$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
86 reviews
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
La Tortuga was exactly what I was looking for!

We went to Playa Del Carmen to spend 8 days celebrating my birthday the week of March18.... See full review

  • Uniqny
  • Mar 28, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

Hotel Map

20.637 -87.066
Area served
Playa Del Carmen.
Nearby airports
International Airport:CANCUN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT -65 Kms, 45 MIN Domestic Airport:PLAYA DEL CARMEN -1 KM
Area description
La Tortuga, Hotel & Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, the perfect place to set up base for your visit to the Riviera Maya. 45 minutes from Cancun Intl. Airport. Two blocks from the most beautiful stretch of white sandy beach, just around the corner from the famous 5th Avenue with its myriad of cafes, restaurants and colorful Mexican handicrafts. The open design is a reflection of the warm Caribbean weather, with attention to details, the hotel has created a charming personal ambiance, which makes you feel comfortable and relaxed, yet refined.

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.7

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa players
Lake Tahoe
Nov 27, 2010

Wonderful in town hotel

While out Scuba diving on my 65th birthday; the hotel staff decorated our room, left chocolate covered strawberries and a chilled bottle of bubbly. How's that for caring staff? Best hotel staff - every day not just on my B'day - with their greetings and helpful suggestions. Oh, and their full menu complementary breakfast at the attached La Bistro is a wonderful way to start the day,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When to arrive and what to do first at Xplor. They also suggested dining places, shopping, beaches, plus arranged other activities at our request.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Nov 25, 2010

La Totuga

Fantastic experience. Highly recommend this hotel. Service and staff were exceptional and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Nov 25, 2010

La Totuga

Fantastic experience. Highly recommend this hotel. Service and staff were exceptional and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MexicanaFirstTimer
New York, NY
Oct 27, 2010

TLC

The hotel is just one block away from the bustly 5th Avenue, but far enough so that you are not kept awake by street noise. The room was clean, the free wireless was fast, and breakfast at the adjoining Bistro was varied and delicious. The staff could not be any friendlier or more helpful. We stayed for a week, and were given a room with a huge balcony on 10th Avenue. No security issues. Mamitas Beach Club (access to which is included) is one of the nicest spots on the beachfront. The only negative thing was the towels. I may be picky, but I wish they were softer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mamitas beach club is a good 8 blocks away from the hotel. Always a nice walk, but as long as you are not expecting to be directly on the beachfront.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MexicanaFirstTimer
New York, NY
Oct 27, 2010

TLC

The hotel is just one block away from the bustly 5th Avenue, but far enough so that you are not kept awake by street noise. The room was clean, the free wireless was fast, and breakfast at the adjoining Bistro was varied and delicious. The staff could not be any friendlier or more helpful. We stayed for a week, and were given a room with a huge balcony on 10th Avenue. No security issues. Mamitas Beach Club (access to which is included) is one of the nicest spots on the beachfront. The only negative thing was the towels. I may be picky, but I wish they were softer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mamitas beach club is a good 8 blocks away from the hotel. Always a nice walk, but as long as you are not expecting to be directly on the beachfront.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Muy bonito!

Staff super helpful and friendly, rooms spotless, grounds gorgeous, food fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Muy bonito!

Staff super helpful and friendly, rooms spotless, grounds gorgeous, food fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Aug 27, 2010

Overall happy

Nice hotel. Clean and nice staff. Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Aug 27, 2010

Overall happy

Nice hotel. Clean and nice staff. Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennz
Vienna, VA
Aug 11, 2010

Perfect little get-away

La Tortuga was beautiful with a quiet quaint feel to it. The pool was refreshing and clean and perfect for cooling off or lounging with a book and/or drink. It was not a huge pool but rather two circular type pools that were kind of playful - there was a little bridge in the middle of one where you can swim under it, and another section where the put little pillars you can swim through as well. It was in the perfect location just a couple blocks from the beach, several blocks from the ferry, several blocks from the bus stop, and a couple blocks to the restaurants/bars/street shops. The staff was friendly and really helpful and the breakfast was amazing. I was expecting the included breakfast to be more like a bagel and eggs but I got fresh fruit juice, and each menu item was a heaping plate of deliciousness. I definitely recommend the Mayan eggs (huevos motulenos) - it was a fried tortilla topped with two over easy eggs, fresh pureed tomato salsa, peas, bacon, chunks of ham, queso crema, with black beans and hash on the side ... yum. I was given vouchers for a beach umbrella and chair over at Mamita's which was several blocks away from La Tortuga. The first day I didn't even make it there. After a few blocks with the heat, the water looked too beautiful so I just dumped my stuff down and ran in. One day my friend and I ventured over there because he couldn't take much more sun but all the umbrellas were taken. You probably have to get there pretty early. We asked to use one of the other umbrellas with the cushier chairs that were available and would have been buying drinks but they wanted like 40 USD so that was a bust. Later other travelers told us that The Blue Parrot (club/bar on the beach) would let you use the umbrellas/chairs free if you paid for drinks so I'll keep that in mind for next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would definitely recommend going to visit the cenotes - caves that have sunken into these fresh water pools. I went to Cenote Cristalino - if you take the collectivo there (vans that line up near the bus station) it is only 20 pesos (less than 2USD) and then it is 40 pesos to get in. The water is cool and refreshing and the locals hanging out there were super nice. There is a little clifflette you can jump off too into the water.

Back to menu Return to top