus) room. it was a great decision and i really enjoyed it. unfortunately, on the 2nd night our AC broke, so we let the front desk know about it the following morning. they said they would fix it, but even after we came back at night, it wasn't done beecause the repair man wasn't in. instead, they let us have another room whose AC did work to sleep in. that room was gorgeous and i felt the staff did everything they could to make my entire stay nothing short than amazing! Get the breakfast included in your package deal and you won't regret it! this vacation was among the best i've ever had and i am definitely a frequent traveler!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the collectivo bus everywhere, if possible... we went to tulum and then xel-ha and xcaret another day on it. very convenient! a cenote near chichen itza was the coolest place i've ever swam!

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler jess
new york city, ny
Jul 26, 2010

unbelievable find

[...] what i finally decided on - to upgrade and pay the difference for a swim up(standard plus) room. it was a great decision and i really enjoyed it. unfortunately, on the 2nd night our AC broke, so we let the front desk know about it the following morning. they said they would fix it, but even after we came back at night, it wasn't done beecause the repair man wasn't in. instead, they let us have another room whose AC did work to sleep in. that room was gorgeous and i felt the staff did everything they could to make my entire stay nothing short than amazing! Get the breakfast included in your package deal and you won't regret it! this vacation was among the best i've ever had and i am definitely a frequent traveler!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the collectivo bus everywhere, if possible... we went to tulum and then xel-ha and xcaret another day on it. very convenient! a cenote near chichen itza was the coolest place i've ever swam!

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Dec 2, 2009

Ray's 50th Birthday Surprise Holiday

The hotel staff is super friendly and nice. The location is perfect for walking around Playa. The mornings were alittle noisy due the staff cleaning and preparing for the day. Our group enjoyed the daily breakfasts at the Bistro. Better than expected service and selection - not a buffet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surprisingly, the Italian resturants in town were excellent! Every encounter at a local restaurant was wonderful!

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Dec 2, 2009

Ray's 50th Birthday Surprise Holiday

The hotel staff is super friendly and nice. The location is perfect for walking around Playa. The mornings were alittle noisy due the staff cleaning and preparing for the day. Our group enjoyed the daily breakfasts at the Bistro. Better than expected service and selection - not a buffet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surprisingly, the Italian resturants in town were excellent! Every encounter at a local restaurant was wonderful!

Back to menu Return to top