$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Ok room, great location!

Rooms are pretty basic, although having the fridge was very nice. Our bathroom had ants on the... See full review

  • Jamn
  • Feb 3, 2015
great hotel

the hotel is great. location is perfect, hotel is very clean , staff is nice, walking distance to... See full review

  • ernesto b.
  • Jan 5, 2015

The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests. Property has a rooftop that has a spectacular large terrace with magnificent view over the Mexican Caribbean, a relaxing dipping wet lounge where you can bask in the sun and a holistic room for enjoying massages.

Rooms

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Property features

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Highlights
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Nearby attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport

Top hotels

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Mirage with Balcony
    Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Prestige
    Features:

  • 426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon
  • Terrace
  • Partial ocean view
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Wake up calls on request
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cabana Vision
    Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture..
    The 5th floor offers:
  • 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed
  • Remote control A/C
  • VOIP phone
  • In room safe
  • Mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities
  • High speed internet access is also available
  • Ceiling fan
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    9 out of 98
    Amenities:
    3.4
    Cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.7
    Comfort:
    3.9
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4.3

    100% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    mexico sun lover
    Business
    Milwaukee
    Apr 6, 2013

    close to beach & 5th Ave.

    My family of 4 stayed one weak. It was a great location. Plan to pay more for everything if you book in downtown Playa Del Carmen; it caters to Europeans and the wealthy. Great place to people watch. Bring your 4 inch heels and a thong bikini! If you want to shop, and have money to blow this is the place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Buy your own beer and wine at Walmart. Ice can be brought each day at store next to hotel for $2. Buying drinks out is very costly.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    judass67
    Business
    Rosenberg, TX, USA
    Aug 23, 2011

    Adult Family Vacation

    Staff was wonderful, concierge Mahatma is the BEST!!! Location is the BEST!! just about a block from the beach! only problem was we booked 2 queen beds and when we arrived we had one King bed. They put an extra twin bed. We offered to pay more for another room they said it was not available, but as soon as it was they would give us the room. They did not, even though I noticed that 2 doors down a few days later a room was unoccupied. Other that it was Great. They gave us private airport transportation for the price of a taxi.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    we dined where the locals do and the food was awesome and very inexpensive. There is a Walmart about 15 min walk so you can stock up your mini bar. (cokes, beer, snacks etc…)Take a taxi back with you groceries for about 3 dollars or less..

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    judass67
    Business
    Rosenberg, TX, USA
    Aug 23, 2011

    Adult Family Vacation

    Staff was wonderful, concierge Mahatma is the BEST!!! Location is the BEST!! just about a block from the beach! only problem was we booked 2 queen beds and when we arrived we had one King bed. They put an extra twin bed. We offered to pay more for another room they said it was not available, but as soon as it was they would give us the room. They did not, even though I noticed that 2 doors down a few days later a room was unoccupied. Other that it was Great. They gave us private airport transportation for the price of a taxi.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    we dined where the locals do and the food was awesome and very inexpensive. There is a Walmart about 15 min walk so you can stock up your mini bar. (cokes, beer, snacks etc…)Take a taxi back with you groceries for about 3 dollars or less..

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Minnesota
    Apr 17, 2010

    We loved this hotel.

    We loved staying at the Illusion. It was an absolute perfect location with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. The added free computer use in the lobby area was an unexpected bonus. They have a little exchange library that was also a nice touch. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast which included toast and a pastry and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. It was all we needed to start the day. The housekeeping staff always left our room perfect with nice towel art (which we always enjoy). Beach towels were readily available at the front desk and we were always greeted when passing through the lobby. This trip was with my sister but I look forward to staying there next year with my husband. It's a great place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Learn to use the public transportation. You will save lots of money traveling to the extended areas like Tulum and Akumal and Puerto Morelos.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Brainerd, MN
    Mar 11, 2010

    Great Location

    The hotel had a great location, 1/2 block from beach and 1/2 block from 5th street.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Prices go down further you go inland. Watch for wear all the locals eat them selves.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    NY, NY
    Nov 23, 2009

    Small & charming but under construction

    The good stuff first - this is a charming little hotel in a perfect location and friendly staff. Free internet and wi-fi. The not-so-good - The pool is MUCH smaller than it looks in the picture and reeks of chlorine so we did not use it. Part of the hotel was under construction throughout our stay (day AND night)which made it a noisy stay. They did accomodate us with a baby crib and the breakfast is a nice perk. Don't go for the upgrade to a room with a private balcony - they all have it... Overall we would recommend this hotel but only on the 4th floor and check regarding the construction ahead of time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    100% Natural is our favorite restaurant - healthy yummy food and great service/prices.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    *G*
    Business
    houston,tx
    Sep 26, 2009

    good value

    Hotel was clean, had a fridge, and good water pressure. It was right in the middle of everything. Very good value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    try to book a car through the site you booked your hotel on. Its cheaper that way. Many of these guys will charge you a higher rate.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    *G*
    Business
    houston,tx
    Sep 26, 2009

    good value

    Hotel was clean, had a fridge, and good water pressure. It was right in the middle of everything. Very good value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    try to book a car through the site you booked your hotel on. Its cheaper that way. Many of these guys will charge you a higher rate.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Jul 27, 2007

    great location

    Excellent location. Perfect if you are planning no rental car. Nice staff and good breakfast. Rooms are clean but most don't have outside windows, they face the inside patio or hallways. A good place to enjoy Playa.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    A nice Italian mediterranean restaurant, great food and service. Also an independent coffe place on 5th, great fresh bread.

    Back to menu Return to top