$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Kinbe Agua y Tierra

3 stars
Calle 10 Norte, Entre 1 Y 5 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
30 reviews
great location

the hotel has a beautiful design, minimalist, very clean, great location, fine service, something... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 24, 2010
I love Kinbe!!!

The room was small, minimally furnished, a bit stuffy, but perfect for what we needed. The hotel is... See full review

  • Meghan and Matt
  • Apr 23, 2009
The Kinb close by the famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen and just 50 meters from the beach is an inspired fusion of lush garden setting "garden zone" (Tierra element - Kaab) and the charming "water zone" (Agua element-Ha) defined by a relaxing pool and the spectacular soundtrack of a subtle waterfall. The unique shape design of the 29 rooms offers the guests a feeling that each room was designed especially for them.
The Tierra element, Kaab features the following rooms: Pretty, Moody and Garden all facing the tropical garden.
The Agua element, Ha features the elegant Rugiada rooms.
Both elements join together in the panoramic terrace, a unique scenery that melts the sky and amazing colors of the Caribbean Sea.
Hotel Amenities: 24 hours front desk, multilingual staff, concierge, tropical garden, pool, panoramic terrace, free wireless connection, laundry service 24 hours delivery, collaboration with beach club, airport shuttle (subject to charge).
Room amenities: air conditioning, plasma TV, telephone, safety box, minibar, hairdryer, wireless connection and private bathroom.
Children policy: Kids stay free from 0 -4 years. From 5 years and older will pay as an adult. Honeymoon Special, Fall in love once again with our charming honeymoon pleasures.

Be Loyal means be spoiled, if you stay at Kinbe for the second, third, fourth time, you will have a FREE Upgrade.
Please contact the hotel staff prior arrival for these promotional special arrangements.

Kinbe Agua y Tierra Rooms

Moody Room
Comfortable room, with one king size bed
Amenities:
  • 120 AC.
  • Cable TV.
  • King Bed.
  • TV.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Garden View.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Iron.
  • Shower.
  • Telephone.
  • TV Remote control.
  • WC.
  • Safety box.
  • WiFi.
  • Garden Room
    A creative 2 levels wooden loft: 1st Level with living room and sofa bed, Tv and Bathroom. 2nd Level with a king size bed.
    Amenities:
  • Garden View.
  • Loft.
  • Sofa Bed.
  • TV Remote control.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Balcony.
  • King Bed.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Iron.
  • Cable TV.
  • Safety Box.
  • WiFi.
  • Rugiada Room
    Charming stylish room with a king size bed, available with Balcony or Patio.
    Amenities:
  • Balcony.
  • Pool view.
  • King Bed.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Solarium.
  • Plasma TV.
  • TV Remote Control.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • Free internet in room
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet in room
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Common area: big terrace with amazing ocean-view, some chairs and tables.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (30)

    Ratings and reviews for Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    30 out of 30
    Amenities:
    2.9
    Room cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    3.4
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.8

    77% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Jenn from Illinois
    Carthage, IL 62321, USA
    Feb 24, 2012

    Kinbe is a wonderful gem in Playa

    We loved the Kinbe. The best part was the location ....right between the beach and 5 AVE. It was a bit loud at night but the AC muted the music from the neighborhood. We thought the beach club, Sensi, was wonderful and because of the agreement with Kinbe we got a 10% discount and had wonderful service and awesome beach chairs for the day. I loved the jungle vibe!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    dougefresh
    Business
    Honolulu, HI, USA
    Aug 16, 2011

    Good Bargain, Close to Everything

    Our friends stayed at a $600/night all inclusive resort down the road, that we just couldn't afford so we chose the least expensive room at Kinbe to save some money. The only complaint I have is that the room was a little small, so I recommend getting one of the rooms overlooking the pool. I think they're a little bigger. Staff was very friendly and helpful, beach is within easy walking distance, and the air conditioners work great. (needed in August!) Also, not nearly as noisy as some other reviewers posted. It is a bit of a club scene party town, so be prepared. Great clubs and restaurants all nearby. Overall a great trip.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    For a better bargain on food, walk one more block away from the beach, from Avenida 5. We lunched at a hole in the wall taco joint called Tacochida. It was probably the best meal my wife and I had there, and it was only $10. It looked like there were a lot of similar places along the same stretch. Don't be a afraid to explore!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Cancun trip
    Business
    San Diego, CA
    Apr 18, 2011

    Yucatan trip

    The hotel is good!!, but there three issues from my point of view: 1.- No elevator 2.- No parking (I think it is a playa del carmen problem) 3.- The receptionists at that hotel don´t know anything about the place, I ask a couple of directions and they were useless

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Dwsnyc
    Business
    NYC
    Jan 24, 2011

    Kinbe

    Cute decor, great location just off la Quinta. Helpful staff.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    san diego, CA
    Jan 13, 2010

    Excellent location and staff...mirrors?

    mirrors in the room not just bath...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Yuba City, CA
    Mar 11, 2010

    Great and clean place for couples

    Great

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    J & M
    Business
    Portland, OR
    Jul 19, 2010

    good experience

    Kinbe was in a great spot, you can walk to anything. [...], the gentleman at the front desk, was very helpful, directed us to the best restaurants with the best prices, also gave advice on how much things should cost and where to do some free snorkaling. The hotel has a lush jungle incorporated into the lobby and the roof access is very nice, views of the beach and Cozumel. AC in all rooms (thank god, its a must) and they have TV's. Rooms are small, bathrooms are small, but anyone who travels to the Riveria Maya shouldn't be spending much time in their room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Arrataya, on the beach, best prices in town. Dont be afraid to look for a good deal, there are plenty of overpriced places to eat, but if you're patient, you can find some great quality places with good prices.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    young married couple
    Business
    utah baby!
    May 11, 2010

    believe the hype!!

    we booked this after a pretty extensive search for a cheap but nice hotel close to the beach. we also considered alux and club yebo. this place rocked. it was in the absolute best location. 8 easy walking blocks from the bus station, about 100 feet from the best beach in the area, and about 50 feet from 5th ave which is 'the strip' of playa. we were about a block from some of the most wild night clubs in town and we felt like we were the only people in town when we were in our room. absolutely silent (room no. 2 by the way). the pool was awesome and little used by anyone but us. town doesn't really wake up until about 11 am, so reading poolside was perfect and undisturbed. the shallow part of the pool was perfect to sit in and read with a nice drink on the side. front desk staff ALWAYS stood up and greeted us and was very helpful in pointing us toward restaurants, etc. the room was adequate in size and was cleaned well every day. bathroom was pretty cramped but pretty cool style. little a/c unit cooled the room GREAT!!! tv had tons of channels but we wish the tv was a little bigger. had a small fridge which was good for keeping a few drinks cool. we would definitely go back. the location could not be beat!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    also worth mentioning is the restaurant Wicky's which the hotel has a deal with. (about 100 feet down the street right at the beach). you pay 250 pesos at their beach area and you get two chairs, a sun umbrella and 200 pesos worth of food! they had the best food of all the restaurants we ate at in playa. the burgers are especially noteworthy.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Seattle, WA
    Jan 7, 2008

    Great Location!

    For the price, this hotel was a great bargain and allowed us to be close to the action at Playa del Carmen. Just half a block from the main pedestrian walkway and beach, we felt like we were part of it all. The hotel is relatively small, trendy and a great place to spend a few nights. The main downside is that tours to Chichen Itza do not pick you up at the hotel. In order to get picked up, you have to walk to a nearby large hotel for that, which was a mild annoyance. Besides that, we had a great time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    If you are looking for trinkets to bring back for friends and family, do not buy at the shops along the main pedestrian street. One place that we found was a large discount store located near the Bus station. The price was about 10-20% cheaper than buying at the little shops near the hotel.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    shandajr
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Sep 6, 2013

    Great Value - but noisy

    We have stayed at the Kinbe many, many times due to the location and the cost. This is one of the least expensive hotels in Playa - and as long as you are ok with a lack of amenities then it will work for you. No elevators so pack lightly, you get to haul your luggage up and down the stairs. Close to the beach and right in the heart of town. This stay was during off season and lots of construction going on, which starts early in the morning and ends around 9pm, and of course it was right on the other side of our rooms wall. We have stayed here many times because of the price and location - plus it is a quaint little place with friendly staff. I HAVE recommended this location to friends and family many times, if you are staying on a budget this is the place to go.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    All up and down 5th ave - the dining is amazing. If you are looking for less expensive then go up to 10th ave or a bit further

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Mr. Mcbride
    Business
    Mexico City
    Jun 10, 2014

    Good getaway

    Nothing fancy -- ordinary but it gets the job done

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top