$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Dec 2, 2009

Ray's 50th Birthday Surprise Holiday

The hotel staff is super friendly and nice. The location is perfect for walking around Playa. The mornings were alittle noisy due the staff cleaning and preparing for the day. Our group enjoyed the daily breakfasts at the Bistro. Better than expected service and selection - not a buffet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surprisingly, the Italian resturants in town were excellent! Every encounter at a local restaurant was wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 26, 2010

Very relaxing hotel & for a great price

This was a very good hotel especially for the price we paid. Prior to booking this hotel, we did a bunch of research on the hotels available in this area; after reading rave opinions regarding it, we decided to choose this one and we did not regret it. Due to the smaller size of the hotel, the staff (bar tenders / receptionist) recognize you and offer a more personal environment. The staff was very friendly and helpful whenever we had questions about tours or directions. Our room was kept in very good shape, was clean and comfortable. The inclusive breakfast every morning was very good as well! It was not your basic continental breakfast, it was at the adjacent restaurant with a full menu! The hotel was very accessible. It is located one block (literally) behind the action of "la Quinta" (where all the shops and restaurants are.) Because you are near the clubs, you may hear the bass from the nightclubs. It was definitely not overwhelming at all. I barely heard it when I was awake; I am not a very light sleeper so I did not hear it when I was asleep but if you are a very light sleeper you may or may not hear it. The hotel was around 3 blocks to the beautiful beach. It was not a problem walking to it at all. The one downside if I would have to say would be that it did not have a great pool or a fitness center. But unless those are on your top priority list, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want real Mexican food, try not to eat on 5th Avenue. Go on tripadvisors.com and look for restaurants that perhaps the locals go to such as "el Fogon" (our personal favorite). Food would be much better and at a better value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Nov 27, 2010

nice botique

hotel was nice, staff is friendly. rooms are clean. ac is cold. only complaint is the hot tub was barely luke warm and the pool is pretty chilly and in the shade pretty much all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie & Bob
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Dec 12, 2010

7 Day Escape to Playa Del Carmen

La Tortuga was a lovely hotel sort of hidden on the streets of Playa del Carmen. The hotel was beautiful and centers around a pool and lush tropical garden area. Our room was not large, but suited us fine since we were out almost every day. Service was very attentive. The hotel was always clean inside and out. The hotel's restaurant located on site, "El Bistro", was great - probably one of the best restaurants in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely spend at least one day at Xel-Ha. It is about a 30 mile drive south of Playa del Carmen - but it is well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jan 30, 2011

We had a nice stay

Great location and a fair price. Clean and well taken care of with friendly staff. Restaurant breakfast was included and very nice. Only down was noise from 10th avenue - suggest you get a room that isn't on 10th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block from 5th avenue with lots of shops and restuarants close by. short walk to beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler jess
Business
new york city, ny
Jul 26, 2010

unbelievable find

[...] what i finally decided on - to upgrade and pay the difference for a swim up(standard plus) room. it was a great decision and i really enjoyed it. unfortunately, on the 2nd night our AC broke, so we let the front desk know about it the following morning. they said they would fix it, but even after we came back at night, it wasn't done beecause the repair man wasn't in. instead, they let us have another room whose AC did work to sleep in. that room was gorgeous and i felt the staff did everything they could to make my entire stay nothing short than amazing! Get the breakfast included in your package deal and you won't regret it! this vacation was among the best i've ever had and i am definitely a frequent traveler!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the collectivo bus everywhere, if possible... we went to tulum and then xel-ha and xcaret another day on it. very convenient! a cenote near chichen itza was the coolest place i've ever swam!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Dec 7, 2009

Beautiful!

Great relaxing vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Isalnd, NY
Mar 9, 2009

Best in Playa

Great restaraunts, boutiques, cafes & shopping right around the corner. Beaches are beautiful, although they aren't right in back of the hotels. Just get to them early so you can get chairs & umbrellas otherwise the heat will become uncomfortable. This was an amazing trip for just myself and my girlfriend, but we both felt that going with another couple or 2 would have been really fun as well..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to Tulum and see some of the ancient ruins, quiet beaches, and awesome cenotes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nanny granny
Business
Yorkshire England
Nov 30, 2014

great 1st visit to mexico

this small friendly hotel is in a quiet location yet only 5 mins walk from 5th avenue and the beach, it was clean comfortable and had great friendly staff who did everything possible to ensure you enjoyed your stay it was great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brazilian steak house short walk across the road from hotel is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YYLM
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Good hotel, but be careful for the room description

I think this is the issue of both of website and the hotel. I picked Standard plan which description was '2 twin beds, 2 queens beds, or one king bed'. It looks I can choose 2 beds, however, I was told 2 beds room needs more $20/night. Additionally, this room had no balcony. I think this kind of hotel should have a balcony (and, again, I was told 2 beds room had a balcony), otherwise, it should be mentioned. If I knew no 2 beds room and no balcony, I would not pick this hotel. The hotel itself was not bad at all. It's located center of the tourist area and staff was all friendly. The restaurant, Le Bistro was much much better than the restaurants along 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top