$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Coronaplease
Business
USA
May 8, 2012

Very Disappointed

This hotel is way overpriced for the quality that is delivered. The rooms smell musty, the sheets and towels are old and have stains. They give you exactly one towel per person and one hand towel. Also no shower gel, only bars of soap and they never replenish shampoo or conditioner unless you ask. Very loud noise coming from club next door and hotel management was not accommodating, as the other reviews will lead you to believe- management and staff will totally ignore you once you've paid. Finally there is absolutely no one at the front dest past 11pm which is pretty concerning- not even anyone to answer the phone if you have a problem!! Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Oct 14, 2008

Great romantic hotel for couples

LaTortuga is overall a great hotel. The only drawback was that the room was very small. The hotel manger told us that we had a queen-sized bed in our standard room, but to me it was more the size of a double. I am used to a king at home so this was an adjustment. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Small, cramped, and the shower was inadequate (very weak water pressure and shower head sprayed water kind of everywhere). The hotel grounds are amazing, the free breakfast every morning was delicous, and the hotel staff were top notch. So this made up for the few inconveniences we had with the room. My fiance and I are going back next year but this time we will stay in the honeymoon suite. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, convenient to all the shops and dining in Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YYLM
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Good hotel, but be careful for the room description

I think this is the issue of both of website and the hotel. I picked Standard plan which description was '2 twin beds, 2 queens beds, or one king bed'. It looks I can choose 2 beds, however, I was told 2 beds room needs more $20/night. Additionally, this room had no balcony. I think this kind of hotel should have a balcony (and, again, I was told 2 beds room had a balcony), otherwise, it should be mentioned. If I knew no 2 beds room and no balcony, I would not pick this hotel. The hotel itself was not bad at all. It's located center of the tourist area and staff was all friendly. The restaurant, Le Bistro was much much better than the restaurants along 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James TX
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 11, 2014

One night stay

We stayed one night, so limited to a short stay. Stayed over a Sunday night in room 207, great view of the courtyard and pool area. Service at front desk and bellboy were excellent and quick. Had to leave a deposit for their room bar. Bell person was kind enough to offer to run across the street and pick a few items while we settle in. Hotel was very quite, didn't see anyone in the pool but got there an hour or so before the sunset. We had a nice balcony with 2 chair to sit out and enjoy the evening. Room a little small, but functional, bathroom in need of a little updating, Overall ok. Could hear some noise off in the distance until 4am. It wasn't super loud, but could hear if you are a light sleeper. My partner did not hear anything and slept soundly. Of course, night club C-B, that shares the other end of the block was closed for the night and not sure how much impact it would have if opened. Very close to 5th avenue, where all the bars, shops, restaurants are located. and probably approx. 3 blocks to the beach. the complimentary breakfast, was limited. 3 options, mine was the American selection, consisting of scramble egg, hash browns, black beans and toast. With orange juice and tea or coffee. they did have another menu that you could pay for. Overall for the price approx.$100+Tax, it was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of Dinning and shopping nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston,ma.
May 11, 2009

great service,very comfortable

besides a great location, latortuga has friendly service always smiling and helpful. my bed was king size and very comfortable,nice breakfast and dinners

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed California
Business
Huntington Beach
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable experience

I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken N
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Very Good Stay

This is a very comfortable hotel with a welcoming staff in an outstanding location. Beautiful and quiet courtyard/pool area, reading area, sun deck, nice restuarant and friendly bar, One b;ock from all the happenings of 5th Avenue. Not fancy, just about perfect for the wife and me. Our only complaint was that the room could have had a little more light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicpilou
Business
Morristown, NJ, USA
Mar 24, 2012

gem of a place for Playa del Carmen

We are 2 adults in our 60th and the beauty and calm of the hotel was just what we needed for our week vacation in Playa. The upgraded room with balcony was fine for us, good king size bed, flat screen TV that we barely watched, very good restaurant for food and service, staff was really nice and the experience was a daily enjoyment. every room gets a safe for valuable, the maid decorated our bed with Towels's arrangment every evening, and we fell at home with the computer for all at the Bar and the sitting arrangement all around the pool. We loved our massage too, charming staff and Spa. The location is great, one block from Avenida 5, where all the action was, but far enough to remain quiet for us on the side of the hotel we were at (room 309) and the walk to the beach club was enjoyable looking at stores and vendors. Las Mamitas Beach Cllub was too noisy for us with loud music and lots of teen agers, we enjoyed the beach club next to hotel Mosquito Beach, way more civilized, large comfortable beach beds, brazilian soft jazz music and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

have dinner at the tiny but nevertheless so ldelicious new restaurant in town calle OHLALA! we went twice it was so good! way above what you get in any other place in Playa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katrina paul
Business
birmingham UK
Oct 11, 2012

great stay

Very friendly staff and whilst its not beach front, excellent location and close to beach and other local amenities. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super happy in da bridge..!!
Business
Milan ( Italy )
Sep 13, 2013

Nice stay

The hotel is quite ok... The pool will be nice but in my opinion the water was too cold... The sea near the hotel is quite bad... You need to walk on the otherside of the port to find a nice sea... ( like 15/20 minutes walking ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top