$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk... See full review

  • Grandma Ruth
  • May 22, 2014
Hotel is like a dream!

Wow. From first walking in the door we were completely amazed. Concierge provides cool towels and... See full review

  • Matt Oz
  • Apr 7, 2014
Small Playa del Carmen hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. Relaxing is easy with a massage in the spa, overlooking the ocean. The rooftop dipping pool deck is another favorite relaxation spot at Illusions Boutique Hotel.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request, window, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Mirage with Balcony
330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed, balcony 5th Avenue view or ocean view, high-speed Internet, TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, safe deposit box, ceiling fan.
Prestige
426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon, terrace, pool and ocean view, high-speed Internet, 20" TV with cable/satellite, refrigerator, A/C with remote control, hairdryer, in-room safe deposit box, ceiling fan, wake up calls on request, microwave oven and coffee maker.
Cabana Vision
Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture. The 5th floor offers 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed, spacious terrace and solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away. Enjoy the privacy and breath taking ocean front view. Large sliding glass doors for you to embrace the Caribbean. All guestrooms have remote control A/C, ceiling fan, 20" TV with remote control, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, VOIP phone, radio clock/Ipod base, in room safe, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. High speed internet access is also available

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.6256 -87.0724
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
Area description
Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 25, 2008

Close to everything

The Illusion Boutique hotel was a great find! You really cannot get better in Playa del Carment for the price and location. The hotel is just off the strip known as Avenida Quinta and literally a half block walk to the ocean. The rooms were clean with warm water, good pressure and a working air conditioner. There was a refrigerator and microwave which is great for bringing take out, water and cervezas home. Our bed was a bit on the firm side but that is the only complaint I have. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. We especially found Dorel and Javier great hosts who helped us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tom
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Friendly staff in convenient location for walking

My 2nd time staying in this hotel. Really enjoyed the location and the staff is very attentive, friendly, and accomodating. 24 hour security as well. Steps to the beach and excellent beach clubs, as well as all the shops & restaurants on 5th Ave. Also, if you take the nice $9 ADA bus from the airport, you can walk the 5 blocks to the hotel from bus station easily, then just cab back to the airport on your return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend many restaurants off the streets running from 5th Ave, and also on 10th Ave... explore.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 11, 2007

Perfect for the solo traveler

What a find!!!! Especially for the price. Room was more than just comfortable and extremely clean. Staff was extremely helpful in selecting and arranging a tour plus recommendations for dinner. For women traveling alone, it was and 'felt' safe, especially considering the downtown location. I will return...and bring family & friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

..plan in advance how to get to Playa from the airport in Cancun. I took the Gray Line Bus/Van for $25 and a taxi upon return for $45.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jillayn
La Crosse, WI
Sep 23, 2009

Unbeatable accomadations for cost

This is a quaint hotel in the heart of Playa but not on such a busy street. It was steps away from the beach and other attractions. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The hotel is clean and charming and I would definitely recommend it. I felt that this was a very safe hotel as I was traveling alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, Mn
May 4, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Illusions Hotel was everything we had hoped for and more! The hotel was beautiful yet casual feel.Our room was perfect. We would likely rent one of the rooftop rooms next time. The pool and lounge area also on the rooftop was lovely. The pool is small, but just perfect for cooling off while enjoying the incredible oceanview!The entire staff at the Illusions hotel was great!! They were freindly and helpful every day that we were there. We especially enjoyed [...]the Hotel manager who typically works the 3-11 pm shift. He made sure we were enjoying our stay at the Hotel each and everyday. The location is 1 block to all the action on 5th Avenue and steps away to the beach.We had a wonderful 5 day trip and will definitely be back to stay at this Hotel. I would like to add that though we were right off the beach and a block away from all the action we still were able to enjoy the peacefulness this Hotel offers. Illusions is not a loud and crazy place, but if you want that it's just steps away!!! This Hotel was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was just steps away from the Hotel. Prices varied; we thought overall prices were a little high, BUT if you spend a little time walking up and down 5th Avenue you can find all sorts of food types and prices. Just shop around if price is a big concern.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
poppi
puebla , mexico
Jul 16, 2012

excellent

The staff helped in everything and the location was excellent when you are a fan from the 5 da avenida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golden bull
Los Angeles, CA
May 3, 2010

Great location and service

Came to Playa del Carmen for a wedding. We bought the airfare and hotel deal. This hotel was great. Steps away from the beach, comfortable room and continental breakfast every morning. The hotel is centrally located, it was an easy walk to our wedding party hotels and its also 4 blocks from the ADO bus station. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The best Mexican food restaurant in the city. Cheap, tasty and not touristy. El Fogon is on 30th Ave between 6th and 8th streets. Just a 10 minute walk. The food is great!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
May 25, 2007

Friendly Staff with low price

My wife and I went on our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. The highlight of the hotel was how friendly the staff was and how helpful they were. The hotel is right next to a beautiful beach and right in the heart of the 5th avenue shopping. The room was small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is just a short walk away. For more tourism you pay $2.50 a person and take a shuttle pretty much anywhere.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tom
Charlotte, NC
Jun 11, 2012

Wonderful Staff in a great location for walking everywhere

Will definitely stay at this hotel again. Staff is amazing, all extremely friendly, and very attentive. Hotel is very clean and tidy, right near the middle of town & right off beach. Very secure as someone always at the desk when I entered even late night. Open air area in middle of hotel to sky and the roof, where a small wade pool and lounge chairs await. Opt for the contential breakfast that comes w/ juice, coffee, tea yogarts w/ topings, and attendents served fruit in a canister w/ bread and/or pastry on individual trays.. hearty enough to begin the day. Was surprised to return to my room one day and find it decorated w/ ballons all about my bed for my birthday. This hotel values their guest and it shows. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the side streets as much there as well as was surprised to find so many places on those streets as well. Some open after midnight when the main Fifth Ave. starts to get deserted.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 3, 2007

Great Location

Illusion Boutique Hotel is located conveniently just off 5th Avenue and only a few steps from the beach, so you can enjoy both nightlife and the water in close proximity of each other. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Although the pool is a little small, the location, comfort and scenery make it a nice area. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top