$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
52 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

Hotel Map

20.637 -87.066
Area served
Playa Del Carmen.
Nearby airports
International Airport:CANCUN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT -65 Kms, 45 MIN Domestic Airport:PLAYA DEL CARMEN -1 KM
Area description
La Tortuga, Hotel & Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, the perfect place to set up base for your visit to the Riviera Maya. 45 minutes from Cancun Intl. Airport. Two blocks from the most beautiful stretch of white sandy beach, just around the corner from the famous 5th Avenue with its myriad of cafes, restaurants and colorful Mexican handicrafts. The open design is a reflection of the warm Caribbean weather, with attention to details, the hotel has created a charming personal ambiance, which makes you feel comfortable and relaxed, yet refined.

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YYLM
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Good hotel, but be careful for the room description

I think this is the issue of both of website and the hotel. I picked Standard plan which description was '2 twin beds, 2 queens beds, or one king bed'. It looks I can choose 2 beds, however, I was told 2 beds room needs more $20/night. Additionally, this room had no balcony. I think this kind of hotel should have a balcony (and, again, I was told 2 beds room had a balcony), otherwise, it should be mentioned. If I knew no 2 beds room and no balcony, I would not pick this hotel. The hotel itself was not bad at all. It's located center of the tourist area and staff was all friendly. The restaurant, Le Bistro was much much better than the restaurants along 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken N
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Very Good Stay

This is a very comfortable hotel with a welcoming staff in an outstanding location. Beautiful and quiet courtyard/pool area, reading area, sun deck, nice restuarant and friendly bar, One b;ock from all the happenings of 5th Avenue. Not fancy, just about perfect for the wife and me. Our only complaint was that the room could have had a little more light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed California
Business
Huntington Beach
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable experience

I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.I love it, close to fifth street and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard m
Business
Denver, Co
Sep 11, 2011

Good botique hotel

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Nice pool area that was kept very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Defintely use the ATM's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Murraba
Business
Auburn, AL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Near-perfect sanctuary in a great beach town

La Tortuga was everything we hoped for in a boutique hotel and more. It is built around a beautiful garden with a swimming pool meandering like a river among the trees and a warming jacuzzi for contrast. Included in the price was the best breakfast I've ever been offered by a hotel--including eggs Benedict. The staff was unflaggingly friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and cool with excellent air conditioning and a ceiling fan to dissolve the August heat. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lido Beach about Avenida 11 is a terrific place to borrow a chair with an umbrella, order a bucket of cold cervesas, and get a beach massage. Origenes, La Mission, and Carboncitas are excellent dining values.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2011

Very satisfied

Wonderful experience. Hotel was excellent with friendly, helpful staff. Decorated my daughter's room with balloons, flowers and birthday messages on her birthday. Staff were always happy and smiling. Would definitely recommend. Couple of blocks away from beach - easy access to beach and lots of shopping and restaurants closeby. Very convenient. Hotel arranged great R.T. transportation from Cancun airport to the hotel. Restaurant served great food - super breakfast served up until noon. We would go back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Origenes - went to this restaurant three times - great food and our favorite was the grilled shrimp with mango sauce. Just ask for Marco there and you can take your own bottle of wine to drink with your meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tania Luz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 13, 2011

Excellent Service, Perfect Location!!!!

We had the best time. The hotel was cozy and beautiful. The service was excellent! The people is very friendly and helpful. They make you feel like home. The breakfast that is included with the package is awesome! Is not the typical continental buffet, you can choose what do you want to eat from the menu of the hotel's restaurant,The Bistro, wich is really good! You are so close from the 5th ave, one block and you are in the middle of everything. You also have a free access to Mamitas beach, wich is one of the best beach clubs of the area. The beach is in a walking distance as well as the nightclubs, restaurants...very convenient!! If you are not traveling with kids, this is the best place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant LA PESCA. Best seafood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
staceyreviewer
Business
Asheville, NC
Jun 27, 2011

La Tortuga review

Beautiful hotel tucked away and private but right on the main strip of activities, restaurants, etc. (5th ave). Had a great time. Staff was wonderful, food was great - not a bad meal the entire week. Very quiet and comfortable, no crowds, kids or noise which was perfect for a relaxing vacation. Would highly recommend to other couples who want to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We used Bambu tours for several outings - reasonable and organized.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr. Navarro
Business
Salzburg, Austria
Jun 18, 2011

Arriba La Tortuga!!!

My wife and I spend our 3 week Honeymoon at Hotel La Tortuga in Playa del Carmen and we could not ask for anything better. The Hotels location is great. The food at Bistro is fantastic(Breakfast is inclusive), the Service is great..I would like to thank [...] (Hotel Manager) for all the accomodations as well as [...](Food and Beverage), [...] and [...] from Reception,[...] (Cheff) [...], [...] and the guys from Bistro Restaurant, the Cleaning lady who made everyday a different figure with the towels and always friendly. They did all a fantastic job making our stay very enjoyable. Muchas Gracias!!!We also spend a couple of day and one night at the Cabanas Hotel in Tulum(also from Tortuga). We would really recommended for Honeymooners. The place is fantastic, right in front of the Beach and very quiet!!. It is very romantic!! The rooms are simple, but very clean and they even have a Hammock per room....[...] and the staff make a great job making the guest have a magnificent experience..They make a Margaritas night demo and a Coco Loco demo which were delicious and also very fun...The Food is deliciuos and cheff [...] even demostrates how to prepare ceviches and gives recipes if asked for...We would highly recommend La Tortuga as well as Cabanas Tulum as a place to stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jan 30, 2011

We had a nice stay

Great location and a fair price. Clean and well taken care of with friendly staff. Restaurant breakfast was included and very nice. Only down was noise from 10th avenue - suggest you get a room that isn't on 10th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block from 5th avenue with lots of shops and restuarants close by. short walk to beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top