$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Kinbe Agua y Tierra

3 stars
Calle 10 Norte, Entre 1 Y 5 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
30 reviews
great location

the hotel has a beautiful design, minimalist, very clean, great location, fine service, something... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 24, 2010
I love Kinbe!!!

The room was small, minimally furnished, a bit stuffy, but perfect for what we needed. The hotel is... See full review

  • Meghan and Matt
  • Apr 23, 2009
The Kinb close by the famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen and just 50 meters from the beach is an inspired fusion of lush garden setting "garden zone" (Tierra element - Kaab) and the charming "water zone" (Agua element-Ha) defined by a relaxing pool and the spectacular soundtrack of a subtle waterfall. The unique shape design of the 29 rooms offers the guests a feeling that each room was designed especially for them.
The Tierra element, Kaab features the following rooms: Pretty, Moody and Garden all facing the tropical garden.
The Agua element, Ha features the elegant Rugiada rooms.
Both elements join together in the panoramic terrace, a unique scenery that melts the sky and amazing colors of the Caribbean Sea.
Hotel Amenities: 24 hours front desk, multilingual staff, concierge, tropical garden, pool, panoramic terrace, free wireless connection, laundry service 24 hours delivery, collaboration with beach club, airport shuttle (subject to charge).
Room amenities: air conditioning, plasma TV, telephone, safety box, minibar, hairdryer, wireless connection and private bathroom.
Children policy: Kids stay free from 0 -4 years. From 5 years and older will pay as an adult. Honeymoon Special, Fall in love once again with our charming honeymoon pleasures.

Be Loyal means be spoiled, if you stay at Kinbe for the second, third, fourth time, you will have a FREE Upgrade.
Please contact the hotel staff prior arrival for these promotional special arrangements.

Hotel Map

20.6265 -87.0718
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport and Cozumel International Airport
Area description
From the Cancun International Airport take the Highway 307 overpass to Chetumal and then to Tulum. Playa del Carmen is 45 miles south of Cancun. When you reach Playa del Carmen take the first left to Avenida Constituyentes. Turn left into Avenida Constituyentes and go straight until you reach Avenida 1st. Continue straight until the end and then turn right.

Kinbe Agua y Tierra Rooms

Pretty
This cozy guest room features one double bed.
Rugiada
Charming and stylish room, one king size bed and extra bed on request. Particular jet shower in the private bathrooms. Balcony or patio pool view.
Garden
This suite features a king bed and a sofa' double bed. Most of the suites are divided into two levels: upstairs there is a wood loft with a king-size bed and downstairs a little living room with the sofa' bed.
Moody
This comfortable guest room features one king bed or two double beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Common area: big terrace with amazing ocean-view, some chairs and tables.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Feb 6, 2010

Noisey!

Upon arrival we were shown to a very small Queen smoking room. Our reservation clearly stated king non-smoking. The reception told us she would have to make a call to change our room and it would take some time. We told her we would go to 5th ave and get a beverage and hoped the problem would be resolved when we returned. It was and were shown to a room on the 3rd floor. King bed still not sure about the smoking but the room didn't smell and was larger and airy. What we think was the manager told us we should be very grateful as it was a free upgrade. Still thinking we had a reservation for king no smoking. If the hotel had mismanaged there room reservations that is clearly their problem and something we should be firmly told we should be grateful for.The hotel was very loud. The stairs are covered with tin. Very loud in a sandal.Lots of local noise til late at night. Not enough beach towels. At 10am we were told sorry all out. Turning your key in everytime you come and go was annoying at best. Could have been friendlier. Staff seemed phoney. L&A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ferry to cozomel rent a scooter and cruise the coast beautiful and lots of fun

Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A+E
BAY AREA,CA
Jul 31, 2010

nice ambaince

WELL IT STARTED OUT FINE UNTILL THEY KEPT CHANGING MY PARENTS ROOM 2 TIMES THE FIRST TIME BECAUSE THE ROOM WAS ONLY AVAILABLE FOR A FEW DAYS OF THEIR TRIP SO THEY CHANGE ROOMS...THEN THE SECONED TIME WAS THE PLUMMING IN THE ROOM WAS BACKING UP SO THEY CHANGE THEM AGAIN...WHAT PPISS ME OFF. YOU THINK THEY WAVE THE SNACK CHARGE FROM THE MINI BAR BUT THIS BEING MEXICO AND THERE VERY GREEDY WHEN IT COMES TO MONEY.PLUS THEY CHARGE ADDIONAL 40$ BECAUSE OF THE ROOMS TYPES...THEY SAID THEY WHERE GOING TO CHARGE US MORE BUT BECAUSE OF ALL THE INCONVENIENCE THEY WOULD ONLY CHARGE US 40$.........O WOW THANX ALOT.....NOT.MY BOYFRIEND AND I HAS BEEN TO THE HOTEL 2 YEARS AGO AND IT WAS A DEFFERNENT STAFF THEN.THE STAFF WAS NICE NOT ONCE DID I SEE THE HOUSEKEEPING LADY AND IF I DID SHE THEY DIDN'T SEEM NICE AT ALL.THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS NICE BUT I LIKE THE STAFF AND MISS THE STAFF 2 YEARS AGO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

WHEN VISITING THE RUINS TAKE THE ADO OR LOCAL BUSES.YOU SAVE SO MUCH MONEY THEN TAKING THE TAXI! WHEN ARRIVING AT THE CANCUN AIRPORT AND IF YOUR GOING TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN TAKE THE ADO BUS!! ITS CHEAPER THEN THE TAXI

Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PE in CT
West Hartford, CT
Dec 2, 2009

For those on a budget

Easy walk to beaches, restaurants and clubs. No hotel parking available. Have to pay to park in a public lot 2-1/2 blocks away. Hotel sign is difficult to see on building, hard to find at night. Cleaning staff was noisy outside room in morning. Tough to sleep in. Otherwise, comfortable beds and a good shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Mcbride
Mexico City
Jun 10, 2014

Good getaway

Nothing fancy -- ordinary but it gets the job done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco Ca
Feb 22, 2011

Average with tiny rooms

Satisfactory for the price - A glass bottle of water fell out of the mini-fridge & broke - an accident - I was charged $7 US for this after repeatedly explaining what happened. Everyone in the resort has hand out for money - there are no "bargains" anywhere. Never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't expect high quality food anywhere

Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
badrobby
san francisco
Dec 30, 2010

Kimbe is nice if you like cigarettes

Nice staff, pretty rooms and grounds. however, they allow smoking in the rooms, and the smoke wafted up into our room whenever someone else was smoking. i personally hate cigarette smoke, so waking up every morning to someone chain smoking in their room was repulsive. the room was also pretty loud, i definitely had to sleep with earplugs every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sweco, carboncitos or el fogon have great cheap food.

Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washougal
Nov 20, 2008

Convenient Location

I did enjoy the location of the Hotel as it is a block down from the main street in Play del Carmen and there is also a Starbucks on the corner. The staff was very freiendly. I was a little shocked by the size of the room. The room had a large bed with about 3 feet clearance on each of the 3 sides and the bathroom was equally as small. It worked okay for us as we were only staying one night but would not have wanted to stay any length of time in such small living quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is shopping, restaurants and night life all within a short walking distance.

Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shandajr
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 6, 2013

Great Value - but noisy

We have stayed at the Kinbe many, many times due to the location and the cost. This is one of the least expensive hotels in Playa - and as long as you are ok with a lack of amenities then it will work for you. No elevators so pack lightly, you get to haul your luggage up and down the stairs. Close to the beach and right in the heart of town. This stay was during off season and lots of construction going on, which starts early in the morning and ends around 9pm, and of course it was right on the other side of our rooms wall. We have stayed here many times because of the price and location - plus it is a quaint little place with friendly staff. I HAVE recommended this location to friends and family many times, if you are staying on a budget this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All up and down 5th ave - the dining is amazing. If you are looking for less expensive then go up to 10th ave or a bit further

Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
La Gaviota
Houston, TX
Mar 12, 2009

Problems Check in!!

THe hotel was very pretty. Too dark. The pool was great and the architecture of the hotel great!!. However, the front desk lady did not know about the internet special. She was giving a hard time and she want us to wait until the manager(owner) got there to approved it. Finally we got our room. Later we came back to deal with it. The manager did not even came out to say that I was with the right price of the internet. The internet had free breakfast, but they pretend like they did not know what I was talking about. So my husband and I let it go and did nothing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

really good restaurants at 5th ave.

Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Va Beach, VA
Feb 18, 2010

Great location; small room

Very small room on third floor (no elevator). No closet; no coffee maker; small refrigerator; dark bathroom. Helpful staff. Short walk to beach but no free use of beach chairs. Location perfect for Playa del Carmen visit. Some noise at night but okay. Indoor pool not used by anyone. Deck on roof nice for evening cocktail (bring your own) or sun bathing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars, restaurants, scuba, snorkeling, beach activities, shopping within walking distance of hotel. No need to have a car but parking on street available at no charge.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search