$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
86 reviews
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
La Tortuga was exactly what I was looking for!

We went to Playa Del Carmen to spend 8 days celebrating my birthday the week of March18.... See full review

  • Uniqny
  • Mar 28, 2014
Award-winning boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Highlights:
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Rooms:
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Features:

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business­
  • High-speed wireless Internet

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers one King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, private jacuzzi, bathrobes and slippers, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Balcony, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard
The room offers 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Standard Plus
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 King or 2 Queen with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Private jacuzzi, Balcony, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Map

20.637 -87.066
Area served
Playa Del Carmen.
Nearby airports
International Airport:CANCUN INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT -65 Kms, 45 MIN Domestic Airport:PLAYA DEL CARMEN -1 KM
Area description
La Tortuga, Hotel & Spa, is perfectly located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, the perfect place to set up base for your visit to the Riviera Maya. 45 minutes from Cancun Intl. Airport. Two blocks from the most beautiful stretch of white sandy beach, just around the corner from the famous 5th Avenue with its myriad of cafes, restaurants and colorful Mexican handicrafts. The open design is a reflection of the warm Caribbean weather, with attention to details, the hotel has created a charming personal ambiance, which makes you feel comfortable and relaxed, yet refined.

Dining

EL BISTRO
Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.7

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jetduck
Round Rock, Texas
Jul 21, 2012

Quiet romantic getaway

Beautiful pool. Very nice clean room with A/C and nice bathroom. Free breakfast in there own cafe. Very good food. 1 short block off the main market street of 5th. Lots of restraunts and shopping close by. Close to the COCO Bongo club. Had a great time scuba diving. Also had a lot of fun on a jungle zipline/ ATV tour with a nice swim in a Cenote. Will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Negotiate with the Airport transport shuttle. Another couple only paid $50 for round trip to Tulum which is about 20 miles past Playa.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Morganne
Portland, ME
Jul 10, 2014

Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service from all the staff. They were all very welcoming and truly went out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay. The pool was great - more like a lazy river shape which made it more fun. The inclusive breakfast was delicious and filling. They give you beach/pool towels which you can swap out and get new ones as many times a day as you need. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and our room was thoroughly cleaned every day. You can't beat the location (one block from 5th Ave). It is not on the beach but that's a good thing. You don't have to deal with the bass thumping club music day & night from the beach clubs, restaurants and bars. We will definitely go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get bottled water, forgotten personal items, snacks and beverages at Mega (grocery store) about a 5 minute walk away to tide you over between meals. Also grab a pool noodle for $2 so you can float in the ocean and pool for hours. Take a cab back to the hotel for $5 (50 pesos). *Remember to tip the person who bags your groceries as they only get paid in tips.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uniqny
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

La Tortuga was exactly what I was looking for!

We went to Playa Del Carmen to spend 8 days celebrating my birthday the week of March18. Originally, we rented a condo in the exclusive gated community in Playacar, but on day 3, that place turned into a horror story of bad plumbing and no A/C. I did not want to spend my vacation in a place I HATED going back to. So that night, I went online and booked La Tortuga. The next day, we went to breakfast, spent a few hours on the beach and checked into La Tortuga. I'm so glad I did! The room, although a bit smaller than we expected, was air-conditioned (a BIG plus), had a great bathroom (another BIG plus) had spacious closets, a large dresser, a safe, a large private balcony and a VERY comfortable bed. The hotel is on Avenida 10 (10th Ave), and yes, the street is currently being re-built. That means that there is a LOT of LOUD noise. But when we went into the room for the first time and closed the door, the room was QUIET. The walls are so thick and the door is sound proof that the noise just fell away immediately. Total peace and quiet, even though my door was DIRECTLY in front of the construction (I could see it through my door). This made the room totally worth it! Also, we were on vacation. So we were out of bed and on our way to breakfast by 8:30am and since we were out ALL DAY, we were in bed by 12am. Construction ran from 8:30am-8:30pm (or there about), so we were NEVER there when the noise was happening. And if we were there, it was only to clean up to go back out shopping, to dinner or downstairs to the bar and pool area. The staff was VERY professional and accommodating. The pool and hot tub are the perfect spot to take your margarita from the hotel bar and unwind from all the fun you had during the day before turning in for the night. I can't say how much I appreciate the last minute accommodations La Tortuga was able to make for us. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful at every step of the way. They really cared about how our stay was going. Oh, and breakfast at the restaurant on the bottom floor was included - so that was nice too! Good food. I definitely plan on making Playa and La Tortuga an annual birthday trip -- See you there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbodog
Michigan
Mar 2, 2014

Great staff

Very good location. Staff was just great.an older hotel, but very clean. Restaurant was good also.pool was very nice, but very shaded so kinda cold.i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super happy in da bridge..!!
Milan ( Italy )
Sep 13, 2013

Nice stay

The hotel is quite ok... The pool will be nice but in my opinion the water was too cold... The sea near the hotel is quite bad... You need to walk on the otherside of the port to find a nice sea... ( like 15/20 minutes walking ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katrina paul
birmingham UK
Oct 11, 2012

great stay

Very friendly staff and whilst its not beach front, excellent location and close to beach and other local amenities. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jetduck
Round Rock, Texas
Jul 21, 2012

Quiet romantic getaway

Beautiful pool. Very nice clean room with A/C and nice bathroom. Free breakfast in there own cafe. Very good food. 1 short block off the main market street of 5th. Lots of restraunts and shopping close by. Close to the COCO Bongo club. Had a great time scuba diving. Also had a lot of fun on a jungle zipline/ ATV tour with a nice swim in a Cenote. Will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Negotiate with the Airport transport shuttle. Another couple only paid $50 for round trip to Tulum which is about 20 miles past Playa.

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Coronaplease
USA
May 8, 2012

Very Disappointed

This hotel is way overpriced for the quality that is delivered. The rooms smell musty, the sheets and towels are old and have stains. They give you exactly one towel per person and one hand towel. Also no shower gel, only bars of soap and they never replenish shampoo or conditioner unless you ask. Very loud noise coming from club next door and hotel management was not accommodating, as the other reviews will lead you to believe- management and staff will totally ignore you once you've paid. Finally there is absolutely no one at the front dest past 11pm which is pretty concerning- not even anyone to answer the phone if you have a problem!! Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicpilou
Morristown, NJ, USA
Mar 24, 2012

gem of a place for Playa del Carmen

We are 2 adults in our 60th and the beauty and calm of the hotel was just what we needed for our week vacation in Playa. The upgraded room with balcony was fine for us, good king size bed, flat screen TV that we barely watched, very good restaurant for food and service, staff was really nice and the experience was a daily enjoyment. every room gets a safe for valuable, the maid decorated our bed with Towels's arrangment every evening, and we fell at home with the computer for all at the Bar and the sitting arrangement all around the pool. We loved our massage too, charming staff and Spa. The location is great, one block from Avenida 5, where all the action was, but far enough to remain quiet for us on the side of the hotel we were at (room 309) and the walk to the beach club was enjoyable looking at stores and vendors. Las Mamitas Beach Cllub was too noisy for us with loud music and lots of teen agers, we enjoyed the beach club next to hotel Mosquito Beach, way more civilized, large comfortable beach beds, brazilian soft jazz music and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

have dinner at the tiny but nevertheless so ldelicious new restaurant in town calle OHLALA! we went twice it was so good! way above what you get in any other place in Playa

Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YYLM
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Good hotel, but be careful for the room description

I think this is the issue of both of website and the hotel. I picked Standard plan which description was '2 twin beds, 2 queens beds, or one king bed'. It looks I can choose 2 beds, however, I was told 2 beds room needs more $20/night. Additionally, this room had no balcony. I think this kind of hotel should have a balcony (and, again, I was told 2 beds room had a balcony), otherwise, it should be mentioned. If I knew no 2 beds room and no balcony, I would not pick this hotel. The hotel itself was not bad at all. It's located center of the tourist area and staff was all friendly. The restaurant, Le Bistro was much much better than the restaurants along 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken N
Lansing, MI, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Very Good Stay

This is a very comfortable hotel with a welcoming staff in an outstanding location. Beautiful and quiet courtyard/pool area, reading area, sun deck, nice restuarant and friendly bar, One b;ock from all the happenings of 5th Avenue. Not fancy, just about perfect for the wife and me. Our only complaint was that the room could have had a little more light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top