$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Kinbe Agua y Tierra

3 stars
View map of Calle 10 Norte, Entre 1 Y 5 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn from Illinois
Carthage, IL 62321, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Kinbe is a wonderful gem in Playa

We loved the Kinbe. The best part was the location ....right between the beach and 5 AVE. It was a bit loud at night but the AC muted the music from the neighborhood. We thought the beach club, Sensi, was wonderful and because of the agreement with Kinbe we got a 10% discount and had wonderful service and awesome beach chairs for the day. I loved the jungle vibe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 6, 2010

Noisey!

Upon arrival we were shown to a very small Queen smoking room. Our reservation clearly stated king non-smoking. The reception told us she would have to make a call to change our room and it would take some time. We told her we would go to 5th ave and get a beverage and hoped the problem would be resolved when we returned. It was and were shown to a room on the 3rd floor. King bed still not sure about the smoking but the room didn't smell and was larger and airy. What we think was the manager told us we should be very grateful as it was a free upgrade. Still thinking we had a reservation for king no smoking. If the hotel had mismanaged there room reservations that is clearly their problem and something we should be firmly told we should be grateful for.The hotel was very loud. The stairs are covered with tin. Very loud in a sandal.Lots of local noise til late at night. Not enough beach towels. At 10am we were told sorry all out. Turning your key in everytime you come and go was annoying at best. Could have been friendlier. Staff seemed phoney. L&A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ferry to cozomel rent a scooter and cruise the coast beautiful and lots of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
iowa
Feb 6, 2010

great location

The best thing was the location. We could be on the beach in 2 minutes and that is why we were there. The hotel was small so it seemed like the staff really kept track of you. For the money it was worth it but if you are there to spend alot of time in your hotel i would not recommend it. We really missed having a cup of coffee in our room in the am but you could get one just a few feet away. It was close to were all the action is at night but not too loud that you could not sleep. If you want an inexpensive place to sleep and shower close to everything i would give it 5 stars. If you want to be pampered i would give it a 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

soooo many places to eat and drink!! Take your time and look around. You can get great food and drink right off 5th ave also that is more reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Excellent location and staff...mirrors?

mirrors in the room not just bath...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PE in CT
Business
West Hartford, CT
Dec 2, 2009

For those on a budget

Easy walk to beaches, restaurants and clubs. No hotel parking available. Have to pay to park in a public lot 2-1/2 blocks away. Hotel sign is difficult to see on building, hard to find at night. Cleaning staff was noisy outside room in morning. Tough to sleep in. Otherwise, comfortable beds and a good shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meghan and Matt
Business
Omaha Nebraska
Apr 23, 2009

I love Kinbe!!!

The room was small, minimally furnished, a bit stuffy, but perfect for what we needed. The hotel is small, the staff is personable, the place is naturally beautiful with banana and coconut trees growing inside, a waterfall with funny birds splashing around on top, and flower petals drifting down on breezes to cover your doorstep. The hotel is right next to the water, restauants, shops. and yet is tucked right off 5th so it is quiet. This is not a resort, there are few ammenities, but it is just what I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
La Gaviota
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 12, 2009

Problems Check in!!

THe hotel was very pretty. Too dark. The pool was great and the architecture of the hotel great!!. However, the front desk lady did not know about the internet special. She was giving a hard time and she want us to wait until the manager(owner) got there to approved it. Finally we got our room. Later we came back to deal with it. The manager did not even came out to say that I was with the right price of the internet. The internet had free breakfast, but they pretend like they did not know what I was talking about. So my husband and I let it go and did nothing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

really good restaurants at 5th ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Coast, CA
Mar 6, 2009

Problems at Kinbe

We chose Kinbe because of the "amenity" that included Airport Shuttle. We later found out it was a "charged service" and was significantly more than what we ended up paying for transportation. Our unit did not have a working lock mechanism and they were unable to repair it for 24 hours. Our unit was also immediately behind the front desk, so peace and quiet was not possible. We were transferred to a new room the following morning. The room was small, somewhat damp-smelling, but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the bus from Cancun Airport to Playa. Its clean, fast, and safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washougal
Nov 20, 2008

Convenient Location

I did enjoy the location of the Hotel as it is a block down from the main street in Play del Carmen and there is also a Starbucks on the corner. The staff was very freiendly. I was a little shocked by the size of the room. The room had a large bed with about 3 feet clearance on each of the 3 sides and the bathroom was equally as small. It worked okay for us as we were only staying one night but would not have wanted to stay any length of time in such small living quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is shopping, restaurants and night life all within a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 7, 2008

Great location

The hotel is a little funky. A glassed cabinet in which to put clothes, cobble-stoned shower floor, very sparse lobby. Only one block from the beach where they have an affiliation with owners so you get 10% off. Very close to main drag (5th Avenue) where there are tons of shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door is a local cafe called Sasta which has much better coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morris
Jun 28, 2008

Nice for Couples

The hotel was very nice. However the room and bathroom were smaller than we anticipated. For 2 of us we had plenty of room, but for more people it would have been tight. The location is great. It is about 1 1/2 blocks from the beach. And only a block from many great shops and restaurants in Playa del Carmen. The staff here is great!! They were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top