$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
86 reviews
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
La Tortuga was exactly what I was looking for!

We went to Playa Del Carmen to spend 8 days celebrating my birthday the week of March18.... See full review

  • Uniqny
  • Mar 28, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Map

20.637 -87.066
Area served
Playa Del Carmen.
Nearby airports
International Airport:CANCUN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT -65 Kms, 45 MIN Domestic Airport:PLAYA DEL CARMEN -1 KM
Area description
La Tortuga, Hotel & Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, the perfect place to set up base for your visit to the Riviera Maya. 45 minutes from Cancun Intl. Airport. Two blocks from the most beautiful stretch of white sandy beach, just around the corner from the famous 5th Avenue with its myriad of cafes, restaurants and colorful Mexican handicrafts. The open design is a reflection of the warm Caribbean weather, with attention to details, the hotel has created a charming personal ambiance, which makes you feel comfortable and relaxed, yet refined.

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 86
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2011

Very satisfied

Wonderful experience. Hotel was excellent with friendly, helpful staff. Decorated my daughter's room with balloons, flowers and birthday messages on her birthday. Staff were always happy and smiling. Would definitely recommend. Couple of blocks away from beach - easy access to beach and lots of shopping and restaurants closeby. Very convenient. Hotel arranged great R.T. transportation from Cancun airport to the hotel. Restaurant served great food - super breakfast served up until noon. We would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Origenes - went to this restaurant three times - great food and our favorite was the grilled shrimp with mango sauce. Just ask for Marco there and you can take your own bottle of wine to drink with your meal.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2011

Very satisfied

Wonderful experience. Hotel was excellent with friendly, helpful staff. Decorated my daughter's room with balloons, flowers and birthday messages on her birthday. Staff were always happy and smiling. Would definitely recommend. Couple of blocks away from beach - easy access to beach and lots of shopping and restaurants closeby. Very convenient. Hotel arranged great R.T. transportation from Cancun airport to the hotel. Restaurant served great food - super breakfast served up until noon. We would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Origenes - went to this restaurant three times - great food and our favorite was the grilled shrimp with mango sauce. Just ask for Marco there and you can take your own bottle of wine to drink with your meal.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed California
Huntington Beach
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable experience

I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Oct 14, 2008

Great romantic hotel for couples

LaTortuga is overall a great hotel. The only drawback was that the room was very small. The hotel manger told us that we had a queen-sized bed in our standard room, but to me it was more the size of a double. I am used to a king at home so this was an adjustment. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Small, cramped, and the shower was inadequate (very weak water pressure and shower head sprayed water kind of everywhere). The hotel grounds are amazing, the free breakfast every morning was delicous, and the hotel staff were top notch. So this made up for the few inconveniences we had with the room. My fiance and I are going back next year but this time we will stay in the honeymoon suite. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, convenient to all the shops and dining in Playa.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas
Oct 14, 2008

Great romantic hotel for couples

LaTortuga is overall a great hotel. The only drawback was that the room was very small. The hotel manger told us that we had a queen-sized bed in our standard room, but to me it was more the size of a double. I am used to a king at home so this was an adjustment. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Small, cramped, and the shower was inadequate (very weak water pressure and shower head sprayed water kind of everywhere). The hotel grounds are amazing, the free breakfast every morning was delicous, and the hotel staff were top notch. So this made up for the few inconveniences we had with the room. My fiance and I are going back next year but this time we will stay in the honeymoon suite. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, convenient to all the shops and dining in Playa.

Back to menu Return to top