$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alissaj
Couples
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Excellent Location!

Great value for the price! Just steps from the ocean and shops - Very helpful staff - Would NOT purchase the breakfast with the hotel - there are too many great restaurants to try in the area - FYI only ocean view rooms are an upgrade to the rooftop deck area - Worth the upgrade:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved our sunset dinner at "Fusion" located on the beach - Also great dinner on 5th at Venta

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vands
Couples
Austin, Texas
Apr 30, 2012

first romantic getaway

We chose this hotel as its very close to the 5th Avenue-playa del carmen's downtown and also because its close to the beach. Everything was pretty close and we didnt have to walk much for anything...Restaurants, travel reservations(for tulum/xel-ha/chitchen-itza etc., tours), shopping..Staff were friendly and they helped us in booking a cab going back..But our room didnt have much ocean view. We cared less as we were out most of the time..We paid a little extra for room with balcony but we realized later it was not necessary as we never really used it..There is a small pool on the top floor. Breakfast was ok..Not great..There is a bus station close to the hotel too..Minutes walk...So you can take a bus from airport to the bus station which is much cheaper than a cab...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In Playa Del Carmen Downtown..Very close to the beach, playa's downtown and attractions and hotels....

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
santander
Couples
Chicago
Dec 16, 2012

Good for the price

We stayed 3 nights and it wad a good experience. Close to beach and you can get in the Mosquito club for free. Good continental breakfast. The room wasn' t very clean the first day but it was ok the rest. It always smell weird. Overall good for what you pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hiker Chris
Couples
Colorado
Apr 29, 2013

In the heart of PLaya del Carmen action

Hotel was very nice. Staff is superb. Room did not have a clock which was inconvenient. There was no parking close be which we did not realize until we had spent a great deal of time driving around the one way streets. Ending up parking 2.5 blocks away which was fine, just would have been nice to know ahead. You cannot drive any closer to the hotel than 2 blocks. Restaurants and shops and the beach are all around the Illusion making it a great place to stay. Breakfast was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to sample the wonderful tequila flavors at the Tequila Factory.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hfpq
Couples
Puerto Rico
Sep 3, 2013

Location location location

Clean comfy and great location. 4th floor is the best in front of the pool with great views. Diana our concierge was very helpful as well as the rest of the staff. Very close to the beach. 2 minutes walk max. And great restaurants around. Will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Change pesos before getting to Playa or at a bank. Restaurants will charge you more than the actual market change.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LibbyVictor
Couples
Israel
Sep 21, 2013

Good experience

The staff was great with us. The rooms are spacious and the shower is great. We didn't like that the windows were overlooking the corridor, but it's great decision for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pipiolos
Couples
Mexico
May 30, 2014

Perfect location in Playa del Carmen

This hotel is just a few steps from the beach and from 5th avenue. Staff is super friendly, willing to help all the time, I will stay there my next trip to Playa del Carmen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wonderful place to have dinner, one block away on the fifth avenue. The place is called Ula Gula, you should try the 4 cheese pasta. It's wonderful!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahama Jim
Couples
Orlando, FL
Mar 25, 2011

Great bargain with excellent location

This hotel is 1/2 block from Avenida Quinta and the Caribbean. It has a gorgeous view of the sea on the forth floor with a swimming pool. Next door is a great restaurant and bar, dive shop, and small store. We used our rent car to travel to Tulum, Puerto Morelos, Playacar, and a private beach called Al Cielo. We enjoyed this vacation more than our trip to Nassau, and it was less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car, because you can see more without being encumbered by tour guides on their own schedule, and it is less expensive.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cincinnati Ohio
Mar 30, 2011

Great Botique Hotel, amazing location

Amazing location, right off main street of 5th Avenue, feet from the beach and a few blocks walk from the bus station and a block from the taxi areas. The rooms are nice with huge two person shower, I can not believe I am saying this but the shower water pressure was almost to powerful !! Unbelievealby clean hotel, nice and quiet. The bed was ok, it was no heavenly bed !! Beautiful new flat screen tv with some english tv channels, free Wifi, and a fridge with a stocked mini bar if you need it, and a coffee machine in the room as well. Great service at the front deak, [...]ROCKED !!!!!!!and made us feel like we where staying at someones house not a hotel !! The resort has a nice sun bathing area and a pool, but this is a small two feet deep pool, to hang out in not a huge swimming pool. The tables around the hotel are perfect for enjoying time in Mexico, great hotel, we will stay here again !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wickys..the beach bar they may recommend has amazing bacon wrapped shrimp !!!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daddybear
Single
edmonton canada
Jun 20, 2011

great location &I friendly helpful staff

I stayed at Illusion Hotel while on vacation with family that were staying at a 5 star resort down the road. after seeing there rooms I was glad I was not able to book a room there. I enjoyed the location 1/2 block to beach 1/2 block to 5 Ave. with great shopping, restaurants, street entertainment, great to just people watch, I hope to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the upper rooms are a little nicer 3rd 4th floor.especially the pool level as your room has plenty of light and are not facing into the court yard. I upgraded to the 3rd floor as the lower rooms were to closed in for me. All room are clean and well kept. only short coming is the pool is a wading pool 3ft deep,

Back to menu Return to top