$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
90 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Playa del Carmen boutique hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking partial ocean view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 90
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexico sun lover
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 6, 2013

close to beach & 5th Ave.

My family of 4 stayed one weak. It was a great location. Plan to pay more for everything if you book in downtown Playa Del Carmen; it caters to Europeans and the wealthy. Great place to people watch. Bring your 4 inch heels and a thong bikini! If you want to shop, and have money to blow this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your own beer and wine at Walmart. Ice can be brought each day at store next to hotel for $2. Buying drinks out is very costly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judass67
Business
Rosenberg, TX, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Adult Family Vacation

Staff was wonderful, concierge Mahatma is the BEST!!! Location is the BEST!! just about a block from the beach! only problem was we booked 2 queen beds and when we arrived we had one King bed. They put an extra twin bed. We offered to pay more for another room they said it was not available, but as soon as it was they would give us the room. They did not, even though I noticed that 2 doors down a few days later a room was unoccupied. Other that it was Great. They gave us private airport transportation for the price of a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we dined where the locals do and the food was awesome and very inexpensive. There is a Walmart about 15 min walk so you can stock up your mini bar. (cokes, beer, snacks etc…)Take a taxi back with you groceries for about 3 dollars or less..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Apr 17, 2010

We loved this hotel.

We loved staying at the Illusion. It was an absolute perfect location with a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. The added free computer use in the lobby area was an unexpected bonus. They have a little exchange library that was also a nice touch. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast which included toast and a pastry and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. It was all we needed to start the day. The housekeeping staff always left our room perfect with nice towel art (which we always enjoy). Beach towels were readily available at the front desk and we were always greeted when passing through the lobby. This trip was with my sister but I look forward to staying there next year with my husband. It's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn to use the public transportation. You will save lots of money traveling to the extended areas like Tulum and Akumal and Puerto Morelos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brainerd, MN
Mar 11, 2010

Great Location

The hotel had a great location, 1/2 block from beach and 1/2 block from 5th street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prices go down further you go inland. Watch for wear all the locals eat them selves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Nov 23, 2009

Small & charming but under construction

The good stuff first - this is a charming little hotel in a perfect location and friendly staff. Free internet and wi-fi. The not-so-good - The pool is MUCH smaller than it looks in the picture and reeks of chlorine so we did not use it. Part of the hotel was under construction throughout our stay (day AND night)which made it a noisy stay. They did accomodate us with a baby crib and the breakfast is a nice perk. Don't go for the upgrade to a room with a private balcony - they all have it... Overall we would recommend this hotel but only on the 4th floor and check regarding the construction ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

100% Natural is our favorite restaurant - healthy yummy food and great service/prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
*G*
Business
houston,tx
Sep 26, 2009

good value

Hotel was clean, had a fridge, and good water pressure. It was right in the middle of everything. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

try to book a car through the site you booked your hotel on. Its cheaper that way. Many of these guys will charge you a higher rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

great location

Excellent location. Perfect if you are planning no rental car. Nice staff and good breakfast. Rooms are clean but most don't have outside windows, they face the inside patio or hallways. A good place to enjoy Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice Italian mediterranean restaurant, great food and service. Also an independent coffe place on 5th, great fresh bread.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top