$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPRick
Business
Australia
Nov 17, 2011

Four day getaway from Belize

We were disappointed with the room we booked when we arrived. We'd imagined a bigger balcony, i.e. something wider than one seat, and not of an ordinary Street. SO we upgraded to a Suite. It was amazing and not expensive. That made our stay. Well, that and the staff. The first room, and the one we ended up with, were clean, new and very well presented. Every day the towels were shaped into different animals. It's a small thing, but emblematic of the nice service we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the beach in front of the hotel in the evening. And the clubs along the beach. It's a lovely beach, and plenty of music to choose from there.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwilk311
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Playa Trip

The rooms are clean and friendly staff. Not a 5 star hotel by any means but they certainly don't charge like they are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend your days on the beach at the Playa Maya. Excellent staff good food and great prices.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hate Cold Weather
Business
Berks, PA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

A Great Place

The motel was clean and beautiful. I loved the plants in the inner courtyard and the rooms were nice with a good shower and comfy bed. The pool was perfect for cooling off and the view was wonderful from the roof. We loved the location - so close to the beach and all the 5th Avenue action. We would definitely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scottiem
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 1, 2012

long weekend

we loved the hotel. we stayed on the rooftop suites. the room was large and comfortable. it was close to everything. the staff was great! will definitely be back if

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alissaj
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Excellent Location!

Great value for the price! Just steps from the ocean and shops - Very helpful staff - Would NOT purchase the breakfast with the hotel - there are too many great restaurants to try in the area - FYI only ocean view rooms are an upgrade to the rooftop deck area - Worth the upgrade:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved our sunset dinner at "Fusion" located on the beach - Also great dinner on 5th at Venta

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vands
Business
Austin, Texas
Apr 30, 2012

first romantic getaway

We chose this hotel as its very close to the 5th Avenue-playa del carmen's downtown and also because its close to the beach. Everything was pretty close and we didnt have to walk much for anything...Restaurants, travel reservations(for tulum/xel-ha/chitchen-itza etc., tours), shopping..Staff were friendly and they helped us in booking a cab going back..But our room didnt have much ocean view. We cared less as we were out most of the time..We paid a little extra for room with balcony but we realized later it was not necessary as we never really used it..There is a small pool on the top floor. Breakfast was ok..Not great..There is a bus station close to the hotel too..Minutes walk...So you can take a bus from airport to the bus station which is much cheaper than a cab...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In Playa Del Carmen Downtown..Very close to the beach, playa's downtown and attractions and hotels....

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
santander
Business
Chicago
Dec 16, 2012

Good for the price

We stayed 3 nights and it wad a good experience. Close to beach and you can get in the Mosquito club for free. Good continental breakfast. The room wasn' t very clean the first day but it was ok the rest. It always smell weird. Overall good for what you pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hiker Chris
Business
Colorado
Apr 29, 2013

In the heart of PLaya del Carmen action

Hotel was very nice. Staff is superb. Room did not have a clock which was inconvenient. There was no parking close be which we did not realize until we had spent a great deal of time driving around the one way streets. Ending up parking 2.5 blocks away which was fine, just would have been nice to know ahead. You cannot drive any closer to the hotel than 2 blocks. Restaurants and shops and the beach are all around the Illusion making it a great place to stay. Breakfast was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to sample the wonderful tequila flavors at the Tequila Factory.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hfpq
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 3, 2013

Location location location

Clean comfy and great location. 4th floor is the best in front of the pool with great views. Diana our concierge was very helpful as well as the rest of the staff. Very close to the beach. 2 minutes walk max. And great restaurants around. Will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Change pesos before getting to Playa or at a bank. Restaurants will charge you more than the actual market change.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LibbyVictor
Business
Israel
Sep 21, 2013

Good experience

The staff was great with us. The rooms are spacious and the shower is great. We didn't like that the windows were overlooking the corridor, but it's great decision for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top