$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 2, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
85 reviews
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
great hotel with top hospitality

Thanks to the entire staff, it's been great time ! A 5 stars service in an affordable hotel... See full review

  • tetecreuse
  • May 21, 2013
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking ocean front view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
Don Roberto
Michigan, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Illusions Boutique Hotel

Fantastic location--steps away from the tacky restaurants and souvenir shops on Fifth Avenue and half a block from a great beach. The staff tries very hard to please, and usually does. Otherwise, this hotel is about on par with a decent, $60-a-night Best Western or La Quinta just off some interstate. The continental breakfast that came with our package consisted of toast, fruit, cereal and pound cake, and was disappointing. Contrary to advertising, the hotel does allow children and does not have its own beach club. Instead, it gives vouchers for the Mosquito Beach Hotel beach club, which is at the end of the block and is quite posh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Babe's, a Thai noodle place on 10th St. Further afield, we like Alux--so-so food, but a great setting--and La Cueva del Chango. The Chango has moved on, but the ambience is nice and the food is good.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
Will Travel to Dive
San Jose, CA
Sep 2, 2009

Great 3Star Hotel

Location is great, walk 20 steps inland to the pedestrian street so you have total convenience without the noise or traffic. Or walk 20 steps toward the ocean and you hit the beach. Room was spacious and comfortable. The furniture wasn't fancy but everything was clean. All the staff were very friendly. Just don't go there for the pool. It's pretty small. But with gorgeous warm, clean blue water next door you don't need the pool. A great bonus we didn't know about til we got there was that you get a voucher each day to use beach beds and canopies on the beach, right at the edge of the lapping waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frutiyogurth is a great place to take a break from tacos and tortas. They've got great fresh fruit shakes and salads that are a little lighter fare to balance the meat and tortilla you get at other local places. Most of the people that go there are locals. The price is low and the quality is high. on Avenida 10 Norte between Calle 8 and 10. And if you are there to scuba dive we highly recommend Scuba 10. Gerardo just opened the shop in June and he's experienced, skilled, and very friendly. He caters the dives to your interests and makes your having fun his personal mission, especially in the cenotes. He's on Avenida 10 Norte between Calle 10 and 12.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
daddybear
edmonton canada
Jun 20, 2011

great location &I friendly helpful staff

I stayed at Illusion Hotel while on vacation with family that were staying at a 5 star resort down the road. after seeing there rooms I was glad I was not able to book a room there. I enjoyed the location 1/2 block to beach 1/2 block to 5 Ave. with great shopping, restaurants, street entertainment, great to just people watch, I hope to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the upper rooms are a little nicer 3rd 4th floor.especially the pool level as your room has plenty of light and are not facing into the court yard. I upgraded to the 3rd floor as the lower rooms were to closed in for me. All room are clean and well kept. only short coming is the pool is a wading pool 3ft deep,

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
PV vacationer
Shelton Washington
May 2, 2009

Playa Del Carmen

Our hotel was in a perfect location in Playa Del Carmen, we were 1/2 block from the beach and a 1/2 block from 5th street. The staff at the Illusions hotel are very helpful with helping us make arrangements for tours and where to eat,[...]is a good source of information, he also helped us make reservations for our aniversary dinner. We were there for 14 nights each day we had a different towel arrangement on our bed when we returned to our room. The pool on the roof is small and not very deep, however it was relaxing,very few other hotel guests used the pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Jul 27, 2007

great location

Excellent location. Perfect if you are planning no rental car. Nice staff and good breakfast. Rooms are clean but most don't have outside windows, they face the inside patio or hallways. A good place to enjoy Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice Italian mediterranean restaurant, great food and service. Also an independent coffe place on 5th, great fresh bread.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Mar 24, 2010

Clean, quiet, close to beach

The King size bed was the ticket after a nice sunny hot day on the beach. The remote for the air conditioner came in really handy at night. The restraunt is connected and really very good. The desk clerk told us on the second day our package didn't include so we couldn't have anymore free continental breakfast. The paperwork I had along did not specify but I discovered back home that the package I chose on [...] did include free continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to get beach passes at front desk in morning!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
santander
Chicago
Dec 16, 2012

Good for the price

We stayed 3 nights and it wad a good experience. Close to beach and you can get in the Mosquito club for free. Good continental breakfast. The room wasn' t very clean the first day but it was ok the rest. It always smell weird. Overall good for what you pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
KathrynM
Reno, NV, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Great Location, Great Value!

My husband and I selected this hotel for our first trip to Playa del Carmen. First, the location is fantastic! It is on Calle 8 between the beach and 5th Ave which is where all of the shops and restaurants are loc ated. Just take the ADO bus from the airport and walk north on 5th Ave to Calle 8 then turn right. We were greated nicely at the front desk and offered two bottles of ice cold water when we checked in...nice touch! Our room was large by Mexico standards, clean, and had a refrigerator and a safe. There was a purified water dispenser on every floor of the hotel to keep our water bottles full, another nice touch. There was also a tea/coffee station in the lobby throughout the day and evening. The hotel is "adults only" which my husband and I prefer. My only gripe about the service was one night when a group of guests were sitting outside talking very loudly until 2am. I was very frustrated that the hotel staff didn't bother to do anything about them, and I finally had to approach the group myself and ask them to please go inside a room. Other than that, the staff were very knowlegable and friendly, and Playa del Carmen is a wonderful place to vacation. My husband and I spent a day in Cozumel which was a waste in my opinion unless you're going snorkeling or fishing. Tulum was amazing...I suggest downloading a podcast and touring at your own pace because the guided tour is expensive (my husband and I are budget travellers!) Our vacation was limited a little by the threat of hurricane Rina (which ended up being a tropical storm) so we are planning on going back and going to Xcaret and Chichen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
Apr 3, 2010

Illusion Hotel Review

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and jumping right in to ask how our vacation was going (not just our stay at the hotel), gave us tips, directions, and helped us out when we screwed up the safe combination! The hotel restaurant was meh, but who cares, we shouldn't have eaten at the hotel restaurant on our vacation anyway. It was ridiculously inexpensive given its proximity to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

See everything first

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
Hfpq
Puerto Rico
Sep 3, 2013

Location location location

Clean comfy and great location. 4th floor is the best in front of the pool with great views. Diana our concierge was very helpful as well as the rest of the staff. Very close to the beach. 2 minutes walk max. And great restaurants around. Will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Change pesos before getting to Playa or at a bank. Restaurants will charge you more than the actual market change.

Back to menu Return to top