$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler jess
Business
new york city, ny
Jul 26, 2010

unbelievable find

[...] what i finally decided on - to upgrade and pay the difference for a swim up(standard plus) room. it was a great decision and i really enjoyed it. unfortunately, on the 2nd night our AC broke, so we let the front desk know about it the following morning. they said they would fix it, but even after we came back at night, it wasn't done beecause the repair man wasn't in. instead, they let us have another room whose AC did work to sleep in. that room was gorgeous and i felt the staff did everything they could to make my entire stay nothing short than amazing! Get the breakfast included in your package deal and you won't regret it! this vacation was among the best i've ever had and i am definitely a frequent traveler!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the collectivo bus everywhere, if possible... we went to tulum and then xel-ha and xcaret another day on it. very convenient! a cenote near chichen itza was the coolest place i've ever swam!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayan Culture Lovers
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 16, 2010

Mayan Adventures

Breakfast choices were plentiful and all delicious. Our waiter [...] was friendly and gave us great service and was informative on places to visit and eat. The bartender [...] made excellent drinks especially the mojitos and the tamarindo margarita and was very friendly. The pool was to die for and a great place to hang out at the end of very adventurous and hot days of shopping and AWESOME sightseeing of Mayan ruins. GREAT hotel wonderful location and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Oasis restaurant had excellent mariscos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summers off
Business
Ohio
Jul 14, 2010

Beautiful hotel with convenient location

About us: We are quiet people. We didn't come for the party. We ate good food, took tours of the area and appreciated the ruins and the beach. This was our first time traveling to Mexico, but we are experienced travelers.Our experience: We took a Hertz van from the airport to La Tortuga because we couldn't find the buses. Take the ADO bus from the airport to Playa Del Carmen. Ask where to pick it up and buy tickets. We didn't know the name of the bus company and didn't know what to ask for.Upon arrival we were welcomed with a drink while we checked in! This was a great way to begin our trip after waiting in a long immigration/customs line.The grounds were very well maintained and even though we were near a busy street (10th Ave) the courtyard with the bar, pool and restaurant were very quiet. Every night was very quiet and peaceful, except Saturday. I'm a light sleeper and couldn't hear the bass from nearby Coco Bongo, but my husband said he occationally he heard it. It was nothing that kept us up by any means. On Saturday night of our stay there were some noisy (read: drunk) guests who came back from the clubs waiting for the hotel's breakfast to start at about 5am (they start breakfast at 7am). We had to get up early anyway for a tour so we didn't complian. I'm not sure that management or hotel staff did anything to curb the noise (If any staff was there at that hour, I don't know.)Speaking of breakfast...it's free and awesome! A hot meal of your choice served to you at your table over looking the beautiful courtyard or the street (10th Ave), depending on where you choose to sit.The room we were in (room 33) was excessively small. If you can afford it (we are always on a tight budget so we didn't), upgrade to a bigger room with a balcony. It seems worth it, if you can afford it. Room 33 and 34 are small like this and there might be more of them. There was about 2 feet around the bed and a very small bathroom. That being said the room was well decorated and clean.Bartender [...] and our usual breakfast waiter [...] were both awesome. They were so friendly and always asked how we were doing and what we were up to. It was great to see their smiling faces every day. Negative: On our first night there, a hotel staff member walked into the room unannounced when we were not dressed. We had the door locked, but did not have the red privacy card on the door handle. He was appologetic, but I was very careful to put the red privacy card up at all times after that and it didn't happen again. I didn't complain to management. He seemed like he might have been there for a turn down service and he seemed sorry. I didn't want him to get in trouble.The front desk personel seemed to recommend the most expensive way to do tours. They didn't want to recommend the colectivos even though they are very cheap and reliable. The guide book and walking around looking for tour deals seemed more helpful. RECOMMENDATION: THE SNORKEL SHOP gives the most amazing cenote and ocean snorkeling tour. It's a little more expensive, but absolutely amazing. [...], the only guide and owner, is amazing. He knows everything and is a wonderful educator. He also takes pictures so you don't have to. You will get a CD full of them. I can't say enough about how great the experience was.See "helpful hints" for more info on tours we took.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We did the typical trips for the area: Tulum: take the "colectivos" (like an urban bus service, but no schedules and a van is used) the front desk will tell you where they pick up for Tulum. The ruins are a little small, but still worthwhile. The beach is AMAZING there, but small and a little crowded when we went. Chichen Itza: we took one of the "Hey, Amigo we have a great price for you..." trips offered on 5th Ave. It was cheap, but in hindsight I wished we took the ADO bus on Juarez (1st St.) and 5th Ave. It would have been a bit more expensive, but more efficient. The tour company "XE tours" was not organized, late and the air conditioning in the van rarely produced cold air. It was over 95 degrees that day. We took an ADO bus back to the airport and it was great. Do Chichen Itza on your own and take the ADO bus. You'll enjoy the experience more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lab's
Business
El Centro, CA
Jul 3, 2010

"Honeymoon Trip"

Great Staff! Good food! Great Happy Hour 2 for 1 drink specials.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spring, Texas
May 16, 2010

Outstanding hidden gem

This was a wonderful hotel and spa. The location is perfect and gives you a great many options. Just blocks from 5th ave you can enjoy the sightas and the sounds then just walk home for a romatic night on you private patio and ours had a hot tub and a hammock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

[...] The hotel staff put us on some great food and a local beach that was wonderful. DO NOT LET THE VENDORS OR STREET MERCHANTS talk you into anything you will be sorry as were we. [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laurie "Mis Nalgas Flotan"
Business
Watsonville, CA
Apr 28, 2010

Everything you want, and more!

This was our best vacation yet! Our room had a lovely private balcony overlooking the tropical garden and pool and included a wonderful healthy breakfast with fresh fruit juices and a killer salsa! Our days included a jog on the endless white sandy beach,relaxing under a palapa with a margarita, gazing at the ultra turquoise ocean, shopping, listening to all the various accents of the eclectic international crowd and of course eating fresh seafood everywhere! Day trips were really fun to plan. We took a ferry to Cozumel, rented scooters and drove around the island eating the best ceviche ever! Another day we went to the ruins right on the beach called Tulum. We learned the best way to do this was to hire a taxi for the day. The driver also took us to a cenote, after waiting for our tour at the ruins to be done. Day trips are great, but tiring, and to be returned right to our door at La Tortuga with the friendly staff greeting you with a smile was wonderful! Then we opened the door to our clean room only to discover another delightful folded towel creation on the bed! I couldn't believe the creativity of our maid named [...]! Swans, rabbits, sheep, even an iguana! In reflection, the incredible high level of hospitality and care at La Tortuga Hotel and Spa is what really made our vacation sublime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great ceviche on the beach at La Pirata.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iacopo
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 26, 2010

LaTortuga Review

Nice hotel with familiar atmosphere, it is located in the center of Playa del Carmen. Staff is friendly and helpful suggesting place to discover. You have the possibility to travel around Riviera Maya and in the evening enjoy the Playa nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Mar 21, 2010

Highly recommend for couples

Have traveling many times to this area, staying at All-Inclusives only. I really enjoyed staying at La Tortuga, being close to so many restaurants and shopping just by walking out the door of this hotel. The hotel was wonderful, the rooms were spotless, the breakfast was great. Happy Hour was fun. It was only a short 6 minute walk to Zenzi's Beach Club, had the best sevice and lunches there daily. I will definitely go back to La Tortuga again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Escapees from Cold and Snow
Business
US
Mar 6, 2010

Relaxing Getaway

Nice hotel, with a good hot breakfast included in the price. Our room overlooked the lovely pool area, but we didn't have a balcony, which would have been nice (other rooms do). Internet signal was weak in our room, but strong by the pool and bar area (also a computer is available on the bar for guests' use.) No elevator (we were on the 3rd floor). Friendly and helpful staff; welcome drink upon arrival. Staff arranged tours for us. Excellent location - the main shopping and restaurant area only a block away, and the ocean about 2-3 blocks. Our only complaint was that housekeeping was a little lax and slow to clean the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The stores are nice and varied, but the street vendors are like mosquitoes - once they find a potential host, they are reluctant to leave!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Mom of 2
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 3, 2010

Gem in the heart of town

Lovely setting. Junior suite was luxurious, with rooftop jacuzzi. We were able to easily access all the nightlife and dining from our location. Relaxing came easily. Easy to venture out on tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try skipping the whole ferry to Cozumel experience (intensely touristy). We had a great solo snorkeling experience in Puerta Morales. Hotel staff helped us rent a car for a short drive to this picturesque fishing village to the north, where the reef snorkeling was uncrowded and fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top