$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Mar 3, 2009

Can't wait to go back!

I stayed at the Illusion for all 10 days of my trip to Playa with my boyfriend based on orbitz reviews and glad I did. I strolled past several of the other places I had considered and they definitely lacked the location, comfort, service and rooftop pool offered at Illusion. I was greeted by Cesar upon arrival , check in was easy, $50 deposit and away we were. [...] works the desk at night and very helpful. We also took advantage of the $30 massages. I think everyone should be aware that the first week of January is a House music festival and you can definitely hear the street/club music depending on your location. Also, for first timers, there is a comfortable bus shuttle from the airport to playa for $9 per person. or you can take a shared van for $28 per person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2007

Great Location

Illusion Boutique Hotel is located conveniently just off 5th Avenue and only a few steps from the beach, so you can enjoy both nightlife and the water in close proximity of each other. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Although the pool is a little small, the location, comfort and scenery make it a nice area. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Sep 4, 2008

Lovely boutique hotel

The Illusion Hotel was wonderful. The rooms were spacious, the water and a/c worked well, the rooftop terrace was beautiful. There were only a few people in the hotel (due to hurricane season and a bad economy) and the front desk had my dinner delivered up to the rooftop terrace so I could watch the sunset. The food at the restaurant was very tasty and reasonably priced. The only problem I had was when I asked to check out late (at 2 p.m., rather than noon). They tried to charge me $20 extra to stay 2 more hours-- and there were only a handful of people in the hotel to start with! I was very disillusioned by that. However, overall, my experience was a very positive one. They are in the best location in Playa. Right next to a gorgeous beach. I'd recommend this hotel. Just make sure you get their policies stated up front!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 25, 2007

Friendly Staff with low price

My wife and I went on our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. The highlight of the hotel was how friendly the staff was and how helpful they were. The hotel is right next to a beautiful beach and right in the heart of the 5th avenue shopping. The room was small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is just a short walk away. For more tourism you pay $2.50 a person and take a shuttle pretty much anywhere.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 11, 2007

Perfect for the solo traveler

What a find!!!! Especially for the price. Room was more than just comfortable and extremely clean. Staff was extremely helpful in selecting and arranging a tour plus recommendations for dinner. For women traveling alone, it was and 'felt' safe, especially considering the downtown location. I will return...and bring family & friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

..plan in advance how to get to Playa from the airport in Cancun. I took the Gray Line Bus/Van for $25 and a taxi upon return for $45.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 25, 2008

Close to everything

The Illusion Boutique hotel was a great find! You really cannot get better in Playa del Carment for the price and location. The hotel is just off the strip known as Avenida Quinta and literally a half block walk to the ocean. The rooms were clean with warm water, good pressure and a working air conditioner. There was a refrigerator and microwave which is great for bringing take out, water and cervezas home. Our bed was a bit on the firm side but that is the only complaint I have. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. We especially found Dorel and Javier great hosts who helped us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kelowna
Oct 18, 2008

Far Exceeded Expectations !

The Illusion Boutique was everything & more ! The hosts...genuine & welcoming to the extreme ! Room was fastidiously clean at all times...Roof top pool/lounge area offered wonderful ambience & amazing views...Never crowded....Just steps to phenomenal beaches & all the action on the famous Quinta Avienda shopping area...Loved everything about The Illusion & wouldn't hesitate to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Favorite new hang-out on the beach @ Fusion...great bar/dining establishment on 6th...Great food ! Great service ! Prices more than reasonable & a live Reggae band most of the week...Just get there early to grab the prime tables right in the sand & watch the surf come in ! An absolute postcard setting !

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 25, 2007

My review of Illusion Boutique Hotel

Very nice location, staff was great. Not a luxury hotel but well worth the money. Very clean, safe,gives you a real feel for Mexico. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, restaurants and beach were less than 2 blocks away.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 20, 2007

Perfect Location, Great Staff

The Illusion Hotel is in a perfect location in the ciy of Playa Del Carmen. 1/2 block to one of the nicest sections of beach, 1/2 block the other way to the main street (5th avenue). 5th Avenue is full of restaurants and shops - enought to eat a different, great restarant every night. The hotel staff were great, and the hospitality team (breakfast/happy hour)were excellent as well. If we were going back to playa del carmen, we would go here again, no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ton of restaraunts, lots of happy hour specials. Hit up Paradies/Paradisio's up the beach.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 19, 2007

Very close to action

Illusions Boutique is in an ideal location next to the main street with all the action and a few steps from the beach. Breakkfast very good for roughly 5$ a day. Rooms not very good looking however it is comfortable enough and you probably wont spend a lot of time in your room being that you are so close to all the activities. Great stay will be there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top