$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed California
Business
Huntington Beach
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable experience

I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken N
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Very Good Stay

This is a very comfortable hotel with a welcoming staff in an outstanding location. Beautiful and quiet courtyard/pool area, reading area, sun deck, nice restuarant and friendly bar, One b;ock from all the happenings of 5th Avenue. Not fancy, just about perfect for the wife and me. Our only complaint was that the room could have had a little more light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicpilou
Business
Morristown, NJ, USA
Mar 24, 2012

gem of a place for Playa del Carmen

We are 2 adults in our 60th and the beauty and calm of the hotel was just what we needed for our week vacation in Playa. The upgraded room with balcony was fine for us, good king size bed, flat screen TV that we barely watched, very good restaurant for food and service, staff was really nice and the experience was a daily enjoyment. every room gets a safe for valuable, the maid decorated our bed with Towels's arrangment every evening, and we fell at home with the computer for all at the Bar and the sitting arrangement all around the pool. We loved our massage too, charming staff and Spa. The location is great, one block from Avenida 5, where all the action was, but far enough to remain quiet for us on the side of the hotel we were at (room 309) and the walk to the beach club was enjoyable looking at stores and vendors. Las Mamitas Beach Cllub was too noisy for us with loud music and lots of teen agers, we enjoyed the beach club next to hotel Mosquito Beach, way more civilized, large comfortable beach beds, brazilian soft jazz music and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

have dinner at the tiny but nevertheless so ldelicious new restaurant in town calle OHLALA! we went twice it was so good! way above what you get in any other place in Playa

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katrina paul
Business
birmingham UK
Oct 11, 2012

great stay

Very friendly staff and whilst its not beach front, excellent location and close to beach and other local amenities. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super happy in da bridge..!!
Business
Milan ( Italy )
Sep 13, 2013

Nice stay

The hotel is quite ok... The pool will be nice but in my opinion the water was too cold... The sea near the hotel is quite bad... You need to walk on the otherside of the port to find a nice sea... ( like 15/20 minutes walking ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jan 30, 2011

We had a nice stay

Great location and a fair price. Clean and well taken care of with friendly staff. Restaurant breakfast was included and very nice. Only down was noise from 10th avenue - suggest you get a room that isn't on 10th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block from 5th avenue with lots of shops and restuarants close by. short walk to beach.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler jess
Business
new york city, ny
Jul 26, 2010

unbelievable find

[...] what i finally decided on - to upgrade and pay the difference for a swim up(standard plus) room. it was a great decision and i really enjoyed it. unfortunately, on the 2nd night our AC broke, so we let the front desk know about it the following morning. they said they would fix it, but even after we came back at night, it wasn't done beecause the repair man wasn't in. instead, they let us have another room whose AC did work to sleep in. that room was gorgeous and i felt the staff did everything they could to make my entire stay nothing short than amazing! Get the breakfast included in your package deal and you won't regret it! this vacation was among the best i've ever had and i am definitely a frequent traveler!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the collectivo bus everywhere, if possible... we went to tulum and then xel-ha and xcaret another day on it. very convenient! a cenote near chichen itza was the coolest place i've ever swam!

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Dec 7, 2009

Beautiful!

Great relaxing vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Isalnd, NY
Mar 9, 2009

Best in Playa

Great restaraunts, boutiques, cafes & shopping right around the corner. Beaches are beautiful, although they aren't right in back of the hotels. Just get to them early so you can get chairs & umbrellas otherwise the heat will become uncomfortable. This was an amazing trip for just myself and my girlfriend, but we both felt that going with another couple or 2 would have been really fun as well..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to Tulum and see some of the ancient ruins, quiet beaches, and awesome cenotes.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChiYFG
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2009

La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Review

It was great! We are a gay couple and the entire staff treated us like any other couple enjoying the hotel and area in general. The hotel was perfect for us--everyone was very accomodating and gracious. La Tortuga has top knotch staff who are friendly and very knowledgable--ESPECIALLY THE RECEPTION/CHECK-IN AREA. They gave us incredible suggestions that we took advantage of. We will stay there everytime we go to Playa del Carmen!! Our standard plus room was on the small side, but we weren't looking for a big room in the first place. We only used it to freshen up and sleep. Being in Playa, the last thing you want to do is be in your hotel room anyway. Oh, and our cozy private balcony looking onto the hotel pool was so so so nice. ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure to take advantage of the included breakfast. Some of the best food we've had! And don't think they simply offer bagels, muffins, juice, and coffee...I'm talking about a full service, hot food, sit-down experience! Good stuff!

Back to menu Return to top