$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

3 stars
View map of Avenida 10 Esquina Calle 14, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
57 reviews
Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best.... See full review

  • Crystal6828
  • Aug 20, 2014
Excellent stay for an adult vacation

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service... See full review

  • Morganne
  • Jul 10, 2014
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa was named Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in the 2010 World Travel Awards. The hotel is located on Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue. The adults-only hotel is a short walk to a number of beach clubs and boasts a beautiful pool and accompanying Las Margaritas pool bar, open only to guests of the hotel. La Tortuga's convenient location makes it easy to access all that Playa del Carmen and the Yucatan has to offer. The hotel prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail.
Rooms
Expect elegantly simple accommodations with regional art and decor throughout the rooms. Suite options include the standard, standard plus, junior suite and superior junior suite. Standard rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and room safe. The superior junior suite features private Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers and private balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet is available for all guests. Honeymooners are welcomed to La Tortuga with a special surprise.
Property features

Guests at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa have access to the on-site pool, restaurant and Zen Eco Spa. The spa combines Mayan ancestral techniques with current technologies to create a memorable experience. The hotel is centrally located to a number of adventure activities including water sports, scuba diving and archeological tours. Downtown Playa del Carmen offers a plethora of shopping and dining options as well as the chance to walk through the city's ancient streets.

Highlights
  • Adults-only
  • Centrally and conveniently located in Playa del Carmen
  • Awarded Mexico's Leading Boutique Hotel in 2010
Nearby attractions
  • Xcaret (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Xel-Ha (30 mi/48 km)
  • Tulum (37 mi/60 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)

Top hotels

La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers:

  • One King bed
  • Air conditioning
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Color TV
  • Ensuite/Private bathroom
  • Private jacuzzi
  • Bathrobes and slippers
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Balcony
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Standard
    The room offers:

  • 2 Twin or 2 Queen or 1 Queen or 1 King bed
  • Air conditioning
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Color TV
  • Ensuite/Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Standard Plus
    The room offers:

  • 1 King or 2 Queen
  • Air conditioning
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Color TV
  • Ensuite/Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Junior Suite
    The room offers:

  • 1 King or 2 Queen
  • Air conditioning
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Color TV
  • Ensuite/Private bathroom
  • Hairdryer
  • Mini bar
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking

    Dining

    EL BISTRO
    Bistro' Restaurant and Bar serves fine International Fusion Cuisine. Salads, sandwiches, light snacks for lunch. Wine cellar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    57 out of 57
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.8
    Comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    4.7
    Value:
    4.6

    98% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Jetduck
    Round Rock, Texas
    Jul 21, 2012

    Quiet romantic getaway

    Beautiful pool. Very nice clean room with A/C and nice bathroom. Free breakfast in there own cafe. Very good food. 1 short block off the main market street of 5th. Lots of restraunts and shopping close by. Close to the COCO Bongo club. Had a great time scuba diving. Also had a lot of fun on a jungle zipline/ ATV tour with a nice swim in a Cenote. Will be back!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Negotiate with the Airport transport shuttle. Another couple only paid $50 for round trip to Tulum which is about 20 miles past Playa.

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mike the expat
    Business
    COLVILLE
    Jun 15, 2015

    A wee in Playa Carmen

    La Tortuga was a very good value, the room was decent for the price, bed was good, the shower door opened the wrong way for checking water temp, water pressure was excellent. Staff was very helpful. The included full breakfast was served till one which was great, saved money. Well located and a beautiful pool complex courtyard. Playa Carmen is totally tourist no local culture, but plenty of restaurant and shopping choices, lots of outside activities available, stay off of 5th if looking for value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    nanny granny
    Business
    Yorkshire England
    Nov 30, 2014

    great 1st visit to mexico

    this small friendly hotel is in a quiet location yet only 5 mins walk from 5th avenue and the beach, it was clean comfortable and had great friendly staff who did everything possible to ensure you enjoyed your stay it was great value for money.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Brazilian steak house short walk across the road from hotel is very good.

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    James TX
    Business
    Dallas, TX
    Nov 11, 2014

    One night stay

    We stayed one night, so limited to a short stay. Stayed over a Sunday night in room 207, great view of the courtyard and pool area. Service at front desk and bellboy were excellent and quick. Had to leave a deposit for their room bar. Bell person was kind enough to offer to run across the street and pick a few items while we settle in. Hotel was very quite, didn't see anyone in the pool but got there an hour or so before the sunset. We had a nice balcony with 2 chair to sit out and enjoy the evening. Room a little small, but functional, bathroom in need of a little updating, Overall ok. Could hear some noise off in the distance until 4am. It wasn't super loud, but could hear if you are a light sleeper. My partner did not hear anything and slept soundly. Of course, night club C-B, that shares the other end of the block was closed for the night and not sure how much impact it would have if opened. Very close to 5th avenue, where all the bars, shops, restaurants are located. and probably approx. 3 blocks to the beach. the complimentary breakfast, was limited. 3 options, mine was the American selection, consisting of scramble egg, hash browns, black beans and toast. With orange juice and tea or coffee. they did have another menu that you could pay for. Overall for the price approx.$100+Tax, it was a great deal.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Plenty of Dinning and shopping nearby

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Crystal6828
    Business
    Austin, TX
    Aug 20, 2014

    Awesome, cute hotel, awesome food!

    Of all the restaurants we tried in Playa, ComoComo, the hotel restaurant was pretty much the best. The staff truly went out of their way to provide excellent customer service. The hotel was adorable, and the perfect size, not too big, not too small. We stayed here 3 days, then went to a 5 star all inclusive resort to experience the luxury side. Our next trip will only include this hotel, as the other did not compare in the level of service, and quality of food and drink. We loved being right in the middle of town, two blocks from the beach. We were able to go out and participate in many local activities, rent a car, and visit the other islands. Amazing.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Margaritas were awesome.

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Morganne
    Business
    Portland, ME
    Jul 10, 2014

    Excellent stay for an adult vacation

    This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at on vacation. We received exceptional customer service from all the staff. They were all very welcoming and truly went out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay. The pool was great - more like a lazy river shape which made it more fun. The inclusive breakfast was delicious and filling. They give you beach/pool towels which you can swap out and get new ones as many times a day as you need. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and our room was thoroughly cleaned every day. You can't beat the location (one block from 5th Ave). It is not on the beach but that's a good thing. You don't have to deal with the bass thumping club music day & night from the beach clubs, restaurants and bars. We will definitely go back again!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Get bottled water, forgotten personal items, snacks and beverages at Mega (grocery store) about a 5 minute walk away to tide you over between meals. Also grab a pool noodle for $2 so you can float in the ocean and pool for hours. Take a cab back to the hotel for $5 (50 pesos). *Remember to tip the person who bags your groceries as they only get paid in tips.

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Uniqny
    Business
    Texas
    Mar 28, 2014

    La Tortuga was exactly what I was looking for!

    We went to Playa Del Carmen to spend 8 days celebrating my birthday the week of March18. Originally, we rented a condo in the exclusive gated community in Playacar, but on day 3, that place turned into a horror story of bad plumbing and no A/C. I did not want to spend my vacation in a place I HATED going back to. So that night, I went online and booked La Tortuga. The next day, we went to breakfast, spent a few hours on the beach and checked into La Tortuga. I'm so glad I did! The room, although a bit smaller than we expected, was air-conditioned (a BIG plus), had a great bathroom (another BIG plus) had spacious closets, a large dresser, a safe, a large private balcony and a VERY comfortable bed. The hotel is on Avenida 10 (10th Ave), and yes, the street is currently being re-built. That means that there is a LOT of LOUD noise. But when we went into the room for the first time and closed the door, the room was QUIET. The walls are so thick and the door is sound proof that the noise just fell away immediately. Total peace and quiet, even though my door was DIRECTLY in front of the construction (I could see it through my door). This made the room totally worth it! Also, we were on vacation. So we were out of bed and on our way to breakfast by 8:30am and since we were out ALL DAY, we were in bed by 12am. Construction ran from 8:30am-8:30pm (or there about), so we were NEVER there when the noise was happening. And if we were there, it was only to clean up to go back out shopping, to dinner or downstairs to the bar and pool area. The staff was VERY professional and accommodating. The pool and hot tub are the perfect spot to take your margarita from the hotel bar and unwind from all the fun you had during the day before turning in for the night. I can't say how much I appreciate the last minute accommodations La Tortuga was able to make for us. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful at every step of the way. They really cared about how our stay was going. Oh, and breakfast at the restaurant on the bottom floor was included - so that was nice too! Good food. I definitely plan on making Playa and La Tortuga an annual birthday trip -- See you there!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Jimbodog
    Business
    Michigan
    Mar 2, 2014

    Great staff

    Very good location. Staff was just great.an older hotel, but very clean. Restaurant was good also.pool was very nice, but very shaded so kinda cold.i would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    super happy in da bridge..!!
    Business
    Milan ( Italy )
    Sep 13, 2013

    Nice stay

    The hotel is quite ok... The pool will be nice but in my opinion the water was too cold... The sea near the hotel is quite bad... You need to walk on the otherside of the port to find a nice sea... ( like 15/20 minutes walking ).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of La Tortuga Hotel and Spa - Adults Only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    katrina paul
    Business
    birmingham UK
    Oct 11, 2012

    great stay

    Very friendly staff and whilst its not beach front, excellent location and close to beach and other local amenities. Thank you

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top