$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
77 reviews
Ok room, great location!

Rooms are pretty basic, although having the fridge was very nice. Our bathroom had ants on the... See full review

  • Jamn
  • Feb 3, 2015
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014

The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests. Property has a rooftop that has a spectacular large terrace with magnificent view over the Mexican Caribbean, a relaxing plunge pool, and a holistic room for enjoying massages.

Rooms

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Property features

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Highlights
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Nearby attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport

Top hotels

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Mirage with Balcony
    Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Prestige
    Features:

  • 426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon
  • Terrace
  • Partial ocean view
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Wake up calls on request
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cabana Vision
    Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture..
    The 5th floor offers:
  • 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed
  • Remote control A/C
  • VOIP phone
  • In room safe
  • Mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities
  • High speed internet access is also available
  • Ceiling fan
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    5.01.0
    10 out of 77
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.5
    Comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    4.5
    Value:
    4.1

    90% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    snewt
    Friends
    New York, NY
    Mar 3, 2009

    Not the relaxing beach stay expected

    Behind the desk was an aggressive real estate lady who literally hounded us every time we walked by the desk to go on a "free" trip in exchange for attending a time share meeting. Luckily, we had been forewarned about these events, as we heard it was a nightmare. This woman would not take NO for an answer. So it literally was uncomfortable to pick up and leave our key every time we left the hotel. Also, the pool was small and not a real pool...maybe a wading pool, about 4 times the size of a bathtub. The images on Orbitz and their website are misleading by the way they are shot. The "complimentary" cocktail is a can of beer. Our chain lock on the door was also broken, but I felt safe since it was a loud/happening part of town. The other thing we did not realize is that beachfront is allocated to hotels and this particular hotel is in front of a part of the beach that is rocky and hard to swim at, whereas there were lots of other beachfronts surrounding/hotel sections that did not have this issue. Also, no parking with this hotel was a big hassle the first night we arrived, probably try to arrive in daylight if you are coming by car and staying here. Overall, I would not recommend this place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    emili
    Friends
    new york
    Jun 26, 2011

    Perfect for the price

    Best location to the beach and 5th avenue. Hotel was clean and the staff Was friendly. Good price for the location, you got what you paid for. I would stay there again

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    jenean loved playa del carmen!
    Friends
    cancun
    Apr 15, 2011

    The Illusion hotel is a wonderful place

    The location was perfect for the beach, shopping and dining. The staff was very polite and attentive. The hotel was very clean. We had a good stay there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    Miami, Florida
    Apr 5, 2011

    Excellent cust.services,location,clean

    I highly recommended if you want to relax,great location,no far from the beach,very clean,excelent customer services. Near the main street where you could find restaurants and stores.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    We ate at the restaurant from the hotel and services,food and prices were acceptable, compare to another restaurant.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    San Diego
    Apr 5, 2010

    loved this hotel

    This hotel was amazing. Perfect location and staff were very friendly. My sister and I stayed here during springbreak and couldnt have chosen a better hotel. We got conned by a mexican travel agent on 5th avenue who ran off with our money and our hotel owner ([...]) did everything to help us and try get it back. There is a really nice pool on the top level overlooking the ocean. The breakfast included is also nice toasted bread and pastries. I definitely reccommend staying here

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Go to COCOBongos on a friday night if you're there to party.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    Irvine, CA
    Apr 3, 2010

    Illusion Hotel Review

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and jumping right in to ask how our vacation was going (not just our stay at the hotel), gave us tips, directions, and helped us out when we screwed up the safe combination! The hotel restaurant was meh, but who cares, we shouldn't have eaten at the hotel restaurant on our vacation anyway. It was ridiculously inexpensive given its proximity to the beach.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    See everything first

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    micky
    Friends
    Victoria
    Jan 28, 2015

    Last minute vacation

    Found this deal on line. It had good reviews. It's location was just off the main drag and very close to all the action. Being that, I was surprisingly quite for it's location. It is not on the beach but they have a working relationship with the beach-side hotel a block away, so you can use their towels and lounges. Breakfast was continental included, but you could also order off a menu. Super friendly service. Staff very helpful and always a smile on their faces. Rooms cleaned daily, Air conditioner, fridge and safe in the room. It could have used a microwave but, for the price and location, just awesome

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    New York, NY
    May 25, 2007

    My review of Illusion Boutique Hotel

    Very nice location, staff was great. Not a luxury hotel but well worth the money. Very clean, safe,gives you a real feel for Mexico. .

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Shopping, restaurants and beach were less than 2 blocks away.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    Madison, WI
    Apr 20, 2007

    Perfect Location, Great Staff

    The Illusion Hotel is in a perfect location in the ciy of Playa Del Carmen. 1/2 block to one of the nicest sections of beach, 1/2 block the other way to the main street (5th avenue). 5th Avenue is full of restaurants and shops - enought to eat a different, great restarant every night. The hotel staff were great, and the hospitality team (breakfast/happy hour)were excellent as well. If we were going back to playa del carmen, we would go here again, no doubt.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Ton of restaraunts, lots of happy hour specials. Hit up Paradies/Paradisio's up the beach.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    Los Angeles, CA
    May 29, 2007

    perfect girlfriend getaway

    This hotel was perfect for us. There was a courtyard that served breakfast every morning, a pool bar at the roof for evening hanging out and it was 1/2 block from the beach.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    the hotel just off of the main shopping street very close by

    Back to menu Return to top