$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 26, 2010

Very relaxing hotel & for a great price

This was a very good hotel especially for the price we paid. Prior to booking this hotel, we did a bunch of research on the hotels available in this area; after reading rave opinions regarding it, we decided to choose this one and we did not regret it. Due to the smaller size of the hotel, the staff (bar tenders / receptionist) recognize you and offer a more personal environment. The staff was very friendly and helpful whenever we had questions about tours or directions. Our room was kept in very good shape, was clean and comfortable. The inclusive breakfast every morning was very good as well! It was not your basic continental breakfast, it was at the adjacent restaurant with a full menu! The hotel was very accessible. It is located one block (literally) behind the action of "la Quinta" (where all the shops and restaurants are.) Because you are near the clubs, you may hear the bass from the nightclubs. It was definitely not overwhelming at all. I barely heard it when I was awake; I am not a very light sleeper so I did not hear it when I was asleep but if you are a very light sleeper you may or may not hear it. The hotel was around 3 blocks to the beautiful beach. It was not a problem walking to it at all. The one downside if I would have to say would be that it did not have a great pool or a fitness center. But unless those are on your top priority list, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want real Mexican food, try not to eat on 5th Avenue. Go on tripadvisors.com and look for restaurants that perhaps the locals go to such as "el Fogon" (our personal favorite). Food would be much better and at a better value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tortugafan
Business
boston, MA
Jan 15, 2010

Excellent stay - relaxing atmosphere

Excellent location, very central. staff friendly and efficient, without being overbearing. rooms are kept spotless. included breakfast was great, with choices of mexican specialties from the menu, as well as continental options, great juices (papaya) and aguas de frutas (kiwi). There's a few free street parking spots within 100 meters if you're lucky (underground parking is right across otherwise). The only minor inconvenience i can think of was the jaccuzi bubbles weren't working one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Alux restaurant, inside natural caves on Avenida Juarez, between 65 and 70. Pretty good food, and a wonderful atmosphere. bring camera

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom L
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 14, 2009

Great Place, Great People

I normally just want nice people to answer my questions at a hotel and not demand excellence in service. La Tortuga was exceptional in the service department and it made a big difference in our vacation. The hotel is an oasis in the heart of town, walking distance to everything. The courtyard made you think you were nowhere near civilization. One of the best values I have ever had in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It seems like a cheesy nightclub for the 20's crowd but we (in our 40's) had an absolute blast at Coco Bongo. The shows and other guests were a treat. KISS, Madonna, U2 all performed (OK, not the real ones) but the fun was non-stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Dec 7, 2009

Beautiful!

Great relaxing vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Dec 2, 2009

Ray's 50th Birthday Surprise Holiday

The hotel staff is super friendly and nice. The location is perfect for walking around Playa. The mornings were alittle noisy due the staff cleaning and preparing for the day. Our group enjoyed the daily breakfasts at the Bistro. Better than expected service and selection - not a buffet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surprisingly, the Italian resturants in town were excellent! Every encounter at a local restaurant was wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Climber
Business
Naperville, IL
Nov 2, 2009

Awesome hotel!!!

My girlfriend and I wanted a quiet get away that gave us access to the town so we weren't secluded in a resort. La Tortuga did that. It is located a block from the main strip, and a few blocks from the beach. There are 2 beach clubs you'll have access to, as well. The staff was amazing. They are very helpful and went above and beyond in doing research for activities for us. The restaurant was top-notch and the free breakfast is a big, full meal; not a "continental breakfast." The rooms weren't huge, but they were great for us. The furniture is new and everything was always very clean. The housekeeper even folded the towels into animal shapes each day. There were many little things that like which made our stay so pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There's lots of shopping in Playa del Carmen... LOTS. But if you leave the town you can get better deals that in the shops along the main strip. Things aren't expensive there as it is, but you can save some money by going out a little farther. Plus you get to see more of the culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dunedingirl
Business
Dunedin, FL USA
Sep 1, 2009

Perfect in Playa

The hotel was gorgeous, perfect location and the staff went above and beyond. We enjoyed the daily breakfast, the refreshing pool, the bar and happy hour and we can't say enough good things about everyone who worked there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the ADO bus for Xcaret, Tulum and back and forth from airport. Incredibly easy and inexpensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChiYFG
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2009

La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Review

It was great! We are a gay couple and the entire staff treated us like any other couple enjoying the hotel and area in general. The hotel was perfect for us--everyone was very accomodating and gracious. La Tortuga has top knotch staff who are friendly and very knowledgable--ESPECIALLY THE RECEPTION/CHECK-IN AREA. They gave us incredible suggestions that we took advantage of. We will stay there everytime we go to Playa del Carmen!! Our standard plus room was on the small side, but we weren't looking for a big room in the first place. We only used it to freshen up and sleep. Being in Playa, the last thing you want to do is be in your hotel room anyway. Oh, and our cozy private balcony looking onto the hotel pool was so so so nice. ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure to take advantage of the included breakfast. Some of the best food we've had! And don't think they simply offer bagels, muffins, juice, and coffee...I'm talking about a full service, hot food, sit-down experience! Good stuff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb50
Business
Parkville, MO
Jul 22, 2009

Beautiful hotel/staff and great location

We went to relax and enjoy my 50th birthday. It was wonderful - no, perfect! Staff recommendations on things to do were excellent and they went well out of their way to make my birthday very memorable by showering the bed with flower petals, putting up balloons, and providing cake and champagne. They also placed tealight candles up the stairs to our rooftop hot tub which they had also filled with bubbles and more petals :) The pool area is so well designed that many people can be in it but it still feels very private, there are a lot of areas to hide away and relax in the sun or shade and the staff makes sure you are always taken care of with food and drinks. The breakfasts were delicious, the staff were very friendly and very helpful, the pillows and bed were great, and I highly recommmend the hotel. Yes, I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Fogon restaurant is a local food paradise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julio and Veronica
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2009

La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Was Amazing!

My girlfriend and I planned our vacation 6 months in advance of our stay. At that time, Chicago was frigid and we were very much looking forward to the warm weather of Playa. We looked at what others had mentioned about La Tortuga hotel when making our decision. The comments from other guests prevented us from staying at all-inclusive resorts and other small hotels.Those comments from guests were spot on! Playa Del Carmen is an amazing destination in of itself. La Tortuga Hotel made it even better. The hotel was classy, clean, low-key, and beautiful. The staff at the hotel made our stay even better! I planned on proposing to my girlfriend over this stay. She's now my fiance. They helped me arrange a private dinner, musical trio, and all the other extra special touches. The spa was fantastic! The restaurant was super excellent. But the staff -- fantastic -- [...] and all the rest -- every guest was happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top