$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
staceyreviewer
Business
Asheville, NC
Jun 27, 2011

La Tortuga review

Beautiful hotel tucked away and private but right on the main strip of activities, restaurants, etc. (5th ave). Had a great time. Staff was wonderful, food was great - not a bad meal the entire week. Very quiet and comfortable, no crowds, kids or noise which was perfect for a relaxing vacation. Would highly recommend to other couples who want to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We used Bambu tours for several outings - reasonable and organized.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laurie "Mis Nalgas Flotan"
Business
Watsonville, CA
Apr 28, 2010

Everything you want, and more!

This was our best vacation yet! Our room had a lovely private balcony overlooking the tropical garden and pool and included a wonderful healthy breakfast with fresh fruit juices and a killer salsa! Our days included a jog on the endless white sandy beach,relaxing under a palapa with a margarita, gazing at the ultra turquoise ocean, shopping, listening to all the various accents of the eclectic international crowd and of course eating fresh seafood everywhere! Day trips were really fun to plan. We took a ferry to Cozumel, rented scooters and drove around the island eating the best ceviche ever! Another day we went to the ruins right on the beach called Tulum. We learned the best way to do this was to hire a taxi for the day. The driver also took us to a cenote, after waiting for our tour at the ruins to be done. Day trips are great, but tiring, and to be returned right to our door at La Tortuga with the friendly staff greeting you with a smile was wonderful! Then we opened the door to our clean room only to discover another delightful folded towel creation on the bed! I couldn't believe the creativity of our maid named [...]! Swans, rabbits, sheep, even an iguana! In reflection, the incredible high level of hospitality and care at La Tortuga Hotel and Spa is what really made our vacation sublime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great ceviche on the beach at La Pirata.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lab's
Business
El Centro, CA
Jul 3, 2010

"Honeymoon Trip"

Great Staff! Good food! Great Happy Hour 2 for 1 drink specials.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennz
Business
Vienna, VA
Aug 11, 2010

Perfect little get-away

La Tortuga was beautiful with a quiet quaint feel to it. The pool was refreshing and clean and perfect for cooling off or lounging with a book and/or drink. It was not a huge pool but rather two circular type pools that were kind of playful - there was a little bridge in the middle of one where you can swim under it, and another section where the put little pillars you can swim through as well. It was in the perfect location just a couple blocks from the beach, several blocks from the ferry, several blocks from the bus stop, and a couple blocks to the restaurants/bars/street shops. The staff was friendly and really helpful and the breakfast was amazing. I was expecting the included breakfast to be more like a bagel and eggs but I got fresh fruit juice, and each menu item was a heaping plate of deliciousness. I definitely recommend the Mayan eggs (huevos motulenos) - it was a fried tortilla topped with two over easy eggs, fresh pureed tomato salsa, peas, bacon, chunks of ham, queso crema, with black beans and hash on the side ... yum. I was given vouchers for a beach umbrella and chair over at Mamita's which was several blocks away from La Tortuga. The first day I didn't even make it there. After a few blocks with the heat, the water looked too beautiful so I just dumped my stuff down and ran in. One day my friend and I ventured over there because he couldn't take much more sun but all the umbrellas were taken. You probably have to get there pretty early. We asked to use one of the other umbrellas with the cushier chairs that were available and would have been buying drinks but they wanted like 40 USD so that was a bust. Later other travelers told us that The Blue Parrot (club/bar on the beach) would let you use the umbrellas/chairs free if you paid for drinks so I'll keep that in mind for next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would definitely recommend going to visit the cenotes - caves that have sunken into these fresh water pools. I went to Cenote Cristalino - if you take the collectivo there (vans that line up near the bus station) it is only 20 pesos (less than 2USD) and then it is 40 pesos to get in. The water is cool and refreshing and the locals hanging out there were super nice. There is a little clifflette you can jump off too into the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2011

Very satisfied

Wonderful experience. Hotel was excellent with friendly, helpful staff. Decorated my daughter's room with balloons, flowers and birthday messages on her birthday. Staff were always happy and smiling. Would definitely recommend. Couple of blocks away from beach - easy access to beach and lots of shopping and restaurants closeby. Very convenient. Hotel arranged great R.T. transportation from Cancun airport to the hotel. Restaurant served great food - super breakfast served up until noon. We would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Origenes - went to this restaurant three times - great food and our favorite was the grilled shrimp with mango sauce. Just ask for Marco there and you can take your own bottle of wine to drink with your meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr. Navarro
Business
Salzburg, Austria
Jun 18, 2011

Arriba La Tortuga!!!

My wife and I spend our 3 week Honeymoon at Hotel La Tortuga in Playa del Carmen and we could not ask for anything better. The Hotels location is great. The food at Bistro is fantastic(Breakfast is inclusive), the Service is great..I would like to thank [...] (Hotel Manager) for all the accomodations as well as [...](Food and Beverage), [...] and [...] from Reception,[...] (Cheff) [...], [...] and the guys from Bistro Restaurant, the Cleaning lady who made everyday a different figure with the towels and always friendly. They did all a fantastic job making our stay very enjoyable. Muchas Gracias!!!We also spend a couple of day and one night at the Cabanas Hotel in Tulum(also from Tortuga). We would really recommended for Honeymooners. The place is fantastic, right in front of the Beach and very quiet!!. It is very romantic!! The rooms are simple, but very clean and they even have a Hammock per room....[...] and the staff make a great job making the guest have a magnificent experience..They make a Margaritas night demo and a Coco Loco demo which were delicious and also very fun...The Food is deliciuos and cheff [...] even demostrates how to prepare ceviches and gives recipes if asked for...We would highly recommend La Tortuga as well as Cabanas Tulum as a place to stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 2, 2010

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa Rocks!!!

This hotel was great! The staff was nice and the scenery was beautiful. It was quiet and very relaxing there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dunedingirl
Business
Dunedin, FL USA
Sep 1, 2009

Perfect in Playa

The hotel was gorgeous, perfect location and the staff went above and beyond. We enjoyed the daily breakfast, the refreshing pool, the bar and happy hour and we can't say enough good things about everyone who worked there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the ADO bus for Xcaret, Tulum and back and forth from airport. Incredibly easy and inexpensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spring, Texas
May 16, 2010

Outstanding hidden gem

This was a wonderful hotel and spa. The location is perfect and gives you a great many options. Just blocks from 5th ave you can enjoy the sightas and the sounds then just walk home for a romatic night on you private patio and ours had a hot tub and a hammock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

[...] The hotel staff put us on some great food and a local beach that was wonderful. DO NOT LET THE VENDORS OR STREET MERCHANTS talk you into anything you will be sorry as were we. [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tania Luz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2011

Excellent Service, Perfect Location!!!!

We had the best time. The hotel was cozy and beautiful. The service was excellent! The people is very friendly and helpful. They make you feel like home. The breakfast that is included with the package is awesome! Is not the typical continental buffet, you can choose what do you want to eat from the menu of the hotel's restaurant,The Bistro, wich is really good! You are so close from the 5th ave, one block and you are in the middle of everything. You also have a free access to Mamitas beach, wich is one of the best beach clubs of the area. The beach is in a walking distance as well as the nightclubs, restaurants...very convenient!! If you are not traveling with kids, this is the best place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant LA PESCA. Best seafood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top