$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
88 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking partial ocean view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine xo
Maine
Mar 7, 2011

Location, comfort, and staff

This pretty hotel is in the heart of it all, but just enough away to make it a peaceful setting. It's small, tropical ambiance gave me the feeling of coming home at the end of my explorations. The beach is just steps from the entrance. Ave. 5 where great food, shopping, bars are steps away and at your fingertips. I won't hesitate to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
québec
Mar 21, 2011

wonderful

Wonderful place located by the 5 avenue and 30 sec walk from the playa del carmen beach! Beautiful spot, safe, quiet and perfect to spend a week! Breakfast included was great too! Little pool on the roof, perfect spot to come in the aternoon! Hoo yeah and the Staff are the most friendly and helpful I've seen! See you soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will Travel to Dive
San Jose, CA
Sep 2, 2009

Great 3Star Hotel

Location is great, walk 20 steps inland to the pedestrian street so you have total convenience without the noise or traffic. Or walk 20 steps toward the ocean and you hit the beach. Room was spacious and comfortable. The furniture wasn't fancy but everything was clean. All the staff were very friendly. Just don't go there for the pool. It's pretty small. But with gorgeous warm, clean blue water next door you don't need the pool. A great bonus we didn't know about til we got there was that you get a voucher each day to use beach beds and canopies on the beach, right at the edge of the lapping waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frutiyogurth is a great place to take a break from tacos and tortas. They've got great fresh fruit shakes and salads that are a little lighter fare to balance the meat and tortilla you get at other local places. Most of the people that go there are locals. The price is low and the quality is high. on Avenida 10 Norte between Calle 8 and 10. And if you are there to scuba dive we highly recommend Scuba 10. Gerardo just opened the shop in June and he's experienced, skilled, and very friendly. He caters the dives to your interests and makes your having fun his personal mission, especially in the cenotes. He's on Avenida 10 Norte between Calle 10 and 12.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brainerd, MN
Mar 11, 2010

Great Location

The hotel had a great location, 1/2 block from beach and 1/2 block from 5th street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prices go down further you go inland. Watch for wear all the locals eat them selves.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Feb 13, 2011

Great location

Located a few yards from a beautiful beach. Very close to 5th street where you find a great selection of shops and places to eat. Neat rooms and beautiful arquitecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daddybear
edmonton canada
Jun 20, 2011

great location &I friendly helpful staff

I stayed at Illusion Hotel while on vacation with family that were staying at a 5 star resort down the road. after seeing there rooms I was glad I was not able to book a room there. I enjoyed the location 1/2 block to beach 1/2 block to 5 Ave. with great shopping, restaurants, street entertainment, great to just people watch, I hope to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the upper rooms are a little nicer 3rd 4th floor.especially the pool level as your room has plenty of light and are not facing into the court yard. I upgraded to the 3rd floor as the lower rooms were to closed in for me. All room are clean and well kept. only short coming is the pool is a wading pool 3ft deep,

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Roberto
Michigan, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Illusions Boutique Hotel

Fantastic location--steps away from the tacky restaurants and souvenir shops on Fifth Avenue and half a block from a great beach. The staff tries very hard to please, and usually does. Otherwise, this hotel is about on par with a decent, $60-a-night Best Western or La Quinta just off some interstate. The continental breakfast that came with our package consisted of toast, fruit, cereal and pound cake, and was disappointing. Contrary to advertising, the hotel does allow children and does not have its own beach club. Instead, it gives vouchers for the Mosquito Beach Hotel beach club, which is at the end of the block and is quite posh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Babe's, a Thai noodle place on 10th St. Further afield, we like Alux--so-so food, but a great setting--and La Cueva del Chango. The Chango has moved on, but the ambience is nice and the food is good.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexifan
ohio
Dec 10, 2009

Great Clean Good location

This hotel is a great deal. very clean with super nice management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very many good restaurants within blocks of hotel

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati Ohio
Mar 30, 2011

Great Botique Hotel, amazing location

Amazing location, right off main street of 5th Avenue, feet from the beach and a few blocks walk from the bus station and a block from the taxi areas. The rooms are nice with huge two person shower, I can not believe I am saying this but the shower water pressure was almost to powerful !! Unbelievealby clean hotel, nice and quiet. The bed was ok, it was no heavenly bed !! Beautiful new flat screen tv with some english tv channels, free Wifi, and a fridge with a stocked mini bar if you need it, and a coffee machine in the room as well. Great service at the front deak, [...]ROCKED !!!!!!!and made us feel like we where staying at someones house not a hotel !! The resort has a nice sun bathing area and a pool, but this is a small two feet deep pool, to hang out in not a huge swimming pool. The tables around the hotel are perfect for enjoying time in Mexico, great hotel, we will stay here again !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wickys..the beach bar they may recommend has amazing bacon wrapped shrimp !!!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Apr 17, 2010

We loved this hotel.

We loved staying at the Illusion. It was an absolute perfect location with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. The added free computer use in the lobby area was an unexpected bonus. They have a little exchange library that was also a nice touch. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast which included toast and a pastry and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. It was all we needed to start the day. The housekeeping staff always left our room perfect with nice towel art (which we always enjoy). Beach towels were readily available at the front desk and we were always greeted when passing through the lobby. This trip was with my sister but I look forward to staying there next year with my husband. It's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn to use the public transportation. You will save lots of money traveling to the extended areas like Tulum and Akumal and Puerto Morelos.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search