$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julio and Veronica
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2009

La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Was Amazing!

My girlfriend and I planned our vacation 6 months in advance of our stay. At that time, Chicago was frigid and we were very much looking forward to the warm weather of Playa. We looked at what others had mentioned about La Tortuga hotel when making our decision. The comments from other guests prevented us from staying at all-inclusive resorts and other small hotels.Those comments from guests were spot on! Playa Del Carmen is an amazing destination in of itself. La Tortuga Hotel made it even better. The hotel was classy, clean, low-key, and beautiful. The staff at the hotel made our stay even better! I planned on proposing to my girlfriend over this stay. She's now my fiance. They helped me arrange a private dinner, musical trio, and all the other extra special touches. The spa was fantastic! The restaurant was super excellent. But the staff -- fantastic -- [...] and all the rest -- every guest was happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 25, 2010

La Totuga

Fantastic experience. Highly recommend this hotel. Service and staff were exceptional and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa players
Business
Lake Tahoe
Nov 27, 2010

Wonderful in town hotel

While out Scuba diving on my 65th birthday; the hotel staff decorated our room, left chocolate covered strawberries and a chilled bottle of bubbly. How's that for caring staff? Best hotel staff - every day not just on my B'day - with their greetings and helpful suggestions. Oh, and their full menu complementary breakfast at the attached La Bistro is a wonderful way to start the day,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When to arrive and what to do first at Xplor. They also suggested dining places, shopping, beaches, plus arranged other activities at our request.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Muy bonito!

Staff super helpful and friendly, rooms spotless, grounds gorgeous, food fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Morganne
Business
Portland, ME
Jul 10, 2014

Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service from all the staff. They were all very welcoming and truly went out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay. The pool was great - more like a lazy river shape which made it more fun. The inclusive breakfast was delicious and filling. They give you beach/pool towels which you can swap out and get new ones as many times a day as you need. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and our room was thoroughly cleaned every day. You can't beat the location (one block from 5th Ave). It is not on the beach but that's a good thing. You don't have to deal with the bass thumping club music day & night from the beach clubs, restaurants and bars. We will definitely go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get bottled water, forgotten personal items, snacks and beverages at Mega (grocery store) about a 5 minute walk away to tide you over between meals. Also grab a pool noodle for $2 so you can float in the ocean and pool for hours. Take a cab back to the hotel for $5 (50 pesos). *Remember to tip the person who bags your groceries as they only get paid in tips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crystal6828
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 20, 2014

Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best. The staff truly went out of their way to provide excellent customer service. The hotel was adorable, and the perfect size, not too big, not too small. We stayed here 3 days, then went to a 5 star all inclusive resort to experience the luxury side. Our next trip will only include this hotel, as the other did not compare in the level of service, and quality of food and drink. We loved being right in the middle of town, two blocks from the beach. We were able to go out and participate in many local activities, rent a car, and visit the other islands. Amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Margaritas were awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston,ma.
May 11, 2009

great service,very comfortable

besides a great location, latortuga has friendly service always smiling and helpful. my bed was king size and very comfortable,nice breakfast and dinners

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed California
Business
Huntington Beach
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable experience

I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken N
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Very Good Stay

This is a very comfortable hotel with a welcoming staff in an outstanding location. Beautiful and quiet courtyard/pool area, reading area, sun deck, nice restuarant and friendly bar, One b;ock from all the happenings of 5th Avenue. Not fancy, just about perfect for the wife and me. Our only complaint was that the room could have had a little more light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicpilou
Business
Morristown, NJ, USA
Mar 24, 2012

gem of a place for Playa del Carmen

We are 2 adults in our 60th and the beauty and calm of the hotel was just what we needed for our week vacation in Playa. The upgraded room with balcony was fine for us, good king size bed, flat screen TV that we barely watched, very good restaurant for food and service, staff was really nice and the experience was a daily enjoyment. every room gets a safe for valuable, the maid decorated our bed with Towels's arrangment every evening, and we fell at home with the computer for all at the Bar and the sitting arrangement all around the pool. We loved our massage too, charming staff and Spa. The location is great, one block from Avenida 5, where all the action was, but far enough to remain quiet for us on the side of the hotel we were at (room 309) and the walk to the beach club was enjoyable looking at stores and vendors. Las Mamitas Beach Cllub was too noisy for us with loud music and lots of teen agers, we enjoyed the beach club next to hotel Mosquito Beach, way more civilized, large comfortable beach beds, brazilian soft jazz music and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

have dinner at the tiny but nevertheless so ldelicious new restaurant in town calle OHLALA! we went twice it was so good! way above what you get in any other place in Playa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top