$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
95 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking ocean front view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY NY
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect location, clean, friendly staff

Excellent value for the money. Just a few doors down from the beach and 5th Avenue, but still quiet. A few blocks from the main bus stop and the ferry to Cozumel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with great, big showers. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free passes to 2 different beach clubs with minimum bar/food purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Mn
May 4, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Illusions Hotel was everything we had hoped for and more! The hotel was beautiful yet casual feel.Our room was perfect. We would likely rent one of the rooftop rooms next time. The pool and lounge area also on the rooftop was lovely. The pool is small, but just perfect for cooling off while enjoying the incredible oceanview!The entire staff at the Illusions hotel was great!! They were freindly and helpful every day that we were there. We especially enjoyed [...]the Hotel manager who typically works the 3-11 pm shift. He made sure we were enjoying our stay at the Hotel each and everyday. The location is 1 block to all the action on 5th Avenue and steps away to the beach.We had a wonderful 5 day trip and will definitely be back to stay at this Hotel. I would like to add that though we were right off the beach and a block away from all the action we still were able to enjoy the peacefulness this Hotel offers. Illusions is not a loud and crazy place, but if you want that it's just steps away!!! This Hotel was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was just steps away from the Hotel. Prices varied; we thought overall prices were a little high, BUT if you spend a little time walking up and down 5th Avenue you can find all sorts of food types and prices. Just shop around if price is a big concern.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golden bull
Los Angeles, CA
May 3, 2010

Great location and service

Came to Playa del Carmen for a wedding. We bought the airfare and hotel deal. This hotel was great. Steps away from the beach, comfortable room and continental breakfast every morning. The hotel is centrally located, it was an easy walk to our wedding party hotels and its also 4 blocks from the ADO bus station. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The best Mexican food restaurant in the city. Cheap, tasty and not touristy. El Fogon is on 30th Ave between 6th and 8th streets. Just a 10 minute walk. The food is great!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
SEATTLE, WA
May 4, 2010

The Perfect Playa Hotel

Our trip to Playa del Carmen began on the right foot once we booked at the Illusion. The hotel is perfect for couples looking to get away and relax. The hotel itself was very well maintained with nice rooms equipped with a fridge/freezer, tv and ice cold air conditioning. Continental breakfast is included at the restraunt downstairs. It's very light (coffee, juice, toast, breads, jellies) but does the trick. The rooftop pool is small, maybe a 10' X 10' area and only a few feet deep at best. But, the sun deck is large enough for several people and the pool serves as a nice dip to hide from the heat. The pool also has a covered "bar" with 5 or so underwater stools. Not to mention the view is incredible from up there! No need to pack beach towels, the Illusion gives you fresh beach towels daily as long as you remember to return them. Perfect! We couldnt have been more pleased with the staff, easily the most helpful staff i've encountered while vacationing. They are ALL very kind and generous at the Illusion which makes traveling abroad perfect. Best Part? The Location!!!!! The Illusion is literally 100 feet from the beach, 20 feet to 5th Avenue and perfectly situated in the middle all the action! We walked everywhere... bus station, Cozumel ferry dock, restraunts, shopping, the beach, night clubs, etc. Me and my girlfriend are 25 yrs. old and loved the place. I wouldnt reccomend the Illusion for people with children (for pool purposes) or crazy spring breakers (for breaking the ambience). When we return to Playa i will definitely consider the Illusion again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up 8th street (or calle 8th) probably 6 blocks or so to the Wal-Mart. For $15.00 you can have a 12 pack of beer, bag of ice and a styrofoam cooler. Walk back to the beach or the rooftop bar and you're set for a relaxing day in the sun!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariacpro
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Great boutique hotel in a great area

We stayed at Illusion Boutique hotel because the reviews I've read were good and the location is great. I am so glad we stayed there! The staff is friendly and professional. The room had a great balcony with a view of the ocean. The hotel is off Avenida 5, which we spent every single night strolling. WalMart is not even five blocks away, which was good for us. We went to Cozumel twice because the ferry terminal is walking distance from the hotel and on our way back to Cancun intl airport, we took the ADO bus because of the convenience and close proximity to the hotel. We booked a Chichen Itza tour with the hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. Our tour guide picked us up in the hotel lobby on time and made our day trip memorable. They offer the best rates on tours, so don't be pressured to buy online. We will definitely return to Playa Del Carmen. A wonderful place and a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your tours through the hotel. You save money and travel securely.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington, dc
Mar 3, 2009

Can't wait to go back!

I stayed at the Illusion for all 10 days of my trip to Playa with my boyfriend based on orbitz reviews and glad I did. I strolled past several of the other places I had considered and they definitely lacked the location, comfort, service and rooftop pool offered at Illusion. I was greeted by Cesar upon arrival , check in was easy, $50 deposit and away we were. [...] works the desk at night and very helpful. We also took advantage of the $30 massages. I think everyone should be aware that the first week of January is a House music festival and you can definitely hear the street/club music depending on your location. Also, for first timers, there is a comfortable bus shuttle from the airport to playa for $9 per person. or you can take a shared van for $28 per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 3, 2007

Great Location

Illusion Boutique Hotel is located conveniently just off 5th Avenue and only a few steps from the beach, so you can enjoy both nightlife and the water in close proximity of each other. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Although the pool is a little small, the location, comfort and scenery make it a nice area. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin
Sep 4, 2008

Lovely boutique hotel

The Illusion Hotel was wonderful. The rooms were spacious, the water and a/c worked well, the rooftop terrace was beautiful. There were only a few people in the hotel (due to hurricane season and a bad economy) and the front desk had my dinner delivered up to the rooftop terrace so I could watch the sunset. The food at the restaurant was very tasty and reasonably priced. The only problem I had was when I asked to check out late (at 2 p.m., rather than noon). They tried to charge me $20 extra to stay 2 more hours-- and there were only a handful of people in the hotel to start with! I was very disillusioned by that. However, overall, my experience was a very positive one. They are in the best location in Playa. Right next to a gorgeous beach. I'd recommend this hotel. Just make sure you get their policies stated up front!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
May 25, 2007

Friendly Staff with low price

My wife and I went on our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. The highlight of the hotel was how friendly the staff was and how helpful they were. The hotel is right next to a beautiful beach and right in the heart of the 5th avenue shopping. The room was small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is just a short walk away. For more tourism you pay $2.50 a person and take a shuttle pretty much anywhere.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 11, 2007

Perfect for the solo traveler

What a find!!!! Especially for the price. Room was more than just comfortable and extremely clean. Staff was extremely helpful in selecting and arranging a tour plus recommendations for dinner. For women traveling alone, it was and 'felt' safe, especially considering the downtown location. I will return...and bring family & friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

..plan in advance how to get to Playa from the airport in Cancun. I took the Gray Line Bus/Van for $25 and a taxi upon return for $45.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search