$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Kinbe Agua y Tierra

3 stars
View map of Calle 10 Norte, Entre 1 Y 5 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
badrobby
Business
san francisco
Dec 30, 2010

Kimbe is nice if you like cigarettes

Nice staff, pretty rooms and grounds. however, they allow smoking in the rooms, and the smoke wafted up into our room whenever someone else was smoking. i personally hate cigarette smoke, so waking up every morning to someone chain smoking in their room was repulsive. the room was also pretty loud, i definitely had to sleep with earplugs every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sweco, carboncitos or el fogon have great cheap food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AK
Nov 21, 2010

Twin bed rooms are average

The hotel is worth the money, the twin rooms are not nearly as nice as the rooms with one king. Staff is here 24 hrs Always and they are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Ca
Feb 22, 2011

Average with tiny rooms

Satisfactory for the price - A glass bottle of water fell out of the mini-fridge & broke - an accident - I was charged $7 US for this after repeatedly explaining what happened. Everyone in the resort has hand out for money - there are no "bargains" anywhere. Never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't expect high quality food anywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 6, 2010

Noisey!

Upon arrival we were shown to a very small Queen smoking room. Our reservation clearly stated king non-smoking. The reception told us she would have to make a call to change our room and it would take some time. We told her we would go to 5th ave and get a beverage and hoped the problem would be resolved when we returned. It was and were shown to a room on the 3rd floor. King bed still not sure about the smoking but the room didn't smell and was larger and airy. What we think was the manager told us we should be very grateful as it was a free upgrade. Still thinking we had a reservation for king no smoking. If the hotel had mismanaged there room reservations that is clearly their problem and something we should be firmly told we should be grateful for.The hotel was very loud. The stairs are covered with tin. Very loud in a sandal.Lots of local noise til late at night. Not enough beach towels. At 10am we were told sorry all out. Turning your key in everytime you come and go was annoying at best. Could have been friendlier. Staff seemed phoney. L&A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ferry to cozomel rent a scooter and cruise the coast beautiful and lots of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A+E
Business
BAY AREA,CA
Jul 31, 2010

nice ambaince

WELL IT STARTED OUT FINE UNTILL THEY KEPT CHANGING MY PARENTS ROOM 2 TIMES THE FIRST TIME BECAUSE THE ROOM WAS ONLY AVAILABLE FOR A FEW DAYS OF THEIR TRIP SO THEY CHANGE ROOMS...THEN THE SECONED TIME WAS THE PLUMMING IN THE ROOM WAS BACKING UP SO THEY CHANGE THEM AGAIN...WHAT PPISS ME OFF. YOU THINK THEY WAVE THE SNACK CHARGE FROM THE MINI BAR BUT THIS BEING MEXICO AND THERE VERY GREEDY WHEN IT COMES TO MONEY.PLUS THEY CHARGE ADDIONAL 40$ BECAUSE OF THE ROOMS TYPES...THEY SAID THEY WHERE GOING TO CHARGE US MORE BUT BECAUSE OF ALL THE INCONVENIENCE THEY WOULD ONLY CHARGE US 40$.........O WOW THANX ALOT.....NOT.MY BOYFRIEND AND I HAS BEEN TO THE HOTEL 2 YEARS AGO AND IT WAS A DEFFERNENT STAFF THEN.THE STAFF WAS NICE NOT ONCE DID I SEE THE HOUSEKEEPING LADY AND IF I DID SHE THEY DIDN'T SEEM NICE AT ALL.THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS NICE BUT I LIKE THE STAFF AND MISS THE STAFF 2 YEARS AGO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

WHEN VISITING THE RUINS TAKE THE ADO OR LOCAL BUSES.YOU SAVE SO MUCH MONEY THEN TAKING THE TAXI! WHEN ARRIVING AT THE CANCUN AIRPORT AND IF YOUR GOING TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN TAKE THE ADO BUS!! ITS CHEAPER THEN THE TAXI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washougal
Nov 20, 2008

Convenient Location

I did enjoy the location of the Hotel as it is a block down from the main street in Play del Carmen and there is also a Starbucks on the corner. The staff was very freiendly. I was a little shocked by the size of the room. The room had a large bed with about 3 feet clearance on each of the 3 sides and the bathroom was equally as small. It worked okay for us as we were only staying one night but would not have wanted to stay any length of time in such small living quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is shopping, restaurants and night life all within a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Coast, CA
Mar 6, 2009

Problems at Kinbe

We chose Kinbe because of the "amenity" that included Airport Shuttle. We later found out it was a "charged service" and was significantly more than what we ended up paying for transportation. Our unit did not have a working lock mechanism and they were unable to repair it for 24 hours. Our unit was also immediately behind the front desk, so peace and quiet was not possible. We were transferred to a new room the following morning. The room was small, somewhat damp-smelling, but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the bus from Cancun Airport to Playa. Its clean, fast, and safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PE in CT
Business
West Hartford, CT
Dec 2, 2009

For those on a budget

Easy walk to beaches, restaurants and clubs. No hotel parking available. Have to pay to park in a public lot 2-1/2 blocks away. Hotel sign is difficult to see on building, hard to find at night. Cleaning staff was noisy outside room in morning. Tough to sleep in. Otherwise, comfortable beds and a good shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Va Beach, VA
Feb 18, 2010

Great location; small room

Very small room on third floor (no elevator). No closet; no coffee maker; small refrigerator; dark bathroom. Helpful staff. Short walk to beach but no free use of beach chairs. Location perfect for Playa del Carmen visit. Some noise at night but okay. Indoor pool not used by anyone. Deck on roof nice for evening cocktail (bring your own) or sun bathing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars, restaurants, scuba, snorkeling, beach activities, shopping within walking distance of hotel. No need to have a car but parking on street available at no charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
La Gaviota
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 12, 2009

Problems Check in!!

THe hotel was very pretty. Too dark. The pool was great and the architecture of the hotel great!!. However, the front desk lady did not know about the internet special. She was giving a hard time and she want us to wait until the manager(owner) got there to approved it. Finally we got our room. Later we came back to deal with it. The manager did not even came out to say that I was with the right price of the internet. The internet had free breakfast, but they pretend like they did not know what I was talking about. So my husband and I let it go and did nothing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

really good restaurants at 5th ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top