$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Kinbe Agua y Tierra

3 stars
View map of Calle 10 Norte, Entre 1 Y 5 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn from Illinois
Carthage, IL 62321, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Kinbe is a wonderful gem in Playa

We loved the Kinbe. The best part was the location ....right between the beach and 5 AVE. It was a bit loud at night but the AC muted the music from the neighborhood. We thought the beach club, Sensi, was wonderful and because of the agreement with Kinbe we got a 10% discount and had wonderful service and awesome beach chairs for the day. I loved the jungle vibe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fredzilla
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 27, 2010

Good Staff - cute rooms - close to beach

One block to beach on pretty quiet side-street. Great location around corner from Aveneda Quinta (5th Ave). Great staff. Rooms are small but very cute. Lots of foliage in the courtyard to give you a non-urban feel. Hot water is... not reliable but its so hot you want a cold shower anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do your laundry 3 blocks West (away from water) at a lavanderia 'behind hotel elefante' which is much cheaper than the in-room service offered. Drop off, pay by weight and pick up washed+dried+folded!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
monterrey, mex
Aug 24, 2010

great location

the hotel has a beautiful design, minimalist, very clean, great location, fine service, something great for low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurants near by, wickys, mosquito blue, bruno...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A+E
Business
BAY AREA,CA
Jul 31, 2010

nice ambaince

WELL IT STARTED OUT FINE UNTILL THEY KEPT CHANGING MY PARENTS ROOM 2 TIMES THE FIRST TIME BECAUSE THE ROOM WAS ONLY AVAILABLE FOR A FEW DAYS OF THEIR TRIP SO THEY CHANGE ROOMS...THEN THE SECONED TIME WAS THE PLUMMING IN THE ROOM WAS BACKING UP SO THEY CHANGE THEM AGAIN...WHAT PPISS ME OFF. YOU THINK THEY WAVE THE SNACK CHARGE FROM THE MINI BAR BUT THIS BEING MEXICO AND THERE VERY GREEDY WHEN IT COMES TO MONEY.PLUS THEY CHARGE ADDIONAL 40$ BECAUSE OF THE ROOMS TYPES...THEY SAID THEY WHERE GOING TO CHARGE US MORE BUT BECAUSE OF ALL THE INCONVENIENCE THEY WOULD ONLY CHARGE US 40$.........O WOW THANX ALOT.....NOT.MY BOYFRIEND AND I HAS BEEN TO THE HOTEL 2 YEARS AGO AND IT WAS A DEFFERNENT STAFF THEN.THE STAFF WAS NICE NOT ONCE DID I SEE THE HOUSEKEEPING LADY AND IF I DID SHE THEY DIDN'T SEEM NICE AT ALL.THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS NICE BUT I LIKE THE STAFF AND MISS THE STAFF 2 YEARS AGO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

WHEN VISITING THE RUINS TAKE THE ADO OR LOCAL BUSES.YOU SAVE SO MUCH MONEY THEN TAKING THE TAXI! WHEN ARRIVING AT THE CANCUN AIRPORT AND IF YOUR GOING TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN TAKE THE ADO BUS!! ITS CHEAPER THEN THE TAXI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J & M
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 19, 2010

good experience

Kinbe was in a great spot, you can walk to anything. [...], the gentleman at the front desk, was very helpful, directed us to the best restaurants with the best prices, also gave advice on how much things should cost and where to do some free snorkaling. The hotel has a lush jungle incorporated into the lobby and the roof access is very nice, views of the beach and Cozumel. AC in all rooms (thank god, its a must) and they have TV's. Rooms are small, bathrooms are small, but anyone who travels to the Riveria Maya shouldn't be spending much time in their room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arrataya, on the beach, best prices in town. Dont be afraid to look for a good deal, there are plenty of overpriced places to eat, but if you're patient, you can find some great quality places with good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
young married couple
Business
utah baby!
May 11, 2010

believe the hype!!

we booked this after a pretty extensive search for a cheap but nice hotel close to the beach. we also considered alux and club yebo. this place rocked. it was in the absolute best location. 8 easy walking blocks from the bus station, about 100 feet from the best beach in the area, and about 50 feet from 5th ave which is 'the strip' of playa. we were about a block from some of the most wild night clubs in town and we felt like we were the only people in town when we were in our room. absolutely silent (room no. 2 by the way). the pool was awesome and little used by anyone but us. town doesn't really wake up until about 11 am, so reading poolside was perfect and undisturbed. the shallow part of the pool was perfect to sit in and read with a nice drink on the side. front desk staff ALWAYS stood up and greeted us and was very helpful in pointing us toward restaurants, etc. the room was adequate in size and was cleaned well every day. bathroom was pretty cramped but pretty cool style. little a/c unit cooled the room GREAT!!! tv had tons of channels but we wish the tv was a little bigger. had a small fridge which was good for keeping a few drinks cool. we would definitely go back. the location could not be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

also worth mentioning is the restaurant Wicky's which the hotel has a deal with. (about 100 feet down the street right at the beach). you pay 250 pesos at their beach area and you get two chairs, a sun umbrella and 200 pesos worth of food! they had the best food of all the restaurants we ate at in playa. the burgers are especially noteworthy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuba City, CA
Mar 11, 2010

Great and clean place for couples

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Va Beach, VA
Feb 18, 2010

Great location; small room

Very small room on third floor (no elevator). No closet; no coffee maker; small refrigerator; dark bathroom. Helpful staff. Short walk to beach but no free use of beach chairs. Location perfect for Playa del Carmen visit. Some noise at night but okay. Indoor pool not used by anyone. Deck on roof nice for evening cocktail (bring your own) or sun bathing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars, restaurants, scuba, snorkeling, beach activities, shopping within walking distance of hotel. No need to have a car but parking on street available at no charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janrose
Business
Carroll, IA
Feb 14, 2010

Great place to stay..everything you need

Rooms are small but great location, Great value for the money.Coffee pot in room would be nice.Beds were comfortable. Everything we needed or wanted was within walking distance, can't see staying anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at Babe's, best food I ate on the whole trip!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
iowa
Feb 6, 2010

great location

The best thing was the location. We could be on the beach in 2 minutes and that is why we were there. The hotel was small so it seemed like the staff really kept track of you. For the money it was worth it but if you are there to spend alot of time in your hotel i would not recommend it. We really missed having a cup of coffee in our room in the am but you could get one just a few feet away. It was close to were all the action is at night but not too loud that you could not sleep. If you want an inexpensive place to sleep and shower close to everything i would give it 5 stars. If you want to be pampered i would give it a 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

soooo many places to eat and drink!! Take your time and look around. You can get great food and drink right off 5th ave also that is more reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 6, 2010

Noisey!

Upon arrival we were shown to a very small Queen smoking room. Our reservation clearly stated king non-smoking. The reception told us she would have to make a call to change our room and it would take some time. We told her we would go to 5th ave and get a beverage and hoped the problem would be resolved when we returned. It was and were shown to a room on the 3rd floor. King bed still not sure about the smoking but the room didn't smell and was larger and airy. What we think was the manager told us we should be very grateful as it was a free upgrade. Still thinking we had a reservation for king no smoking. If the hotel had mismanaged there room reservations that is clearly their problem and something we should be firmly told we should be grateful for.The hotel was very loud. The stairs are covered with tin. Very loud in a sandal.Lots of local noise til late at night. Not enough beach towels. At 10am we were told sorry all out. Turning your key in everytime you come and go was annoying at best. Could have been friendlier. Staff seemed phoney. L&A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ferry to cozomel rent a scooter and cruise the coast beautiful and lots of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top