$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
90 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Playa del Carmen boutique hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking partial ocean view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 26, 2010

The Illusion is an Illusion

First of all, there is not a restaurant. The breakfast is coffee, juice and pastries at a bistro table. That is it. There is not an ice machine working at this time. Rooms were clean. Walls are paper thin and I mean paper thin. You have to have a key in a lock on the wall to have the electricity on in the room. Not really a problem except one day my girlfriend did not feel good and since they will only give you one key, I either had to have someone at the front desk go unlock the door or I had to knock & wake her up. The hotel was not full but ran out of beach towels several times. The internet does not work very well so wifi is unpredictable at this property. Overall the biggest problem for us is there is just nothing here other than a room and for the money, we could have stayed where there is at least some excitement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 25, 2009

Where were the amenities?

This hotel had potential. It was in a great location near restaurants and shops and less than a block from the beach...but it went downhill from there. All of the amenities listed on the Orbitz site were either lacking or non-existent. The pool on the roof was tiny and dirty because the filter was never turned on. Yes there was a poolside bar, but it was empty and there was never any staff there to serve anyone. Restaurant?? none. Spa?? none. Room Service?? none. Internet?? yes...there was one computer in the non-air-conditioned lobby. My room was bleak with no furniture except a rattan tv stand. There wasn't even a chair to sit in. As for security...I never saw anyone. In fact we saw guests go behind the desk in the lobby to get their own keys to their rooms when there was no one manning the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seasoned Playa Traveler
Business
Minneapolis MN
Feb 21, 2010

Adequate but their showers could use hel

Staff was very friendly. Great location. Rooms were very clean. The shower preasure was weak and the water was either very cold or very hot. It was tought to find warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mamie HV
Business
Canada
Mar 18, 2010

Nice location

Very good location, nice staff, breakfast not so bad: toast with strawberry jam, coffee and orange juice. The bed was very hard. I'm not sure if i'll return there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 26, 2009

Ok, but not again

There was no complimentary breafast or even coffee. When I asked about it, they looked at me like I was crazy. It was just a room stay in. Nothing more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snewt
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Not the relaxing beach stay expected

Behind the desk was an aggressive real estate lady who literally hounded us every time we walked by the desk to go on a "free" trip in exchange for attending a time share meeting. Luckily, we had been forewarned about these events, as we heard it was a nightmare. This woman would not take NO for an answer. So it literally was uncomfortable to pick up and leave our key every time we left the hotel. Also, the pool was small and not a real pool...maybe a wading pool, about 4 times the size of a bathtub. The images on Orbitz and their website are misleading by the way they are shot. The "complimentary" cocktail is a can of beer. Our chain lock on the door was also broken, but I felt safe since it was a loud/happening part of town. The other thing we did not realize is that beachfront is allocated to hotels and this particular hotel is in front of a part of the beach that is rocky and hard to swim at, whereas there were lots of other beachfronts surrounding/hotel sections that did not have this issue. Also, no parking with this hotel was a big hassle the first night we arrived, probably try to arrive in daylight if you are coming by car and staying here. Overall, I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
*G*
Business
houston,tx
Sep 26, 2009

good value

Hotel was clean, had a fridge, and good water pressure. It was right in the middle of everything. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

try to book a car through the site you booked your hotel on. Its cheaper that way. Many of these guys will charge you a higher rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
passion pants
Business
up state n. y.
Mar 21, 2013

good hotel for the price

my wife and i just returned from an all inclusive for 10 days and then went to illusions for five days ; for the most part it was nice - some hidden fees like room deposit of 50.00 dollars which they should state on there web site and the chairs at the resorts that are offered require a minimum spending fee of 20.00 per day in food or drink in exchange for use of them ; also there are bikes at the hotel but a fee not included in pricing ; rooms are very clean and the breakfast is nice staff is nice also- beds are very hard - could be alot soffter! we would recommend this hotel to others - also very close to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yia yia
Business
Kansas
Mar 15, 2014

Construction

Location is everything and this hotel has it, the staff was helpful and polite. The beach accommodations were not good but this was someone else problem. Breakfast is not for the meat and eggs person. We will return because of the location only after the nearby construction is complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emili
Business
new york
Jun 26, 2011

Perfect for the price

Best location to the beach and 5th avenue. Hotel was clean and the staff Was friendly. Good price for the location, you got what you paid for. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top