$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
52 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uniqny
Business
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

La Tortuga was exactly what I was looking for!

We went to Playa Del Carmen to spend 8 days celebrating my birthday the week of March18. Originally, we rented a condo in the exclusive gated community in Playacar, but on day 3, that place turned into a horror story of bad plumbing and no A/C. I did not want to spend my vacation in a place I HATED going back to. So that night, I went online and booked La Tortuga. The next day, we went to breakfast, spent a few hours on the beach and checked into La Tortuga. I'm so glad I did! The room, although a bit smaller than we expected, was air-conditioned (a BIG plus), had a great bathroom (another BIG plus) had spacious closets, a large dresser, a safe, a large private balcony and a VERY comfortable bed. The hotel is on Avenida 10 (10th Ave), and yes, the street is currently being re-built. That means that there is a LOT of LOUD noise. But when we went into the room for the first time and closed the door, the room was QUIET. The walls are so thick and the door is sound proof that the noise just fell away immediately. Total peace and quiet, even though my door was DIRECTLY in front of the construction (I could see it through my door). This made the room totally worth it! Also, we were on vacation. So we were out of bed and on our way to breakfast by 8:30am and since we were out ALL DAY, we were in bed by 12am. Construction ran from 8:30am-8:30pm (or there about), so we were NEVER there when the noise was happening. And if we were there, it was only to clean up to go back out shopping, to dinner or downstairs to the bar and pool area. The staff was VERY professional and accommodating. The pool and hot tub are the perfect spot to take your margarita from the hotel bar and unwind from all the fun you had during the day before turning in for the night. I can't say how much I appreciate the last minute accommodations La Tortuga was able to make for us. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful at every step of the way. They really cared about how our stay was going. Oh, and breakfast at the restaurant on the bottom floor was included - so that was nice too! Good food. I definitely plan on making Playa and La Tortuga an annual birthday trip -- See you there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom L
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 14, 2009

Great Place, Great People

I normally just want nice people to answer my questions at a hotel and not demand excellence in service. La Tortuga was exceptional in the service department and it made a big difference in our vacation. The hotel is an oasis in the heart of town, walking distance to everything. The courtyard made you think you were nowhere near civilization. One of the best values I have ever had in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It seems like a cheesy nightclub for the 20's crowd but we (in our 40's) had an absolute blast at Coco Bongo. The shows and other guests were a treat. KISS, Madonna, U2 all performed (OK, not the real ones) but the fun was non-stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayan Culture Lovers
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 16, 2010

Mayan Adventures

Breakfast choices were plentiful and all delicious. Our waiter [...] was friendly and gave us great service and was informative on places to visit and eat. The bartender [...] made excellent drinks especially the mojitos and the tamarindo margarita and was very friendly. The pool was to die for and a great place to hang out at the end of very adventurous and hot days of shopping and AWESOME sightseeing of Mayan ruins. GREAT hotel wonderful location and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Oasis restaurant had excellent mariscos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jetduck
Business
Round Rock, Texas
Jul 21, 2012

Quiet romantic getaway

Beautiful pool. Very nice clean room with A/C and nice bathroom. Free breakfast in there own cafe. Very good food. 1 short block off the main market street of 5th. Lots of restraunts and shopping close by. Close to the COCO Bongo club. Had a great time scuba diving. Also had a lot of fun on a jungle zipline/ ATV tour with a nice swim in a Cenote. Will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Negotiate with the Airport transport shuttle. Another couple only paid $50 for round trip to Tulum which is about 20 miles past Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tania Luz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2011

Excellent Service, Perfect Location!!!!

We had the best time. The hotel was cozy and beautiful. The service was excellent! The people is very friendly and helpful. They make you feel like home. The breakfast that is included with the package is awesome! Is not the typical continental buffet, you can choose what do you want to eat from the menu of the hotel's restaurant,The Bistro, wich is really good! You are so close from the 5th ave, one block and you are in the middle of everything. You also have a free access to Mamitas beach, wich is one of the best beach clubs of the area. The beach is in a walking distance as well as the nightclubs, restaurants...very convenient!! If you are not traveling with kids, this is the best place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant LA PESCA. Best seafood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julio and Veronica
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2009

La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Was Amazing!

My girlfriend and I planned our vacation 6 months in advance of our stay. At that time, Chicago was frigid and we were very much looking forward to the warm weather of Playa. We looked at what others had mentioned about La Tortuga hotel when making our decision. The comments from other guests prevented us from staying at all-inclusive resorts and other small hotels.Those comments from guests were spot on! Playa Del Carmen is an amazing destination in of itself. La Tortuga Hotel made it even better. The hotel was classy, clean, low-key, and beautiful. The staff at the hotel made our stay even better! I planned on proposing to my girlfriend over this stay. She's now my fiance. They helped me arrange a private dinner, musical trio, and all the other extra special touches. The spa was fantastic! The restaurant was super excellent. But the staff -- fantastic -- [...] and all the rest -- every guest was happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 25, 2010

La Totuga

Fantastic experience. Highly recommend this hotel. Service and staff were exceptional and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa players
Business
Lake Tahoe
Nov 27, 2010

Wonderful in town hotel

While out Scuba diving on my 65th birthday; the hotel staff decorated our room, left chocolate covered strawberries and a chilled bottle of bubbly. How's that for caring staff? Best hotel staff - every day not just on my B'day - with their greetings and helpful suggestions. Oh, and their full menu complementary breakfast at the attached La Bistro is a wonderful way to start the day,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When to arrive and what to do first at Xplor. They also suggested dining places, shopping, beaches, plus arranged other activities at our request.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Muy bonito!

Staff super helpful and friendly, rooms spotless, grounds gorgeous, food fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb50
Business
Parkville, MO
Jul 22, 2009

Beautiful hotel/staff and great location

We went to relax and enjoy my 50th birthday. It was wonderful - no, perfect! Staff recommendations on things to do were excellent and they went well out of their way to make my birthday very memorable by showering the bed with flower petals, putting up balloons, and providing cake and champagne. They also placed tealight candles up the stairs to our rooftop hot tub which they had also filled with bubbles and more petals :) The pool area is so well designed that many people can be in it but it still feels very private, there are a lot of areas to hide away and relax in the sun or shade and the staff makes sure you are always taken care of with food and drinks. The breakfasts were delicious, the staff were very friendly and very helpful, the pillows and bed were great, and I highly recommmend the hotel. Yes, I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Fogon restaurant is a local food paradise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top