$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Kinbe Agua y Tierra

3 stars
View map of Calle 10 Norte, Entre 1 Y 5 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
28 reviews
great location

the hotel has a beautiful design, minimalist, very clean, great location, fine service, something... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 24, 2010
I love Kinbe!!!

The room was small, minimally furnished, a bit stuffy, but perfect for what we needed. The hotel is... See full review

  • Meghan and Matt
  • Apr 23, 2009
The Kinbe is close by the famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen and just 50 meters from the beach.

Kinbe Agua y Tierra is an inspired fusion of lush garden setting "garden zone" (Tierra element - Kaab) and the charming "water zone" (Agua element-Ha) defined by a relaxing pool and the spectacular soundtrack of a subtle waterfall.

The unique shape design of the 29 rooms offers the guests a feeling that each room was designed especially for them.
The Earth element, Kaab features the following rooms:

  • Pretty
  • Moody
  • Garden

  • **All facing the tropical garden.**

    The Water element, Ha features the elegant Rugiada rooms.

    Both elements join together in the panoramic terrace, a unique scenery that melts the sky and amazing colors of the Caribbean Sea.

    Hotel Amenities

  • 24 hours front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • Concierge
  • Tropical garden
  • Pool
  • Panoramic terrace
  • Free wireless connection
  • Laundry service 24 hours delivery
  • Collaboration with beach club
  • Airport shuttle (subject to charge)

  • Room amenities

  • Air conditioning
  • Plasma TV
  • Telephone
  • Safety box
  • Minibar
  • Hairdryer
  • Wireless connection
  • Private bathroom


  • Children policy
  • Kids stay free from 0 -4 years. From 5 years and older will pay as an adult.


  • Honeymoon Special, Fall in love once again with our charming honeymoon pleasures.

    Be Loyal means be spoiled, if you stay at Kinbe for the second, third, fourth time, you will have a FREE Upgrade.
    Please contact the hotel staff prior arrival for these promotional special arrangements.

    Top hotels

    Kinbe Agua y Tierra Rooms

    Moody Room
    Comfortable room, with one king size bed
    Amenities:
  • 120 AC.
  • Cable TV.
  • King Bed.
  • TV.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Garden View.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Iron.
  • Shower.
  • Telephone.
  • TV Remote control.
  • WC.
  • Safety box.
  • WiFi.
  • Garden Room
    A creative 2 levels wooden loft: 1st Level with living room and sofa bed, Tv and Bathroom. 2nd Level with a king size bed.
    Amenities:
  • Garden View.
  • Loft.
  • Sofa Bed.
  • TV Remote control.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Balcony.
  • King Bed.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Iron.
  • Cable TV.
  • Safety Box.
  • WiFi.
  • Rugiada Room
    Charming stylish room with a king size bed, available with Balcony or Patio.
    Amenities:
  • Balcony.
  • Pool view.
  • King Bed.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Solarium.
  • Plasma TV.
  • TV Remote Control.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • Free internet in room
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet in room
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Common area: big terrace with amazing ocean-view, some chairs and tables.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    28 out of 28
    Amenities:
    2.9
    Cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Comfort:
    3.4
    Location:
    4.5
    Value:
    3.8

    75% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    dougefresh
    Couples
    Honolulu, HI, USA
    Aug 16, 2011

    Good Bargain, Close to Everything

    Our friends stayed at a $600/night all inclusive resort down the road, that we just couldn't afford so we chose the least expensive room at Kinbe to save some money. The only complaint I have is that the room was a little small, so I recommend getting one of the rooms overlooking the pool. I think they're a little bigger. Staff was very friendly and helpful, beach is within easy walking distance, and the air conditioners work great. (needed in August!) Also, not nearly as noisy as some other reviewers posted. It is a bit of a club scene party town, so be prepared. Great clubs and restaurants all nearby. Overall a great trip.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    For a better bargain on food, walk one more block away from the beach, from Avenida 5. We lunched at a hole in the wall taco joint called Tacochida. It was probably the best meal my wife and I had there, and it was only $10. It looked like there were a lot of similar places along the same stretch. Don't be a afraid to explore!

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Va Beach, VA
    Feb 18, 2010

    Great location; small room

    Very small room on third floor (no elevator). No closet; no coffee maker; small refrigerator; dark bathroom. Helpful staff. Short walk to beach but no free use of beach chairs. Location perfect for Playa del Carmen visit. Some noise at night but okay. Indoor pool not used by anyone. Deck on roof nice for evening cocktail (bring your own) or sun bathing.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Lots of bars, restaurants, scuba, snorkeling, beach activities, shopping within walking distance of hotel. No need to have a car but parking on street available at no charge.

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    La Gaviota
    Couples
    Houston, TX
    Mar 12, 2009

    Problems Check in!!

    THe hotel was very pretty. Too dark. The pool was great and the architecture of the hotel great!!. However, the front desk lady did not know about the internet special. She was giving a hard time and she want us to wait until the manager(owner) got there to approved it. Finally we got our room. Later we came back to deal with it. The manager did not even came out to say that I was with the right price of the internet. The internet had free breakfast, but they pretend like they did not know what I was talking about. So my husband and I let it go and did nothing about it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    really good restaurants at 5th ave.

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    shandajr
    Couples
    Minneapolis, MN
    Sep 6, 2013

    Great Value - but noisy

    We have stayed at the Kinbe many, many times due to the location and the cost. This is one of the least expensive hotels in Playa - and as long as you are ok with a lack of amenities then it will work for you. No elevators so pack lightly, you get to haul your luggage up and down the stairs. Close to the beach and right in the heart of town. This stay was during off season and lots of construction going on, which starts early in the morning and ends around 9pm, and of course it was right on the other side of our rooms wall. We have stayed here many times because of the price and location - plus it is a quaint little place with friendly staff. I HAVE recommended this location to friends and family many times, if you are staying on a budget this is the place to go.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    All up and down 5th ave - the dining is amazing. If you are looking for less expensive then go up to 10th ave or a bit further

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Mr. Mcbride
    Friends
    Mexico City
    Jun 10, 2014

    Good getaway

    Nothing fancy -- ordinary but it gets the job done

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    badrobby
    Couples
    san francisco
    Dec 30, 2010

    Kimbe is nice if you like cigarettes

    Nice staff, pretty rooms and grounds. however, they allow smoking in the rooms, and the smoke wafted up into our room whenever someone else was smoking. i personally hate cigarette smoke, so waking up every morning to someone chain smoking in their room was repulsive. the room was also pretty loud, i definitely had to sleep with earplugs every night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    sweco, carboncitos or el fogon have great cheap food.

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    AK
    Nov 21, 2010

    Twin bed rooms are average

    The hotel is worth the money, the twin rooms are not nearly as nice as the rooms with one king. Staff is here 24 hrs Always and they are nice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Single
    San Francisco Ca
    Feb 22, 2011

    Average with tiny rooms

    Satisfactory for the price - A glass bottle of water fell out of the mini-fridge & broke - an accident - I was charged $7 US for this after repeatedly explaining what happened. Everyone in the resort has hand out for money - there are no "bargains" anywhere. Never go back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Single

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Don't expect high quality food anywhere

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Massachusetts
    Feb 6, 2010

    Noisey!

    Upon arrival we were shown to a very small Queen smoking room. Our reservation clearly stated king non-smoking. The reception told us she would have to make a call to change our room and it would take some time. We told her we would go to 5th ave and get a beverage and hoped the problem would be resolved when we returned. It was and were shown to a room on the 3rd floor. King bed still not sure about the smoking but the room didn't smell and was larger and airy. What we think was the manager told us we should be very grateful as it was a free upgrade. Still thinking we had a reservation for king no smoking. If the hotel had mismanaged there room reservations that is clearly their problem and something we should be firmly told we should be grateful for.The hotel was very loud. The stairs are covered with tin. Very loud in a sandal.Lots of local noise til late at night. Not enough beach towels. At 10am we were told sorry all out. Turning your key in everytime you come and go was annoying at best. Could have been friendlier. Staff seemed phoney. L&A

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    ferry to cozomel rent a scooter and cruise the coast beautiful and lots of fun

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    A+E
    Family
    BAY AREA,CA
    Jul 31, 2010

    nice ambaince

    WELL IT STARTED OUT FINE UNTILL THEY KEPT CHANGING MY PARENTS ROOM 2 TIMES THE FIRST TIME BECAUSE THE ROOM WAS ONLY AVAILABLE FOR A FEW DAYS OF THEIR TRIP SO THEY CHANGE ROOMS...THEN THE SECONED TIME WAS THE PLUMMING IN THE ROOM WAS BACKING UP SO THEY CHANGE THEM AGAIN...WHAT PPISS ME OFF. YOU THINK THEY WAVE THE SNACK CHARGE FROM THE MINI BAR BUT THIS BEING MEXICO AND THERE VERY GREEDY WHEN IT COMES TO MONEY.PLUS THEY CHARGE ADDIONAL 40$ BECAUSE OF THE ROOMS TYPES...THEY SAID THEY WHERE GOING TO CHARGE US MORE BUT BECAUSE OF ALL THE INCONVENIENCE THEY WOULD ONLY CHARGE US 40$.........O WOW THANX ALOT.....NOT.MY BOYFRIEND AND I HAS BEEN TO THE HOTEL 2 YEARS AGO AND IT WAS A DEFFERNENT STAFF THEN.THE STAFF WAS NICE NOT ONCE DID I SEE THE HOUSEKEEPING LADY AND IF I DID SHE THEY DIDN'T SEEM NICE AT ALL.THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS NICE BUT I LIKE THE STAFF AND MISS THE STAFF 2 YEARS AGO!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    WHEN VISITING THE RUINS TAKE THE ADO OR LOCAL BUSES.YOU SAVE SO MUCH MONEY THEN TAKING THE TAXI! WHEN ARRIVING AT THE CANCUN AIRPORT AND IF YOUR GOING TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN TAKE THE ADO BUS!! ITS CHEAPER THEN THE TAXI

    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Washougal
    Nov 20, 2008

    Convenient Location

    I did enjoy the location of the Hotel as it is a block down from the main street in Play del Carmen and there is also a Starbucks on the corner. The staff was very freiendly. I was a little shocked by the size of the room. The room had a large bed with about 3 feet clearance on each of the 3 sides and the bathroom was equally as small. It worked okay for us as we were only staying one night but would not have wanted to stay any length of time in such small living quarters.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is shopping, restaurants and night life all within a short walking distance.

    Back to menu Return to top