$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
57 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Rooms
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Property features

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Highlights
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010

Top hotels

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers:

  • One King bed
  • Air conditioning
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Color TV
  • Ensuite/Private bathroom
  • Private jacuzzi
  • Bathrobes and slippers
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Balcony
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Standard
    The room offers:

  • 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed
  • Air conditioning
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Color TV
  • Ensuite/Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Standard Plus
    The room offers:

  • 1 King or 2 Queen
  • Air conditioning
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Color TV
  • Ensuite/Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Junior Suite
    The room offers:

  • 1 King or 2 Queen
  • Air conditioning
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Color TV
  • Ensuite/Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking

    Dining

    EL BISTRO
    Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Overall score

    4.6 / 5
    5.01.0
    7 out of 57
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Cleanliness:
    4.9
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4.7
    Location:
    4.9
    Value:
    5

    100% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Tom L
    Business
    Denver, CO
    Dec 14, 2009

    Great Place, Great People

    I normally just want nice people to answer my questions at a hotel and not demand excellence in service. La Tortuga was exceptional in the service department and it made a big difference in our vacation. The hotel is an oasis in the heart of town, walking distance to everything. The courtyard made you think you were nowhere near civilization. One of the best values I have ever had in a hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    It seems like a cheesy nightclub for the 20's crowd but we (in our 40's) had an absolute blast at Coco Bongo. The shows and other guests were a treat. KISS, Madonna, U2 all performed (OK, not the real ones) but the fun was non-stop.

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Mayan Culture Lovers
    Business
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Jul 16, 2010

    Mayan Adventures

    Breakfast choices were plentiful and all delicious. Our waiter [...] was friendly and gave us great service and was informative on places to visit and eat. The bartender [...] made excellent drinks especially the mojitos and the tamarindo margarita and was very friendly. The pool was to die for and a great place to hang out at the end of very adventurous and hot days of shopping and AWESOME sightseeing of Mayan ruins. GREAT hotel wonderful location and we would definitely stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    The Oasis restaurant had excellent mariscos.

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Tom L
    Business
    Denver, CO
    Dec 14, 2009

    Great Place, Great People

    I normally just want nice people to answer my questions at a hotel and not demand excellence in service. La Tortuga was exceptional in the service department and it made a big difference in our vacation. The hotel is an oasis in the heart of town, walking distance to everything. The courtyard made you think you were nowhere near civilization. One of the best values I have ever had in a hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    It seems like a cheesy nightclub for the 20's crowd but we (in our 40's) had an absolute blast at Coco Bongo. The shows and other guests were a treat. KISS, Madonna, U2 all performed (OK, not the real ones) but the fun was non-stop.

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Mayan Culture Lovers
    Business
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Jul 16, 2010

    Mayan Adventures

    Breakfast choices were plentiful and all delicious. Our waiter [...] was friendly and gave us great service and was informative on places to visit and eat. The bartender [...] made excellent drinks especially the mojitos and the tamarindo margarita and was very friendly. The pool was to die for and a great place to hang out at the end of very adventurous and hot days of shopping and AWESOME sightseeing of Mayan ruins. GREAT hotel wonderful location and we would definitely stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    The Oasis restaurant had excellent mariscos.

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    super happy in da bridge..!!
    Business
    Milan ( Italy )
    Sep 13, 2013

    Nice stay

    The hotel is quite ok... The pool will be nice but in my opinion the water was too cold... The sea near the hotel is quite bad... You need to walk on the otherside of the port to find a nice sea... ( like 15/20 minutes walking ).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    traveler jess
    Business
    new york city, ny
    Jul 26, 2010

    unbelievable find

    [...] what i finally decided on - to upgrade and pay the difference for a swim up(standard plus) room. it was a great decision and i really enjoyed it. unfortunately, on the 2nd night our AC broke, so we let the front desk know about it the following morning. they said they would fix it, but even after we came back at night, it wasn't done beecause the repair man wasn't in. instead, they let us have another room whose AC did work to sleep in. that room was gorgeous and i felt the staff did everything they could to make my entire stay nothing short than amazing! Get the breakfast included in your package deal and you won't regret it! this vacation was among the best i've ever had and i am definitely a frequent traveler!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    take the collectivo bus everywhere, if possible... we went to tulum and then xel-ha and xcaret another day on it. very convenient! a cenote near chichen itza was the coolest place i've ever swam!

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
    Dec 2, 2009

    Ray's 50th Birthday Surprise Holiday

    The hotel staff is super friendly and nice. The location is perfect for walking around Playa. The mornings were alittle noisy due the staff cleaning and preparing for the day. Our group enjoyed the daily breakfasts at the Bistro. Better than expected service and selection - not a buffet!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Surprisingly, the Italian resturants in town were excellent! Every encounter at a local restaurant was wonderful!

    Back to menu Return to top