$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jan 30, 2011

We had a nice stay

Great location and a fair price. Clean and well taken care of with friendly staff. Restaurant breakfast was included and very nice. Only down was noise from 10th avenue - suggest you get a room that isn't on 10th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block from 5th avenue with lots of shops and restuarants close by. short walk to beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie & Bob
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Dec 12, 2010

7 Day Escape to Playa Del Carmen

La Tortuga was a lovely hotel sort of hidden on the streets of Playa del Carmen. The hotel was beautiful and centers around a pool and lush tropical garden area. Our room was not large, but suited us fine since we were out almost every day. Service was very attentive. The hotel was always clean inside and out. The hotel's restaurant located on site, "El Bistro", was great - probably one of the best restaurants in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely spend at least one day at Xel-Ha. It is about a 30 mile drive south of Playa del Carmen - but it is well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa players
Business
Lake Tahoe
Nov 27, 2010

Wonderful in town hotel

While out Scuba diving on my 65th birthday; the hotel staff decorated our room, left chocolate covered strawberries and a chilled bottle of bubbly. How's that for caring staff? Best hotel staff - every day not just on my B'day - with their greetings and helpful suggestions. Oh, and their full menu complementary breakfast at the attached La Bistro is a wonderful way to start the day,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When to arrive and what to do first at Xplor. They also suggested dining places, shopping, beaches, plus arranged other activities at our request.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Nov 27, 2010

nice botique

hotel was nice, staff is friendly. rooms are clean. ac is cold. only complaint is the hot tub was barely luke warm and the pool is pretty chilly and in the shade pretty much all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 25, 2010

La Totuga

Fantastic experience. Highly recommend this hotel. Service and staff were exceptional and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MexicanaFirstTimer
Business
New York, NY
Oct 27, 2010

TLC

The hotel is just one block away from the bustly 5th Avenue, but far enough so that you are not kept awake by street noise. The room was clean, the free wireless was fast, and breakfast at the adjoining Bistro was varied and delicious. The staff could not be any friendlier or more helpful. We stayed for a week, and were given a room with a huge balcony on 10th Avenue. No security issues. Mamitas Beach Club (access to which is included) is one of the nicest spots on the beachfront. The only negative thing was the towels. I may be picky, but I wish they were softer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mamitas beach club is a good 8 blocks away from the hotel. Always a nice walk, but as long as you are not expecting to be directly on the beachfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Muy bonito!

Staff super helpful and friendly, rooms spotless, grounds gorgeous, food fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Aug 27, 2010

Overall happy

Nice hotel. Clean and nice staff. Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennz
Business
Vienna, VA
Aug 11, 2010

Perfect little get-away

La Tortuga was beautiful with a quiet quaint feel to it. The pool was refreshing and clean and perfect for cooling off or lounging with a book and/or drink. It was not a huge pool but rather two circular type pools that were kind of playful - there was a little bridge in the middle of one where you can swim under it, and another section where the put little pillars you can swim through as well. It was in the perfect location just a couple blocks from the beach, several blocks from the ferry, several blocks from the bus stop, and a couple blocks to the restaurants/bars/street shops. The staff was friendly and really helpful and the breakfast was amazing. I was expecting the included breakfast to be more like a bagel and eggs but I got fresh fruit juice, and each menu item was a heaping plate of deliciousness. I definitely recommend the Mayan eggs (huevos motulenos) - it was a fried tortilla topped with two over easy eggs, fresh pureed tomato salsa, peas, bacon, chunks of ham, queso crema, with black beans and hash on the side ... yum. I was given vouchers for a beach umbrella and chair over at Mamita's which was several blocks away from La Tortuga. The first day I didn't even make it there. After a few blocks with the heat, the water looked too beautiful so I just dumped my stuff down and ran in. One day my friend and I ventured over there because he couldn't take much more sun but all the umbrellas were taken. You probably have to get there pretty early. We asked to use one of the other umbrellas with the cushier chairs that were available and would have been buying drinks but they wanted like 40 USD so that was a bust. Later other travelers told us that The Blue Parrot (club/bar on the beach) would let you use the umbrellas/chairs free if you paid for drinks so I'll keep that in mind for next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would definitely recommend going to visit the cenotes - caves that have sunken into these fresh water pools. I went to Cenote Cristalino - if you take the collectivo there (vans that line up near the bus station) it is only 20 pesos (less than 2USD) and then it is 40 pesos to get in. The water is cool and refreshing and the locals hanging out there were super nice. There is a little clifflette you can jump off too into the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 2, 2010

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa Rocks!!!

This hotel was great! The staff was nice and the scenery was beautiful. It was quiet and very relaxing there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top