Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$144
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016
4.1 /5
Overall score
94%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Mirage
  • Size: 330 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Mirage
  • Size: 330 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Vision Sea View
  • Size: 440 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Prestige Ocean View Non Refundable
  • Size: 440 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Prestige Ocean View
  • Size: 440 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Cabana Vision Sea View Non Refundable
  • Size: 440 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Mirage - Standard Room
  • Size: 330 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Mirage - Standard Room
  • Size: 330 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests. Property has a rooftop that has a spectacular large terrace with magnificent view over the Mexican Caribbean, a relaxing plunge pool, and a holistic room for enjoying massages.

Rooms

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Property features

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Highlights

  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue

Nearby attractions

  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Transportation

  • Cancun International Airport

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Solarium

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant

Services

  • In-Room Safe
  • Doctor on call

Internet

  • WiFi

Reviews

4.1 /5 Overall score

94% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.6/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.5/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.6/5
  • Comfort: 4.2/5
  • Location: 4.7/5
  • Value: 4.4/5

Ok room, great location!

Would recommend Tue, Feb 3, 2015
Rooms are pretty basic, although having the fridge was very nice. Our bathroom had ants on the counter so that was pretty annoying. Beds are soooooo hard we were tossing all night. We had a small balcony that was pretty useless looking out to people eating at the restaurant. The pool was pretty, and also pretty small and cold. The staff here was very nice and accommodating. The location was the best part of the hotel. Just steps away from the main strip and ocean. I have to say the little restaurant when u walk out to the left next door was pretty delish! All in all I probably would look for a nicer quality hotel for next time but it did the trick this time.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Last minute vacation

Would recommend Wed, Jan 28, 2015
Found this deal on line. It had good reviews. It's location was just off the main drag and very close to all the action. Being that, I was surprisingly quite for it's location. It is not on the beach but they have a working relationship with the beach-side hotel a block away, so you can use their towels and lounges. Breakfast was continental included, but you could also order off a menu. Super friendly service. Staff very helpful and always a smile on their faces. Rooms cleaned daily, Air conditioner, fridge and safe in the room. It could have used a microwave but, for the price and location, just awesome

| Victoria Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Exactly what I was hoping for and more

Would recommend Wed, Nov 19, 2014
The staff at Illusion were very helpful and willing to meet our requests. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable, we didn't spend a ton of time in the room anyway. The hotel inner garden is just lovely and there is also a small pool on the rooftop with an ocean view. The location is what made this hotel so fantastic. We are less than a block from the beach and from 5th Avenue so we were able to walk everywhere! I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Money saver

Don't use the ATMs on 5th or worry about having US dollars, yup save money using pesos and the best rate to pull them out is at the bank on 8th and 10th right up the street from the hotel!

| Crystal Lake, Illinois Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Close to the beach

Would recommend Mon, Nov 3, 2014
Best bit is the location, close to the beach and the main street, bus station and ferry terminal. No parking though if you come with a car. Nice rooftop pool and rooms are good, although a bit pricey for what you get. The adults only title may seem like it is something different!

| Mexico D F Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Nice place with a good location

Would recommend Tue, Jul 29, 2014
Good location, 50 steps to Quinta Avenidai (5th Ave.), 90 steps to the Beach, between Fusion Beach Hotel and Mosquito Beach Hotel on 8 Calle. The room is nice, didn't have the best view on the balcony. The staff wanted to move us when there was a chance but my wife was fine and didn't want to move. We have a select number bed at home so the mattress here felt hard for us. There's a futon bed in the room, so we placed that mattress on top of the hard one and we were fine. All the staff is very welcoming and nice and helpful. Special thanks to Jorge, Saul and David at the front desk, and Ignacio the bartender at the pool (small cute pool upstairs), they made our stay here very satisfying.

| Los Angeles (SFV), California Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Perfect location in Playa del Carmen

Would recommend Fri, May 30, 2014
This hotel is just a few steps from the beach and from 5th avenue. Staff is super friendly, willing to help all the time, I will stay there my next trip to Playa del Carmen

Dining

There is a wonderful place to have dinner, one block away on the fifth avenue. The place is called Ula Gula, you should try the 4 cheese pasta. It's wonderful!

| Mexico Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hotel is like a dream!

Would recommend Mon, Apr 7, 2014
Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and cold water immediately. A glass elevator takes you up to your room, and overlooks the rooftop pool. Walking into our room was a jawdropper. It doesn't look like the pictures, it looks way better! The room is enormous, with a huge, comfortable bed, granite shower and countertops, and his/her sinks. If one word was to describe our stay: luxurious.

Nightlife hint

The main street, 5th Avenue, closes down between 11 and midnight. If you are looking for late night dancing, come out of the hotel and turn right on 5th avenue, following it for 3-4 blocks and you will quickly hear the pounding music of clubs that stay open into the early morning.

| Maine Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good experience

Would recommend Sat, Sep 21, 2013
The staff was great with us. The rooms are spacious and the shower is great. We didn't like that the windows were overlooking the corridor, but it's great decision for the price.

| Israel Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Location location location

Would recommend Tue, Sep 3, 2013
Clean comfy and great location. 4th floor is the best in front of the pool with great views. Diana our concierge was very helpful as well as the rest of the staff. Very close to the beach. 2 minutes walk max. And great restaurants around. Will definitely come back.

Money saver

Change pesos before getting to Playa or at a bank. Restaurants will charge you more than the actual market change.

| Puerto Rico Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great hotel with top hospitality

Would recommend Tue, May 21, 2013
Thanks to the entire staff, it's been great time ! A 5 stars service in an affordable hotel ! Special thanks to Cynthia at the reception desk and aureliano at the restaurant !!! Hotel very close to the beach between the beach clubs and the quinta avenue restaurants and attractions.

Entertainment hint

Mosquito beach club, with its king size matress on the sand...

| Guadeloupe, french west indies Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 1:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$144
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016