$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
77 reviews
Ok room, great location!

Rooms are pretty basic, although having the fridge was very nice. Our bathroom had ants on the... See full review

  • Jamn
  • Feb 3, 2015
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014

The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests. Property has a rooftop that has a spectacular large terrace with magnificent view over the Mexican Caribbean, a relaxing plunge pool, and a holistic room for enjoying massages.

Rooms

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Property features

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Highlights
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Nearby attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport

Top hotels

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Mirage with Balcony
    Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Prestige
    Features:

  • 426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon
  • Terrace
  • Partial ocean view
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Wake up calls on request
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cabana Vision
    Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture..
    The 5th floor offers:
  • 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed
  • Remote control A/C
  • VOIP phone
  • In room safe
  • Mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities
  • High speed internet access is also available
  • Ceiling fan
  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    77 out of 77
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Dallas, TX
    Nov 26, 2010

    The Illusion is an Illusion

    First of all, there is not a restaurant. The breakfast is coffee, juice and pastries at a bistro table. That is it. There is not an ice machine working at this time. Rooms were clean. Walls are paper thin and I mean paper thin. You have to have a key in a lock on the wall to have the electricity on in the room. Not really a problem except one day my girlfriend did not feel good and since they will only give you one key, I either had to have someone at the front desk go unlock the door or I had to knock & wake her up. The hotel was not full but ran out of beach towels several times. The internet does not work very well so wifi is unpredictable at this property. Overall the biggest problem for us is there is just nothing here other than a room and for the money, we could have stayed where there is at least some excitement

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Single
    New York, NY
    Sep 25, 2009

    Where were the amenities?

    This hotel had potential. It was in a great location near restaurants and shops and less than a block from the beach...but it went downhill from there. All of the amenities listed on the Orbitz site were either lacking or non-existent. The pool on the roof was tiny and dirty because the filter was never turned on. Yes there was a poolside bar, but it was empty and there was never any staff there to serve anyone. Restaurant?? none. Spa?? none. Room Service?? none. Internet?? yes...there was one computer in the non-air-conditioned lobby. My room was bleak with no furniture except a rattan tv stand. There wasn't even a chair to sit in. As for security...I never saw anyone. In fact we saw guests go behind the desk in the lobby to get their own keys to their rooms when there was no one manning the desk.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Single

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Seasoned Playa Traveler
    Couples
    Minneapolis MN
    Feb 21, 2010

    Adequate but their showers could use hel

    Staff was very friendly. Great location. Rooms were very clean. The shower preasure was weak and the water was either very cold or very hot. It was tought to find warm.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Mamie HV
    Couples
    Canada
    Mar 18, 2010

    Nice location

    Very good location, nice staff, breakfast not so bad: toast with strawberry jam, coffee and orange juice. The bed was very hard. I'm not sure if i'll return there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Dallas, TX
    May 26, 2009

    Ok, but not again

    There was no complimentary breafast or even coffee. When I asked about it, they looked at me like I was crazy. It was just a room stay in. Nothing more.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    snewt
    Friends
    New York, NY
    Mar 3, 2009

    Not the relaxing beach stay expected

    Behind the desk was an aggressive real estate lady who literally hounded us every time we walked by the desk to go on a "free" trip in exchange for attending a time share meeting. Luckily, we had been forewarned about these events, as we heard it was a nightmare. This woman would not take NO for an answer. So it literally was uncomfortable to pick up and leave our key every time we left the hotel. Also, the pool was small and not a real pool...maybe a wading pool, about 4 times the size of a bathtub. The images on Orbitz and their website are misleading by the way they are shot. The "complimentary" cocktail is a can of beer. Our chain lock on the door was also broken, but I felt safe since it was a loud/happening part of town. The other thing we did not realize is that beachfront is allocated to hotels and this particular hotel is in front of a part of the beach that is rocky and hard to swim at, whereas there were lots of other beachfronts surrounding/hotel sections that did not have this issue. Also, no parking with this hotel was a big hassle the first night we arrived, probably try to arrive in daylight if you are coming by car and staying here. Overall, I would not recommend this place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    emili
    Friends
    new york
    Jun 26, 2011

    Perfect for the price

    Best location to the beach and 5th avenue. Hotel was clean and the staff Was friendly. Good price for the location, you got what you paid for. I would stay there again

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Family
    NY, NY
    Nov 23, 2009

    Small & charming but under construction

    The good stuff first - this is a charming little hotel in a perfect location and friendly staff. Free internet and wi-fi. The not-so-good - The pool is MUCH smaller than it looks in the picture and reeks of chlorine so we did not use it. Part of the hotel was under construction throughout our stay (day AND night)which made it a noisy stay. They did accomodate us with a baby crib and the breakfast is a nice perk. Don't go for the upgrade to a room with a private balcony - they all have it... Overall we would recommend this hotel but only on the 4th floor and check regarding the construction ahead of time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    100% Natural is our favorite restaurant - healthy yummy food and great service/prices.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Cchamb
    Couples
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Aug 24, 2011

    Good location and room for the price, but the amentities need improvement

    I just got back from a 5 night stay at the illusion boutique hotel in playa del carmen and stayed in the luxury rooftop room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was nice and spacious. We were on the top floor so our glass door opened to the patio which had suntanning chairs and a small pool. If it weren't for the room i probably would have given this hotel a worse review, but since it was big and had the large bed, futon, refrigerator and microwave i was happy with my hotel choice. Other than the room, the pool was small and was only 2 feet deep, they claim to have a bar (which they do) but it is not open yet so there is no one working at it and there is no option to buy drinks or food. the breakfast was small and was nothing more than a loaf of bread for toast, a fruit plate, and sometimes small boxes of cereal or yogurt. for the extra 8 or so dollars per day per person it is definitely not worth it. They do have wireless internet throughout the hotel which is nice and they have a computer next to the lobby for public use but it is old so do not expect to be able to do anything other than surf the internet. The staff and location were both great. the hotel is right on the corner of 8th street and 5th ave which is right in the middle of everything going on. Overall, the location and staff were both great but the hotel has a lot of things missing that would have made our stay much more enjoyable. if you are looking for nothing more than a decent room to stay in without spending a lot of money then i would recommend this hotel if you are planning on booking a luxury rooftop room. otherwise, if you want a hotel with additional amenities i would keep looking even if it means staying in a nicer hotel but getting a standard room

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Try to eat at restaraunts or buy from shops that are a little off of 5th ave instead of directly on 5th ave. The price drops significantly and you will get much more for your money in almost anything you are planning on buying.

    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    KathrynM
    Couples
    Reno, NV, USA
    Oct 30, 2011

    Great Location, Great Value!

    My husband and I selected this hotel for our first trip to Playa del Carmen. First, the location is fantastic! It is on Calle 8 between the beach and 5th Ave which is where all of the shops and restaurants are loc ated. Just take the ADO bus from the airport and walk north on 5th Ave to Calle 8 then turn right. We were greated nicely at the front desk and offered two bottles of ice cold water when we checked in...nice touch! Our room was large by Mexico standards, clean, and had a refrigerator and a safe. There was a purified water dispenser on every floor of the hotel to keep our water bottles full, another nice touch. There was also a tea/coffee station in the lobby throughout the day and evening. The hotel is "adults only" which my husband and I prefer. My only gripe about the service was one night when a group of guests were sitting outside talking very loudly until 2am. I was very frustrated that the hotel staff didn't bother to do anything about them, and I finally had to approach the group myself and ask them to please go inside a room. Other than that, the staff were very knowlegable and friendly, and Playa del Carmen is a wonderful place to vacation. My husband and I spent a day in Cozumel which was a waste in my opinion unless you're going snorkeling or fishing. Tulum was amazing...I suggest downloading a podcast and touring at your own pace because the guided tour is expensive (my husband and I are budget travellers!) Our vacation was limited a little by the threat of hurricane Rina (which ended up being a tropical storm) so we are planning on going back and going to Xcaret and Chichen Itza.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Back to menu Return to top