$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr. Navarro
Business
Salzburg, Austria
Jun 18, 2011

Arriba La Tortuga!!!

My wife and I spend our 3 week Honeymoon at Hotel La Tortuga in Playa del Carmen and we could not ask for anything better. The Hotels location is great. The food at Bistro is fantastic(Breakfast is inclusive), the Service is great..I would like to thank [...] (Hotel Manager) for all the accomodations as well as [...](Food and Beverage), [...] and [...] from Reception,[...] (Cheff) [...], [...] and the guys from Bistro Restaurant, the Cleaning lady who made everyday a different figure with the towels and always friendly. They did all a fantastic job making our stay very enjoyable. Muchas Gracias!!!We also spend a couple of day and one night at the Cabanas Hotel in Tulum(also from Tortuga). We would really recommended for Honeymooners. The place is fantastic, right in front of the Beach and very quiet!!. It is very romantic!! The rooms are simple, but very clean and they even have a Hammock per room....[...] and the staff make a great job making the guest have a magnificent experience..They make a Margaritas night demo and a Coco Loco demo which were delicious and also very fun...The Food is deliciuos and cheff [...] even demostrates how to prepare ceviches and gives recipes if asked for...We would highly recommend La Tortuga as well as Cabanas Tulum as a place to stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 2, 2010

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa Rocks!!!

This hotel was great! The staff was nice and the scenery was beautiful. It was quiet and very relaxing there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dunedingirl
Business
Dunedin, FL USA
Sep 1, 2009

Perfect in Playa

The hotel was gorgeous, perfect location and the staff went above and beyond. We enjoyed the daily breakfast, the refreshing pool, the bar and happy hour and we can't say enough good things about everyone who worked there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the ADO bus for Xcaret, Tulum and back and forth from airport. Incredibly easy and inexpensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spring, Texas
May 16, 2010

Outstanding hidden gem

This was a wonderful hotel and spa. The location is perfect and gives you a great many options. Just blocks from 5th ave you can enjoy the sightas and the sounds then just walk home for a romatic night on you private patio and ours had a hot tub and a hammock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

[...] The hotel staff put us on some great food and a local beach that was wonderful. DO NOT LET THE VENDORS OR STREET MERCHANTS talk you into anything you will be sorry as were we. [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Morganne
Business
Portland, ME
Jul 10, 2014

Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service from all the staff. They were all very welcoming and truly went out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay. The pool was great - more like a lazy river shape which made it more fun. The inclusive breakfast was delicious and filling. They give you beach/pool towels which you can swap out and get new ones as many times a day as you need. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and our room was thoroughly cleaned every day. You can't beat the location (one block from 5th Ave). It is not on the beach but that's a good thing. You don't have to deal with the bass thumping club music day & night from the beach clubs, restaurants and bars. We will definitely go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get bottled water, forgotten personal items, snacks and beverages at Mega (grocery store) about a 5 minute walk away to tide you over between meals. Also grab a pool noodle for $2 so you can float in the ocean and pool for hours. Take a cab back to the hotel for $5 (50 pesos). *Remember to tip the person who bags your groceries as they only get paid in tips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crystal6828
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 20, 2014

Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best. The staff truly went out of their way to provide excellent customer service. The hotel was adorable, and the perfect size, not too big, not too small. We stayed here 3 days, then went to a 5 star all inclusive resort to experience the luxury side. Our next trip will only include this hotel, as the other did not compare in the level of service, and quality of food and drink. We loved being right in the middle of town, two blocks from the beach. We were able to go out and participate in many local activities, rent a car, and visit the other islands. Amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Margaritas were awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbodog
Business
Michigan
Mar 2, 2014

Great staff

Very good location. Staff was just great.an older hotel, but very clean. Restaurant was good also.pool was very nice, but very shaded so kinda cold.i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston,ma.
May 11, 2009

great service,very comfortable

besides a great location, latortuga has friendly service always smiling and helpful. my bed was king size and very comfortable,nice breakfast and dinners

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed California
Business
Huntington Beach
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable experience

I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken N
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Very Good Stay

This is a very comfortable hotel with a welcoming staff in an outstanding location. Beautiful and quiet courtyard/pool area, reading area, sun deck, nice restuarant and friendly bar, One b;ock from all the happenings of 5th Avenue. Not fancy, just about perfect for the wife and me. Our only complaint was that the room could have had a little more light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top