$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Kinbe Agua y Tierra

3 stars
Calle 10 Norte, Entre 1 Y 5 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
30 reviews
great location

the hotel has a beautiful design, minimalist, very clean, great location, fine service, something... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 24, 2010
I love Kinbe!!!

The room was small, minimally furnished, a bit stuffy, but perfect for what we needed. The hotel is... See full review

  • Meghan and Matt
  • Apr 23, 2009
The Kinb close by the famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen and just 50 meters from the beach is an inspired fusion of lush garden setting "garden zone" (Tierra element - Kaab) and the charming "water zone" (Agua element-Ha) defined by a relaxing pool and the spectacular soundtrack of a subtle waterfall. The unique shape design of the 29 rooms offers the guests a feeling that each room was designed especially for them.
The Tierra element, Kaab features the following rooms: Pretty, Moody and Garden all facing the tropical garden.
The Agua element, Ha features the elegant Rugiada rooms.
Both elements join together in the panoramic terrace, a unique scenery that melts the sky and amazing colors of the Caribbean Sea.
Hotel Amenities: 24 hours front desk, multilingual staff, concierge, tropical garden, pool, panoramic terrace, free wireless connection, laundry service 24 hours delivery, collaboration with beach club, airport shuttle (subject to charge).
Room amenities: air conditioning, plasma TV, telephone, safety box, minibar, hairdryer, wireless connection and private bathroom.
Children policy: Kids stay free from 0 -4 years. From 5 years and older will pay as an adult. Honeymoon Special, Fall in love once again with our charming honeymoon pleasures.

Be Loyal means be spoiled, if you stay at Kinbe for the second, third, fourth time, you will have a FREE Upgrade.
Please contact the hotel staff prior arrival for these promotional special arrangements.

Kinbe Agua y Tierra Rooms

Moody Room
Comfortable room, with one king size bed
Amenities:
  • 120 AC.
  • Cable TV.
  • King Bed.
  • TV.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Garden View.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Iron.
  • Shower.
  • Telephone.
  • TV Remote control.
  • WC.
  • Safety box.
  • WiFi.
  • Garden Room
    A creative 2 levels wooden loft: 1st Level with living room and sofa bed, Tv and Bathroom. 2nd Level with a king size bed.
    Amenities:
  • Garden View.
  • Loft.
  • Sofa Bed.
  • TV Remote control.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Balcony.
  • King Bed.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Iron.
  • Cable TV.
  • Safety Box.
  • WiFi.
  • Rugiada Room
    Charming stylish room with a king size bed, available with Balcony or Patio.
    Amenities:
  • Balcony.
  • Pool view.
  • King Bed.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Solarium.
  • Plasma TV.
  • TV Remote Control.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • Free internet in room
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet in room
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Common area: big terrace with amazing ocean-view, some chairs and tables.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (30)

    Ratings and reviews for Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    30 out of 30
    Amenities:
    2.9
    Room cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    3.4
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.8

    77% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Va Beach, VA
    Feb 18, 2010

    Great location; small room

    Very small room on third floor (no elevator). No closet; no coffee maker; small refrigerator; dark bathroom. Helpful staff. Short walk to beach but no free use of beach chairs. Location perfect for Playa del Carmen visit. Some noise at night but okay. Indoor pool not used by anyone. Deck on roof nice for evening cocktail (bring your own) or sun bathing.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Lots of bars, restaurants, scuba, snorkeling, beach activities, shopping within walking distance of hotel. No need to have a car but parking on street available at no charge.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    La Gaviota
    Business
    Houston, TX
    Mar 12, 2009

    Problems Check in!!

    THe hotel was very pretty. Too dark. The pool was great and the architecture of the hotel great!!. However, the front desk lady did not know about the internet special. She was giving a hard time and she want us to wait until the manager(owner) got there to approved it. Finally we got our room. Later we came back to deal with it. The manager did not even came out to say that I was with the right price of the internet. The internet had free breakfast, but they pretend like they did not know what I was talking about. So my husband and I let it go and did nothing about it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    really good restaurants at 5th ave.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    shandajr
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Sep 6, 2013

    Great Value - but noisy

    We have stayed at the Kinbe many, many times due to the location and the cost. This is one of the least expensive hotels in Playa - and as long as you are ok with a lack of amenities then it will work for you. No elevators so pack lightly, you get to haul your luggage up and down the stairs. Close to the beach and right in the heart of town. This stay was during off season and lots of construction going on, which starts early in the morning and ends around 9pm, and of course it was right on the other side of our rooms wall. We have stayed here many times because of the price and location - plus it is a quaint little place with friendly staff. I HAVE recommended this location to friends and family many times, if you are staying on a budget this is the place to go.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    All up and down 5th ave - the dining is amazing. If you are looking for less expensive then go up to 10th ave or a bit further

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Mr. Mcbride
    Business
    Mexico City
    Jun 10, 2014

    Good getaway

    Nothing fancy -- ordinary but it gets the job done

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    badrobby
    Business
    san francisco
    Dec 30, 2010

    Kimbe is nice if you like cigarettes

    Nice staff, pretty rooms and grounds. however, they allow smoking in the rooms, and the smoke wafted up into our room whenever someone else was smoking. i personally hate cigarette smoke, so waking up every morning to someone chain smoking in their room was repulsive. the room was also pretty loud, i definitely had to sleep with earplugs every night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    sweco, carboncitos or el fogon have great cheap food.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    AK
    Nov 21, 2010

    Twin bed rooms are average

    The hotel is worth the money, the twin rooms are not nearly as nice as the rooms with one king. Staff is here 24 hrs Always and they are nice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    San Francisco Ca
    Feb 22, 2011

    Average with tiny rooms

    Satisfactory for the price - A glass bottle of water fell out of the mini-fridge & broke - an accident - I was charged $7 US for this after repeatedly explaining what happened. Everyone in the resort has hand out for money - there are no "bargains" anywhere. Never go back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Don't expect high quality food anywhere

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Massachusetts
    Feb 6, 2010

    Noisey!

    Upon arrival we were shown to a very small Queen smoking room. Our reservation clearly stated king non-smoking. The reception told us she would have to make a call to change our room and it would take some time. We told her we would go to 5th ave and get a beverage and hoped the problem would be resolved when we returned. It was and were shown to a room on the 3rd floor. King bed still not sure about the smoking but the room didn't smell and was larger and airy. What we think was the manager told us we should be very grateful as it was a free upgrade. Still thinking we had a reservation for king no smoking. If the hotel had mismanaged there room reservations that is clearly their problem and something we should be firmly told we should be grateful for.The hotel was very loud. The stairs are covered with tin. Very loud in a sandal.Lots of local noise til late at night. Not enough beach towels. At 10am we were told sorry all out. Turning your key in everytime you come and go was annoying at best. Could have been friendlier. Staff seemed phoney. L&A

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    ferry to cozomel rent a scooter and cruise the coast beautiful and lots of fun

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    A+E
    Business
    BAY AREA,CA
    Jul 31, 2010

    nice ambaince

    WELL IT STARTED OUT FINE UNTILL THEY KEPT CHANGING MY PARENTS ROOM 2 TIMES THE FIRST TIME BECAUSE THE ROOM WAS ONLY AVAILABLE FOR A FEW DAYS OF THEIR TRIP SO THEY CHANGE ROOMS...THEN THE SECONED TIME WAS THE PLUMMING IN THE ROOM WAS BACKING UP SO THEY CHANGE THEM AGAIN...WHAT PPISS ME OFF. YOU THINK THEY WAVE THE SNACK CHARGE FROM THE MINI BAR BUT THIS BEING MEXICO AND THERE VERY GREEDY WHEN IT COMES TO MONEY.PLUS THEY CHARGE ADDIONAL 40$ BECAUSE OF THE ROOMS TYPES...THEY SAID THEY WHERE GOING TO CHARGE US MORE BUT BECAUSE OF ALL THE INCONVENIENCE THEY WOULD ONLY CHARGE US 40$.........O WOW THANX ALOT.....NOT.MY BOYFRIEND AND I HAS BEEN TO THE HOTEL 2 YEARS AGO AND IT WAS A DEFFERNENT STAFF THEN.THE STAFF WAS NICE NOT ONCE DID I SEE THE HOUSEKEEPING LADY AND IF I DID SHE THEY DIDN'T SEEM NICE AT ALL.THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS NICE BUT I LIKE THE STAFF AND MISS THE STAFF 2 YEARS AGO!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    WHEN VISITING THE RUINS TAKE THE ADO OR LOCAL BUSES.YOU SAVE SO MUCH MONEY THEN TAKING THE TAXI! WHEN ARRIVING AT THE CANCUN AIRPORT AND IF YOUR GOING TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN TAKE THE ADO BUS!! ITS CHEAPER THEN THE TAXI

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Washougal
    Nov 20, 2008

    Convenient Location

    I did enjoy the location of the Hotel as it is a block down from the main street in Play del Carmen and there is also a Starbucks on the corner. The staff was very freiendly. I was a little shocked by the size of the room. The room had a large bed with about 3 feet clearance on each of the 3 sides and the bathroom was equally as small. It worked okay for us as we were only staying one night but would not have wanted to stay any length of time in such small living quarters.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is shopping, restaurants and night life all within a short walking distance.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top