Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

3 stars
View map of Calle 8 Norte, entre 5ta Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

4.1/5

Overall score

94%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4
Playa del Carmen boutique hotel with inner courtyard, rooftop pool
The Illusion Boutique Hotel is strategically located on the main drag in downtown Playa del Carmen, offering easy access to the beach and the city. The small hotel mixes Asian and Italian elements for a unique effect. The five-story, 41-suite beauty offers free Wi-Fi Internet to all guests, a rooftop freshwater swimming pool and sunbathing area and poolside bar.
Highlights:
  • Centrally and conveniently located in downtown Playa del Carmen
  • Unique mix of Asian and Italian decor and architecture
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet
  • Dive shop on site for certification and trips (fees apply)
  • Close to the beach and shopping outlets at 5th Avenue
Rooms:

Most rooms at Illusion Boutique Hotel include marble floors and bathrooms, terraces overlooking the bustling Fifth Avenue, the atrium patio or ocean. Upscale, modern amenities include in-room climate control, TV, phone, safe and mini bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is also available. The interior atrium patio showcases whitewashed, arching entranceways, bamboo railings, decorative rock walls, a seating area and variety of native plant species.

Features:

Walk out onto the streets of Playa del Carmen for a day of exploring, people watching and shopping. The front desk can assist in day trips to the nearby Mayan ruins or book reservations at top-notch restaurants or clubs in the area. The rooftop features a large terrace with beautiful views of the Caribbean Sea. Guests can also have soothing massages on site or savor delicious breakfast every morning, at Nuestra Casa restaurant.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport
Attractions
  • Xel-Ha (18 mi/30 km)
  • Tulum Ruins (37 mi/61 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet is available

Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only Rooms

Mirage
Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. 1 king size bed or 2 queen beds available upon request
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Mirage with Balcony
    Features:

  • 330 sq. ft. with 1 king bed
  • High-speed Internet
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Prestige
    Features:

  • 426 sq. ft. with 1 king bed and a convertible futon
  • Terrace
  • Pool and ocean view
  • TV with cable/satellite
  • Refrigerator
  • A/C with remote control
  • Hairdryer
  • In-room safe deposit box
  • Ceiling fan
  • Wake up calls on request
  • Microwave oven
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cabana Vision
    Each room is decorated uniquely with a flare of Indonesian furniture..
    The 5th floor offers:
  • 440 sqft luxury rooms with a king size bed
  • Spacious terrace
  • Remote control A/C
  • VOIP phone
  • In room safe
  • Mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities
  • High speed internet access is also available
  • Ceiling fan
  • Solarium with wet bar and pool only a few steps away

  • Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Solarium
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi

    Hotel Map

    20.6256 -87.0724
    Area served
    Playa del Carmen, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Xcaret, Xplor, Xelha, Tulum, Puerto Aventuras, Playacar.
    Nearby airports
    Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes.
    Area description
    Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen, at the intersection of the famous "Quinta Avenida" Fifth Avenue and 8th Street North, both a packed with upscale fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes and restaurants bars. * A few yards from the pristine sand beach and turquoise sea waters. * In the entertainment district. * Full-service health spa in walking distance. * Close to Banks and ATM machines. * Nearby the most popular walking shopping street "5th Avenue".

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (93)

    Ratings and reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    93 out of 93
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    4.7
    Value:
    4.4

    94% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    tetecreuse
    Business
    Guadeloupe, french west indies
    May 21, 2013

    great hotel with top hospitality

    Thanks to the entire staff, it's been great time ! A 5 stars service in an affordable hotel ! Special thanks to Cynthia at the reception desk and aureliano at the restaurant !!! Hotel very close to the beach between the beach clubs and the quinta avenue restaurants and attractions.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    Mosquito beach club, with its king size matress on the sand...

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Grandma Ruth
    Business
    Indianola Iowa
    May 22, 2014

    pleasantly Suprised

    It was great! we will tell friends and family and will return, the staff especially the front desk staff were Amazing, very friendly and helpful

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Avenue was 1/2 block away, shops, resturants, and bars it was great! and 1/2 block the other way and you are on the beach!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    NY NY
    Jul 22, 2011

    Perfect location, clean, friendly staff

    Excellent value for the money. Just a few doors down from the beach and 5th Avenue, but still quiet. A few blocks from the main bus stop and the ferry to Cozumel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with great, big showers. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free passes to 2 different beach clubs with minimum bar/food purchase.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Minneapolis, Mn
    May 4, 2011

    Awesome Hotel

    The Illusions Hotel was everything we had hoped for and more! The hotel was beautiful yet casual feel.Our room was perfect. We would likely rent one of the rooftop rooms next time. The pool and lounge area also on the rooftop was lovely. The pool is small, but just perfect for cooling off while enjoying the incredible oceanview!The entire staff at the Illusions hotel was great!! They were freindly and helpful every day that we were there. We especially enjoyed [...]the Hotel manager who typically works the 3-11 pm shift. He made sure we were enjoying our stay at the Hotel each and everyday. The location is 1 block to all the action on 5th Avenue and steps away to the beach.We had a wonderful 5 day trip and will definitely be back to stay at this Hotel. I would like to add that though we were right off the beach and a block away from all the action we still were able to enjoy the peacefulness this Hotel offers. Illusions is not a loud and crazy place, but if you want that it's just steps away!!! This Hotel was perfect!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Dining was just steps away from the Hotel. Prices varied; we thought overall prices were a little high, BUT if you spend a little time walking up and down 5th Avenue you can find all sorts of food types and prices. Just shop around if price is a big concern.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Golden bull
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA
    May 3, 2010

    Great location and service

    Came to Playa del Carmen for a wedding. We bought the airfare and hotel deal. This hotel was great. Steps away from the beach, comfortable room and continental breakfast every morning. The hotel is centrally located, it was an easy walk to our wedding party hotels and its also 4 blocks from the ADO bus station. Would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    The best Mexican food restaurant in the city. Cheap, tasty and not touristy. El Fogon is on 30th Ave between 6th and 8th streets. Just a 10 minute walk. The food is great!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    SEATTLE, WA
    May 4, 2010

    The Perfect Playa Hotel

    Our trip to Playa del Carmen began on the right foot once we booked at the Illusion. The hotel is perfect for couples looking to get away and relax. The hotel itself was very well maintained with nice rooms equipped with a fridge/freezer, tv and ice cold air conditioning. Continental breakfast is included at the restraunt downstairs. It's very light (coffee, juice, toast, breads, jellies) but does the trick. The rooftop pool is small, maybe a 10' X 10' area and only a few feet deep at best. But, the sun deck is large enough for several people and the pool serves as a nice dip to hide from the heat. The pool also has a covered "bar" with 5 or so underwater stools. Not to mention the view is incredible from up there! No need to pack beach towels, the Illusion gives you fresh beach towels daily as long as you remember to return them. Perfect! We couldnt have been more pleased with the staff, easily the most helpful staff i've encountered while vacationing. They are ALL very kind and generous at the Illusion which makes traveling abroad perfect. Best Part? The Location!!!!! The Illusion is literally 100 feet from the beach, 20 feet to 5th Avenue and perfectly situated in the middle all the action! We walked everywhere... bus station, Cozumel ferry dock, restraunts, shopping, the beach, night clubs, etc. Me and my girlfriend are 25 yrs. old and loved the place. I wouldnt reccomend the Illusion for people with children (for pool purposes) or crazy spring breakers (for breaking the ambience). When we return to Playa i will definitely consider the Illusion again!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Walk up 8th street (or calle 8th) probably 6 blocks or so to the Wal-Mart. For $15.00 you can have a 12 pack of beer, bag of ice and a styrofoam cooler. Walk back to the beach or the rooftop bar and you're set for a relaxing day in the sun!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Mariacpro
    Business
    Santa Monica, CA
    Nov 10, 2009

    Great boutique hotel in a great area

    We stayed at Illusion Boutique hotel because the reviews I've read were good and the location is great. I am so glad we stayed there! The staff is friendly and professional. The room had a great balcony with a view of the ocean. The hotel is off Avenida 5, which we spent every single night strolling. WalMart is not even five blocks away, which was good for us. We went to Cozumel twice because the ferry terminal is walking distance from the hotel and on our way back to Cancun intl airport, we took the ADO bus because of the convenience and close proximity to the hotel. We booked a Chichen Itza tour with the hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. Our tour guide picked us up in the hotel lobby on time and made our day trip memorable. They offer the best rates on tours, so don't be pressured to buy online. We will definitely return to Playa Del Carmen. A wonderful place and a great hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    Buy your tours through the hotel. You save money and travel securely.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    washington, dc
    Mar 3, 2009

    Can't wait to go back!

    I stayed at the Illusion for all 10 days of my trip to Playa with my boyfriend based on orbitz reviews and glad I did. I strolled past several of the other places I had considered and they definitely lacked the location, comfort, service and rooftop pool offered at Illusion. I was greeted by Cesar upon arrival , check in was easy, $50 deposit and away we were. [...] works the desk at night and very helpful. We also took advantage of the $30 massages. I think everyone should be aware that the first week of January is a House music festival and you can definitely hear the street/club music depending on your location. Also, for first timers, there is a comfortable bus shuttle from the airport to playa for $9 per person. or you can take a shared van for $28 per person.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Sep 3, 2007

    Great Location

    Illusion Boutique Hotel is located conveniently just off 5th Avenue and only a few steps from the beach, so you can enjoy both nightlife and the water in close proximity of each other. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Although the pool is a little small, the location, comfort and scenery make it a nice area. I would definitely stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels - Adults only

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Austin
    Sep 4, 2008

    Lovely boutique hotel

    The Illusion Hotel was wonderful. The rooms were spacious, the water and a/c worked well, the rooftop terrace was beautiful. There were only a few people in the hotel (due to hurricane season and a bad economy) and the front desk had my dinner delivered up to the rooftop terrace so I could watch the sunset. The food at the restaurant was very tasty and reasonably priced. The only problem I had was when I asked to check out late (at 2 p.m., rather than noon). They tried to charge me $20 extra to stay 2 more hours-- and there were only a handful of people in the hotel to start with! I was very disillusioned by that. However, overall, my experience was a very positive one. They are in the best location in Playa. Right next to a gorgeous beach. I'd recommend this hotel. Just make sure you get their policies stated up front!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Shopping

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top