$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tetecreuse
Guadeloupe, french west indies
May 21, 2013

great hotel with top hospitality

Thanks to the entire staff, it's been great time ! A 5 stars service in an affordable hotel ! Special thanks to Cynthia at the reception desk and aureliano at the restaurant !!! Hotel very close to the beach between the beach clubs and the quinta avenue restaurants and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mosquito beach club, with its king size matress on the sand...

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tom
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 11, 2012

Wonderful Staff in a great location for walking everywhere

Will definitely stay at this hotel again. Staff is amazing, all extremely friendly, and very attentive. Hotel is very clean and tidy, right near the middle of town & right off beach. Very secure as someone always at the desk when I entered even late night. Open air area in middle of hotel to sky and the roof, where a small wade pool and lounge chairs await. Opt for the contential breakfast that comes w/ juice, coffee, tea yogarts w/ topings, and attendents served fruit in a canister w/ bread and/or pastry on individual trays.. hearty enough to begin the day. Was surprised to return to my room one day and find it decorated w/ ballons all about my bed for my birthday. This hotel values their guest and it shows. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the side streets as much there as well as was surprised to find so many places on those streets as well. Some open after midnight when the main Fifth Ave. starts to get deserted.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Tom
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Friendly staff in convenient location for walking

My 2nd time staying in this hotel. Really enjoyed the location and the staff is very attentive, friendly, and accomodating. 24 hour security as well. Steps to the beach and excellent beach clubs, as well as all the shops & restaurants on 5th Ave. Also, if you take the nice $9 ADA bus from the airport, you can walk the 5 blocks to the hotel from bus station easily, then just cab back to the airport on your return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend many restaurants off the streets running from 5th Ave, and also on 10th Ave... explore.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Playa13
Business
Denver, Colorado
Mar 9, 2013

Perfect room for my getaway!!

It's smack dab right in the middle between the beach and 5th avenue. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I was upgraded to the Cabana on the roof top, it is the only room with fantastic ocean views. It was amazing and beautiful and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Whenever possible pay in pesos, the conversion rate for Euros/dollars to pesos varies from store to store and your exchange rate suffers. Whenever possible exchange your money at the many commission free booths and pay in pesos!!!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Ruth
Business
Indianola Iowa
May 22, 2014

pleasantly Suprised

It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk staff were Amazing, very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue was 1/2 block away, shops, resturants, and bars it was great! and 1/2 block the other way and you are on the beach!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY NY
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect location, clean, friendly staff

Excellent value for the money. Just a few doors down from the beach and 5th Avenue, but still quiet. A few blocks from the main bus stop and the ferry to Cozumel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with great, big showers. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free passes to 2 different beach clubs with minimum bar/food purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
May 4, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Illusions Hotel was everything we had hoped for and more! The hotel was beautiful yet casual feel.Our room was perfect. We would likely rent one of the rooftop rooms next time. The pool and lounge area also on the rooftop was lovely. The pool is small, but just perfect for cooling off while enjoying the incredible oceanview!The entire staff at the Illusions hotel was great!! They were freindly and helpful every day that we were there. We especially enjoyed [...]the Hotel manager who typically works the 3-11 pm shift. He made sure we were enjoying our stay at the Hotel each and everyday. The location is 1 block to all the action on 5th Avenue and steps away to the beach.We had a wonderful 5 day trip and will definitely be back to stay at this Hotel. I would like to add that though we were right off the beach and a block away from all the action we still were able to enjoy the peacefulness this Hotel offers. Illusions is not a loud and crazy place, but if you want that it's just steps away!!! This Hotel was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was just steps away from the Hotel. Prices varied; we thought overall prices were a little high, BUT if you spend a little time walking up and down 5th Avenue you can find all sorts of food types and prices. Just shop around if price is a big concern.

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golden bull
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 3, 2010

Great location and service

Came to Playa del Carmen for a wedding. We bought the airfare and hotel deal. This hotel was great. Steps away from the beach, comfortable room and continental breakfast every morning. The hotel is centrally located, it was an easy walk to our wedding party hotels and its also 4 blocks from the ADO bus station. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The best Mexican food restaurant in the city. Cheap, tasty and not touristy. El Fogon is on 30th Ave between 6th and 8th streets. Just a 10 minute walk. The food is great!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SEATTLE, WA
May 4, 2010

The Perfect Playa Hotel

Our trip to Playa del Carmen began on the right foot once we booked at the Illusion. The hotel is perfect for couples looking to get away and relax. The hotel itself was very well maintained with nice rooms equipped with a fridge/freezer, tv and ice cold air conditioning. Continental breakfast is included at the restraunt downstairs. It's very light (coffee, juice, toast, breads, jellies) but does the trick. The rooftop pool is small, maybe a 10' X 10' area and only a few feet deep at best. But, the sun deck is large enough for several people and the pool serves as a nice dip to hide from the heat. The pool also has a covered "bar" with 5 or so underwater stools. Not to mention the view is incredible from up there! No need to pack beach towels, the Illusion gives you fresh beach towels daily as long as you remember to return them. Perfect! We couldnt have been more pleased with the staff, easily the most helpful staff i've encountered while vacationing. They are ALL very kind and generous at the Illusion which makes traveling abroad perfect. Best Part? The Location!!!!! The Illusion is literally 100 feet from the beach, 20 feet to 5th Avenue and perfectly situated in the middle all the action! We walked everywhere... bus station, Cozumel ferry dock, restraunts, shopping, the beach, night clubs, etc. Me and my girlfriend are 25 yrs. old and loved the place. I wouldnt reccomend the Illusion for people with children (for pool purposes) or crazy spring breakers (for breaking the ambience). When we return to Playa i will definitely consider the Illusion again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up 8th street (or calle 8th) probably 6 blocks or so to the Wal-Mart. For $15.00 you can have a 12 pack of beer, bag of ice and a styrofoam cooler. Walk back to the beach or the rooftop bar and you're set for a relaxing day in the sun!

Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariacpro
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Great boutique hotel in a great area

We stayed at Illusion Boutique hotel because the reviews I've read were good and the location is great. I am so glad we stayed there! The staff is friendly and professional. The room had a great balcony with a view of the ocean. The hotel is off Avenida 5, which we spent every single night strolling. WalMart is not even five blocks away, which was good for us. We went to Cozumel twice because the ferry terminal is walking distance from the hotel and on our way back to Cancun intl airport, we took the ADO bus because of the convenience and close proximity to the hotel. We booked a Chichen Itza tour with the hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. Our tour guide picked us up in the hotel lobby on time and made our day trip memorable. They offer the best rates on tours, so don't be pressured to buy online. We will definitely return to Playa Del Carmen. A wonderful place and a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your tours through the hotel. You save money and travel securely.

Back to menu Return to top