$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Kinbe Agua y Tierra

3 stars
Calle 10 Norte, Entre 1 Y 5 Avenida, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
30 reviews
great location

the hotel has a beautiful design, minimalist, very clean, great location, fine service, something... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 24, 2010
I love Kinbe!!!

The room was small, minimally furnished, a bit stuffy, but perfect for what we needed. The hotel is... See full review

  • Meghan and Matt
  • Apr 23, 2009
The Kinb close by the famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen and just 50 meters from the beach is an inspired fusion of lush garden setting "garden zone" (Tierra element - Kaab) and the charming "water zone" (Agua element-Ha) defined by a relaxing pool and the spectacular soundtrack of a subtle waterfall. The unique shape design of the 29 rooms offers the guests a feeling that each room was designed especially for them.
The Tierra element, Kaab features the following rooms: Pretty, Moody and Garden all facing the tropical garden.
The Agua element, Ha features the elegant Rugiada rooms.
Both elements join together in the panoramic terrace, a unique scenery that melts the sky and amazing colors of the Caribbean Sea.
Hotel Amenities: 24 hours front desk, multilingual staff, concierge, tropical garden, pool, panoramic terrace, free wireless connection, laundry service 24 hours delivery, collaboration with beach club, airport shuttle (subject to charge).
Room amenities: air conditioning, plasma TV, telephone, safety box, minibar, hairdryer, wireless connection and private bathroom.
Children policy: Kids stay free from 0 -4 years. From 5 years and older will pay as an adult. Honeymoon Special, Fall in love once again with our charming honeymoon pleasures.

Be Loyal means be spoiled, if you stay at Kinbe for the second, third, fourth time, you will have a FREE Upgrade.
Please contact the hotel staff prior arrival for these promotional special arrangements.

Hotel Map

20.6265 -87.0718
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport and Cozumel International Airport
Area description
From the Cancun International Airport take the Highway 307 overpass to Chetumal and then to Tulum. Playa del Carmen is 45 miles south of Cancun. When you reach Playa del Carmen take the first left to Avenida Constituyentes. Turn left into Avenida Constituyentes and go straight until you reach Avenida 1st. Continue straight until the end and then turn right.

Kinbe Agua y Tierra Rooms

Moody Room
Comfortable room, with one king size bed
Amenities:
  • 120 AC.
  • Cable TV.
  • King Bed.
  • TV.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Garden View.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Iron.
  • Shower.
  • Telephone.
  • TV Remote control.
  • WC.
  • Safety box.
  • WiFi.
  • Garden Room
    A creative 2 levels wooden loft: 1st Level with living room and sofa bed, Tv and Bathroom. 2nd Level with a king size bed.
    Amenities:
  • Garden View.
  • Loft.
  • Sofa Bed.
  • TV Remote control.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Balcony.
  • King Bed.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Iron.
  • Cable TV.
  • Safety Box.
  • WiFi.
  • Rugiada Room
    Charming stylish room with a king size bed, available with Balcony or Patio.
    Amenities:
  • Balcony.
  • Pool view.
  • King Bed.
  • Air Conditioned.
  • Hairdryer in room.
  • Solarium.
  • Plasma TV.
  • TV Remote Control.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • Free internet in room
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet in room
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Common area: big terrace with amazing ocean-view, some chairs and tables.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (30)

    Ratings and reviews for Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    30 out of 30
    Amenities:
    2.9
    Room cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Room comfort:
    3.4
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.8

    77% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Jenn from Illinois
    Carthage, IL 62321, USA
    Feb 24, 2012

    Kinbe is a wonderful gem in Playa

    We loved the Kinbe. The best part was the location ....right between the beach and 5 AVE. It was a bit loud at night but the AC muted the music from the neighborhood. We thought the beach club, Sensi, was wonderful and because of the agreement with Kinbe we got a 10% discount and had wonderful service and awesome beach chairs for the day. I loved the jungle vibe!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    fredzilla
    Seattle, WA
    Oct 27, 2010

    Good Staff - cute rooms - close to beach

    One block to beach on pretty quiet side-street. Great location around corner from Aveneda Quinta (5th Ave). Great staff. Rooms are small but very cute. Lots of foliage in the courtyard to give you a non-urban feel. Hot water is... not reliable but its so hot you want a cold shower anyway.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Do your laundry 3 blocks West (away from water) at a lavanderia 'behind hotel elefante' which is much cheaper than the in-room service offered. Drop off, pay by weight and pick up washed+dried+folded!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    monterrey, mex
    Aug 24, 2010

    great location

    the hotel has a beautiful design, minimalist, very clean, great location, fine service, something great for low price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    great restaurants near by, wickys, mosquito blue, bruno...

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    A+E
    BAY AREA,CA
    Jul 31, 2010

    nice ambaince

    WELL IT STARTED OUT FINE UNTILL THEY KEPT CHANGING MY PARENTS ROOM 2 TIMES THE FIRST TIME BECAUSE THE ROOM WAS ONLY AVAILABLE FOR A FEW DAYS OF THEIR TRIP SO THEY CHANGE ROOMS...THEN THE SECONED TIME WAS THE PLUMMING IN THE ROOM WAS BACKING UP SO THEY CHANGE THEM AGAIN...WHAT PPISS ME OFF. YOU THINK THEY WAVE THE SNACK CHARGE FROM THE MINI BAR BUT THIS BEING MEXICO AND THERE VERY GREEDY WHEN IT COMES TO MONEY.PLUS THEY CHARGE ADDIONAL 40$ BECAUSE OF THE ROOMS TYPES...THEY SAID THEY WHERE GOING TO CHARGE US MORE BUT BECAUSE OF ALL THE INCONVENIENCE THEY WOULD ONLY CHARGE US 40$.........O WOW THANX ALOT.....NOT.MY BOYFRIEND AND I HAS BEEN TO THE HOTEL 2 YEARS AGO AND IT WAS A DEFFERNENT STAFF THEN.THE STAFF WAS NICE NOT ONCE DID I SEE THE HOUSEKEEPING LADY AND IF I DID SHE THEY DIDN'T SEEM NICE AT ALL.THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS NICE BUT I LIKE THE STAFF AND MISS THE STAFF 2 YEARS AGO!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    WHEN VISITING THE RUINS TAKE THE ADO OR LOCAL BUSES.YOU SAVE SO MUCH MONEY THEN TAKING THE TAXI! WHEN ARRIVING AT THE CANCUN AIRPORT AND IF YOUR GOING TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN TAKE THE ADO BUS!! ITS CHEAPER THEN THE TAXI

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    J & M
    Portland, OR
    Jul 19, 2010

    good experience

    Kinbe was in a great spot, you can walk to anything. [...], the gentleman at the front desk, was very helpful, directed us to the best restaurants with the best prices, also gave advice on how much things should cost and where to do some free snorkaling. The hotel has a lush jungle incorporated into the lobby and the roof access is very nice, views of the beach and Cozumel. AC in all rooms (thank god, its a must) and they have TV's. Rooms are small, bathrooms are small, but anyone who travels to the Riveria Maya shouldn't be spending much time in their room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Arrataya, on the beach, best prices in town. Dont be afraid to look for a good deal, there are plenty of overpriced places to eat, but if you're patient, you can find some great quality places with good prices.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    young married couple
    utah baby!
    May 11, 2010

    believe the hype!!

    we booked this after a pretty extensive search for a cheap but nice hotel close to the beach. we also considered alux and club yebo. this place rocked. it was in the absolute best location. 8 easy walking blocks from the bus station, about 100 feet from the best beach in the area, and about 50 feet from 5th ave which is 'the strip' of playa. we were about a block from some of the most wild night clubs in town and we felt like we were the only people in town when we were in our room. absolutely silent (room no. 2 by the way). the pool was awesome and little used by anyone but us. town doesn't really wake up until about 11 am, so reading poolside was perfect and undisturbed. the shallow part of the pool was perfect to sit in and read with a nice drink on the side. front desk staff ALWAYS stood up and greeted us and was very helpful in pointing us toward restaurants, etc. the room was adequate in size and was cleaned well every day. bathroom was pretty cramped but pretty cool style. little a/c unit cooled the room GREAT!!! tv had tons of channels but we wish the tv was a little bigger. had a small fridge which was good for keeping a few drinks cool. we would definitely go back. the location could not be beat!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    also worth mentioning is the restaurant Wicky's which the hotel has a deal with. (about 100 feet down the street right at the beach). you pay 250 pesos at their beach area and you get two chairs, a sun umbrella and 200 pesos worth of food! they had the best food of all the restaurants we ate at in playa. the burgers are especially noteworthy.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Yuba City, CA
    Mar 11, 2010

    Great and clean place for couples

    Great

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Va Beach, VA
    Feb 18, 2010

    Great location; small room

    Very small room on third floor (no elevator). No closet; no coffee maker; small refrigerator; dark bathroom. Helpful staff. Short walk to beach but no free use of beach chairs. Location perfect for Playa del Carmen visit. Some noise at night but okay. Indoor pool not used by anyone. Deck on roof nice for evening cocktail (bring your own) or sun bathing.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Lots of bars, restaurants, scuba, snorkeling, beach activities, shopping within walking distance of hotel. No need to have a car but parking on street available at no charge.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Janrose
    Carroll, IA
    Feb 14, 2010

    Great place to stay..everything you need

    Rooms are small but great location, Great value for the money.Coffee pot in room would be nice.Beds were comfortable. Everything we needed or wanted was within walking distance, can't see staying anywhere else.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    eat at Babe's, best food I ate on the whole trip!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Massachusetts
    Feb 6, 2010

    Noisey!

    Upon arrival we were shown to a very small Queen smoking room. Our reservation clearly stated king non-smoking. The reception told us she would have to make a call to change our room and it would take some time. We told her we would go to 5th ave and get a beverage and hoped the problem would be resolved when we returned. It was and were shown to a room on the 3rd floor. King bed still not sure about the smoking but the room didn't smell and was larger and airy. What we think was the manager told us we should be very grateful as it was a free upgrade. Still thinking we had a reservation for king no smoking. If the hotel had mismanaged there room reservations that is clearly their problem and something we should be firmly told we should be grateful for.The hotel was very loud. The stairs are covered with tin. Very loud in a sandal.Lots of local noise til late at night. Not enough beach towels. At 10am we were told sorry all out. Turning your key in everytime you come and go was annoying at best. Could have been friendlier. Staff seemed phoney. L&A

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    2
    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    ferry to cozomel rent a scooter and cruise the coast beautiful and lots of fun

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kinbe Agua y Tierra

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    iowa
    Feb 6, 2010

    great location

    The best thing was the location. We could be on the beach in 2 minutes and that is why we were there. The hotel was small so it seemed like the staff really kept track of you. For the money it was worth it but if you are there to spend alot of time in your hotel i would not recommend it. We really missed having a cup of coffee in our room in the am but you could get one just a few feet away. It was close to were all the action is at night but not too loud that you could not sleep. If you want an inexpensive place to sleep and shower close to everything i would give it 5 stars. If you want to be pampered i would give it a 2.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    soooo many places to eat and drink!! Take your time and look around. You can get great food and drink right off 5th ave also that is more reasonable.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top