$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tortugafan
Business
boston, MA
Jan 15, 2010

Excellent stay - relaxing atmosphere

Excellent location, very central. staff friendly and efficient, without being overbearing. rooms are kept spotless. included breakfast was great, with choices of mexican specialties from the menu, as well as continental options, great juices (papaya) and aguas de frutas (kiwi). There's a few free street parking spots within 100 meters if you're lucky (underground parking is right across otherwise). The only minor inconvenience i can think of was the jaccuzi bubbles weren't working one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Alux restaurant, inside natural caves on Avenida Juarez, between 65 and 70. Pretty good food, and a wonderful atmosphere. bring camera

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Mar 21, 2010

Highly recommend for couples

Have traveling many times to this area, staying at All-Inclusives only. I really enjoyed staying at La Tortuga, being close to so many restaurants and shopping just by walking out the door of this hotel. The hotel was wonderful, the rooms were spotless, the breakfast was great. Happy Hour was fun. It was only a short 6 minute walk to Zenzi's Beach Club, had the best sevice and lunches there daily. I will definitely go back to La Tortuga again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iacopo
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 26, 2010

LaTortuga Review

Nice hotel with familiar atmosphere, it is located in the center of Playa del Carmen. Staff is friendly and helpful suggesting place to discover. You have the possibility to travel around Riviera Maya and in the evening enjoy the Playa nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Climber
Business
Naperville, IL
Nov 2, 2009

Awesome hotel!!!

My girlfriend and I wanted a quiet get away that gave us access to the town so we weren't secluded in a resort. La Tortuga did that. It is located a block from the main strip, and a few blocks from the beach. There are 2 beach clubs you'll have access to, as well. The staff was amazing. They are very helpful and went above and beyond in doing research for activities for us. The restaurant was top-notch and the free breakfast is a big, full meal; not a "continental breakfast." The rooms weren't huge, but they were great for us. The furniture is new and everything was always very clean. The housekeeper even folded the towels into animal shapes each day. There were many little things that like which made our stay so pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There's lots of shopping in Playa del Carmen... LOTS. But if you leave the town you can get better deals that in the shops along the main strip. Things aren't expensive there as it is, but you can save some money by going out a little farther. Plus you get to see more of the culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Murraba
Business
Auburn, AL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Near-perfect sanctuary in a great beach town

La Tortuga was everything we hoped for in a boutique hotel and more. It is built around a beautiful garden with a swimming pool meandering like a river among the trees and a warming jacuzzi for contrast. Included in the price was the best breakfast I've ever been offered by a hotel--including eggs Benedict. The staff was unflaggingly friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and cool with excellent air conditioning and a ceiling fan to dissolve the August heat. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lido Beach about Avenida 11 is a terrific place to borrow a chair with an umbrella, order a bucket of cold cervesas, and get a beach massage. Origenes, La Mission, and Carboncitas are excellent dining values.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
staceyreviewer
Business
Asheville, NC
Jun 27, 2011

La Tortuga review

Beautiful hotel tucked away and private but right on the main strip of activities, restaurants, etc. (5th ave). Had a great time. Staff was wonderful, food was great - not a bad meal the entire week. Very quiet and comfortable, no crowds, kids or noise which was perfect for a relaxing vacation. Would highly recommend to other couples who want to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We used Bambu tours for several outings - reasonable and organized.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laurie "Mis Nalgas Flotan"
Business
Watsonville, CA
Apr 28, 2010

Everything you want, and more!

This was our best vacation yet! Our room had a lovely private balcony overlooking the tropical garden and pool and included a wonderful healthy breakfast with fresh fruit juices and a killer salsa! Our days included a jog on the endless white sandy beach,relaxing under a palapa with a margarita, gazing at the ultra turquoise ocean, shopping, listening to all the various accents of the eclectic international crowd and of course eating fresh seafood everywhere! Day trips were really fun to plan. We took a ferry to Cozumel, rented scooters and drove around the island eating the best ceviche ever! Another day we went to the ruins right on the beach called Tulum. We learned the best way to do this was to hire a taxi for the day. The driver also took us to a cenote, after waiting for our tour at the ruins to be done. Day trips are great, but tiring, and to be returned right to our door at La Tortuga with the friendly staff greeting you with a smile was wonderful! Then we opened the door to our clean room only to discover another delightful folded towel creation on the bed! I couldn't believe the creativity of our maid named [...]! Swans, rabbits, sheep, even an iguana! In reflection, the incredible high level of hospitality and care at La Tortuga Hotel and Spa is what really made our vacation sublime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great ceviche on the beach at La Pirata.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lab's
Business
El Centro, CA
Jul 3, 2010

"Honeymoon Trip"

Great Staff! Good food! Great Happy Hour 2 for 1 drink specials.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennz
Business
Vienna, VA
Aug 11, 2010

Perfect little get-away

La Tortuga was beautiful with a quiet quaint feel to it. The pool was refreshing and clean and perfect for cooling off or lounging with a book and/or drink. It was not a huge pool but rather two circular type pools that were kind of playful - there was a little bridge in the middle of one where you can swim under it, and another section where the put little pillars you can swim through as well. It was in the perfect location just a couple blocks from the beach, several blocks from the ferry, several blocks from the bus stop, and a couple blocks to the restaurants/bars/street shops. The staff was friendly and really helpful and the breakfast was amazing. I was expecting the included breakfast to be more like a bagel and eggs but I got fresh fruit juice, and each menu item was a heaping plate of deliciousness. I definitely recommend the Mayan eggs (huevos motulenos) - it was a fried tortilla topped with two over easy eggs, fresh pureed tomato salsa, peas, bacon, chunks of ham, queso crema, with black beans and hash on the side ... yum. I was given vouchers for a beach umbrella and chair over at Mamita's which was several blocks away from La Tortuga. The first day I didn't even make it there. After a few blocks with the heat, the water looked too beautiful so I just dumped my stuff down and ran in. One day my friend and I ventured over there because he couldn't take much more sun but all the umbrellas were taken. You probably have to get there pretty early. We asked to use one of the other umbrellas with the cushier chairs that were available and would have been buying drinks but they wanted like 40 USD so that was a bust. Later other travelers told us that The Blue Parrot (club/bar on the beach) would let you use the umbrellas/chairs free if you paid for drinks so I'll keep that in mind for next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would definitely recommend going to visit the cenotes - caves that have sunken into these fresh water pools. I went to Cenote Cristalino - if you take the collectivo there (vans that line up near the bus station) it is only 20 pesos (less than 2USD) and then it is 40 pesos to get in. The water is cool and refreshing and the locals hanging out there were super nice. There is a little clifflette you can jump off too into the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2011

Very satisfied

Wonderful experience. Hotel was excellent with friendly, helpful staff. Decorated my daughter's room with balloons, flowers and birthday messages on her birthday. Staff were always happy and smiling. Would definitely recommend. Couple of blocks away from beach - easy access to beach and lots of shopping and restaurants closeby. Very convenient. Hotel arranged great R.T. transportation from Cancun airport to the hotel. Restaurant served great food - super breakfast served up until noon. We would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Origenes - went to this restaurant three times - great food and our favorite was the grilled shrimp with mango sauce. Just ask for Marco there and you can take your own bottle of wine to drink with your meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top